We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Secluded”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in the Munchin' Moose cabin, late July, for one night. Located technically in Talkeetna, it is secluded and Talkeetna is not a walkable distance, if that matters to you. You will have a bit of a drive from town on gravel roads, and the property is near a kennel of 70 sled dogs which are quite noisy at feeding times and harnessing times.

Munchin' Moose is a cute and welcoming cabin from outside but disappointing inside. We rented this cabin for its kitchen, which was minimalist but serviceable (oven did not work, but the stove did), but we paid for that space y having no dresser or even a ledge to put personal or bathroom belongings on. The toilet and small (think cruise ship size) shower are closed off, but there is no bathroom sink, which means brushing teeth and washing your face in the kitchen sink. The small bathroom has a mirror but, again, no ledge to put any toiletries on. If you need a hair dryer, be sure to request it early. Bed is soft but comfy, and one of you will be against the wall. Next time, I would forego having a kitchen and investigate the suite in the main, large cabin. That set-up looked much more inviting.

Even though we had a kitchen, we were invited to the minimalist breakfast in the main house. Self-serve breads (some homemade), cereal, yogurt, and coffee.

Wifi worked well. No tv, if that matters to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flannery52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    51
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We had an opportunity to stay in the main house in the "suite", which was essentially the entire upstairs (loft) of a beautiful log house. The room was very large and included several overstuffed chairs that were perfect for relaxing after a long day of travel. We appreciated having our own bathroom (complete with whirlpool tub). You will hear the neighbors (sled) dogs barking, but to be honest, the barking became part of the ambiance of the place. The breakfast provided is bare bones but sufficient. The hostess (Kathy) was very friendly. We were pleased with our experience and would gladly book again, if we have the opportunity.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drmah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A little difficult to find, but once you do find it you will love it! The moment we stepped into "the big house" as my children call it. Kathy was there with a friendly smile and happy greeting. :) We booked the Cozy Moose cabin, it was perfect for us. Nice and "cozy", and my kids loved the bunk bed! There was no running water in the cabin...which doesn't bother us at all....so we had to take a tiny walk to the bath house to shower and take care of other business. All in all my kids and I had a wonderful time in the cabin and at the lodge. :) Thanks Kathy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Family11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Kathy and her assistant were about the most accommodating hosts you will find. It is in a quiet wooded setting about a mile from town. We arrived by train and they were waiting on the platform to pick us up. In addition, they ferried us back to town for a flightseeing tour as well as for dinner--even driving us around to show us all the restaurants and attractions.
They have a unique wake up alarm in the morning: First a few dozen planes taking off for flightseeing tours, then a few dozen Alaskan Huskies barking for breakfast from a sled dog team next door. It was way cool.
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg and Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked the Mangy Moose cabin about 4months ago. I had to make changes to the reservation and Kathy was very accomadating. I too was worried when we drove back to the location, however it was a wonderful place to stay. The cabins and main house were spotless, comfortable sheets, thick towels. Thank you for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klepto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Easy and simple B&B. Friendly owner and very nice accommodations. Quiet atmosphere set off near woods. Would stay here again. Good price, too! Friendly owner who provided a nice and simple continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Meandering Moose. We had a large group so we stayed in the main house, which had a full kitchen and two full bathrooms. Wifi was free and worked well the majority of the time, which is more than I expected for the location. We were a little nervous how we would get around as nothing is within easy walking distance and we did not have a car, but Kathy transported us at no additional cost, even if it was just to go downtown for a few hours. One thing to be aware of is that guests from other cabins come to the main house for breakfast, and one of the bedrooms and bathrooms is right next to the kitchen. This was not a problem for us as we were up early.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Property: Meandering Moose Lodging
Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Meandering Moose Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing