We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Fish Camp Cabin was absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meandering Moose Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Fish Camp Cabin was absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Myself and three other guys visited the Talkeetna area for salmon fishing in August. We stayed at the Fish Camp Cabin and loved it. Quiet surroundings, great sleeping accommodations for 4 tired fishermen and a well equipped kitchen. Kathy and Mike were always helpful from giving us fishing advice, to allowing us a couple of extra hours before checkout to get a try for one more salmon. I will stay there every time I visit Talkeetna. This place is a winner.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilkinsonAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    51
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

My husband, dad and I stayed at the Meandering Moose for 2 nights. It was perfect for all of us to have our space but come together in the evenings. It is a charming home, and hosts Kathy and Mike could not have been more hospitable. We loved the eclectic town of Talkeetna, and this was the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NuttyGirl323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

A place that is so comfortable you won't want to leave. Kathy and Mike are full of information about the area. They great you like family and let you know events which are happening in this delightful town of Telkeetna.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

My husband and I took a great weekend getaway to Talkeetna and had friends recommend this place. What a terrific stay! Kathy and her husband were warm, welcoming and super down to Earth. We even got to bring our dog! We stayed in the Snoozin Moose Cabin and it was the cutest cabin we have ever seen. The hospitality of Kathy and her husband surpassed anywhere else we have ever stayed. They also told us about things to do, and had delicious scones in the morning for breakfast. Super easy to get to the place, and super duper easy to be lazy and enjoy the solitude and gorgeous setting. Don't second guess staying here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcocopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacma. AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Kathy met us at the train which was great. She let us settle in the room and then graciously took us back to town so we could have dinner. She was right there when we finished and picked us up to take us back to our room. We stayed in the Master Suite in the B&B and found the furnishings tasteful and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean. There was a whirlpool tub and free-standing shower. We slept well and even slept in until almost 9 a.m. Unheard of for us! We had breakfast with Kathy and great conversations. She took us back to town to wander around, but left our luggage in her car and met us at the train station about a half hour before our scheduled departure. This allowed us to hike and explore without hauling our bags with us. Overall a great weekend get away and I would highly recommend this lodging.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmorri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We only spent one night prior to a drive into Denali. Wish we'd had more time there! The lodge was lovely and the room and amenities where great. The hostess here knows just how to make her guests feel at home! I look forward to a return visit to Alaska and working time at the Meandering Moose Lodge into my itenerary!! If you're in the area, don't miss this Alaskan jewel!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clockAberdeenNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

From pre-arrival to post stay Kathy, our host, from the Meandering Moose made our vacation a real winner. Kathy helped us get our "stuff" to our cabin and is still helping us with "stuff" we left. Kathy went out of her way to make sure our time in Alaska was great. The cabin we stayed in was very nice and cozy. I would highly recommend staying with Kathy if you have the chance. You won't regret it. I gaurantee!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tredgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
6.0 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Property: Meandering Moose Lodging
Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing