We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Nice enough but one side of queen bed against side wall, hard to get in an out of. No sink in bathroom and no mirror near kitchens. Have to go on about three dirt roads to get to property. Apparently once the oil runs out, the next Alaska minerals boom might involve junk cars. About 100 yards from a dog kennel (sled dogs), don’t hear the dogs much if keep windows closed.

Only place in Alaska outside of Anchorage that gave us real glasses and ceramic mugs to drink from. Internet works fine in public area in owner's house. Owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidental_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meanderingmoose, Owner at Meandering Moose Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Thanks for your stay. I am glad to say that we don't have to wait for another oil boom to have help with the junk cars which are located on the road a mile from our property. It seems like it is taking forever but the borough is stepping in to get the vehicles removed. That will be a very happy day for myself and others that work so hard to keep a clean and well kept property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed in the upstairs master suite.
The view was awesome. It felt like you were in a tree house in a forest.
The room was large, and decorated with great taste.
My only suggestion would be to pay attention to "light" breakfast, as long
as you don't mind making your own coffee, cereal or toast in the morning
in the kitchen you'll love this place. We came in for a small plane tour, but
was fogged out of it. BUT there is plenty to do in Talkeetna if that happens
to you. The town has a great little museum, good food, and a rustic artsy
style unique to itself. Kathy is VERY friendly and helpful, and makes you
feel at home. I was very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvyDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

If you choose to spend the night in Talkeetna, you can do worse than the Meandering Moose Lodge. We got the suite, which was huge and comfortable. No qualms. The breakfast was just plain continental that the guests prepare themselves.
The place is a little outside of town, through two miles of unpaved road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at the Meadnering Moose on our way from Denali to Seward. The directions pointed us to the MM without issue during a rainstorm. This was out first trip to Alaska, we we learned it was the 3rd rainiest summer on record. We also did not realize how many graveled roads we would encounter. We met Kathy at arrival. She showed us to the master suite on the second floor of the B & B, and explained the breakfast offerings. As it happens, we were leaving before breakfast for a flight seeing tour which was to be cancelled due to weather.The room was large and spacious as was the bathroom, which also contained the B&B stacked washer and dryer. The bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi soothing. There is a large closet with a refrigerator which was not plugged in-not sure if one could use it or not. The sofa was a little dated and a little lumpy-could use an update. The b & b is in the woods but there are a couple of other houses nearby.
Two quirks-1) when entering the B&B, you walk into a common room. To get from the upstairs suite to outside/kitchen, etc., you must walk through this room. During our stay, a family of 5 was using the room and we had to interrupt them regularly. 2) The suite door cannot be locked. I thought this odd and went to inquire about this but was sidetracked. I put the ottoman in front of the door and there were no issues.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukefan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meanderingmoose, Owner at Meandering Moose Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

I am glad you found the accomodations, clean, comfortable and a good value. Sorry to hear the access through common area was uncomfortable for you. This area is open to guests to use, however normally is empty with everyone outside enjoying all Talkeetna and Alaska has to offer, the family inside out of the rain during your stay was a rarity. As our busy summer season comes to an end we are looking at updates etc that can be accomplished when we have rooms that are not occupied nightly. Your comments on a few upgrades has been heard and are on our list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Reading all the reviews it sounds like most people experienced a stay that we didn't. To us this was basically one step above camping out. Not sure we would have even stayed here if we hadn't prepaid. The best thing I can say is that it was inxpensive and gave us something to talk about in the car during the long drive to Seward.

The hosts are friendly and the place is clean, but you have to make several turns down pothole filled roads to find it. Maybe it was do to the weather conditions, but the area struck us as pretty creepy. When morning came we were up early and gone. The neighboring dogs helped with the wake up call.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oh1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meanderingmoose, Owner at Meandering Moose Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2010

We make every effort to offer quality lodging at reasonable rates. Our property is surrounded by forest, which offers serenity for some however sorry this guest did not feel comfortable here. We agree that the road after 30 days of rain was potholed, we are continuing working on the road filling potholes, now if we could just control the rain..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I was traveling with my young nephew who loves the outdoor. It was so great that he could lit a campfire just outside our cabin where we were able to entertain our host Kathy and some other guests. It was fantastic, quiet, tranquil and relaxing. Just the place I would like to spend every weekend (if only I lived in Alaska !!!) to withdraw from the hustle and bustle of my working week. Great hosts, Mike and Kathy, very generous and full of good advise (like the one of the bear bell, thanks Mike). Also, great breakfast with home smoked salmon. What else could one possibly wish for. I will definately be back !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This was not the type of bed and breakfast we were looking for...this is a great value for the money, but we did not find the main house to be very comfortable. Very nice host, and a great find for someone looking for a goood place to throw down your pack and spend a night, just not a cosy b&b for a couple. I would suggest staying in one of the cabins instead of the main house. We found the walls to be very thin in the main house and could hear the couple's every word and cell phone (3 times throughout the night) in the next room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeatclemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
2 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
362 reviews
4.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £77 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Meandering Moose Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing