We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty place; great breakfast; friendly, helpful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireweed Station Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Only stayed here one night but would be pleased to do so again en route to/from Denali National Park. We had the whole top floor of the house (2 queen beds and 1 twin bed) for our family of four. Every nail, log and window in this restored dwelling seems to have been guided by an artist/historian's eye for detail. If you are into home restoration, Tom's happy to share the details with you (as well as a notebook full of letters from the prior owner. My spouse loved reading through those!). Wish I'd had more time to look over Hobbs' beautiful gardens. Hobbs and Tom set a scrumptious breakfast table; the pecan sourdough waffles were just amazing...our teens haven't stopped talking about them and are dearly hoping Tom has or will publish the recipe somewhere :-)

Room Tip: The top floor suite is a great layout for family with teens as there is plenty of space for all. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gams1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

My stay here was an unexpected delight in route to Denali Base Camp on the Kahiltna Glacier. Tom and Tracy were great hosts. The inn is the perfect comfort for us mountaineering types. Our trip to the glacier was delayed by an extra day and I really enjoyed the extra time spent there. The food was top notch. I really think the place is a great value and it will remain on my return to someday soon list.,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottgh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the Fireweed before and after our climbing expedition on Denali. Tom and Hobbs are excellent and inviting hosts and wonderful chefs! Even with all our climbing gear they had more than enough space to accommodate our entire climbing team. The rooms are very comfortable and you feel at home. Summer in Talkeetna is beautiful but I can't wait to return to the Fireweed to enjoy some skiing right out the front door in the winter!

Room Tip: Talk to Tom and Hobbs to select your room - they are all different. We stayed downstairs in a wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My family and I was fortunate enough to have stayed two nights at the Fireweed Station in June 2012. Words cannot describe how wonderful this place is, but I will try. From the moment you pull into the drive and see the lodge you know that you have come to a special place. Then Tom or Hobbs will more than likely greet you before you get to the door and will make you feel as though you have come to see an old friend even though this was our first meeting. If you have ever had any experience reviving an old house, cabin, or lodge one truly appreciates and respects the hard work and love that Tom, Hobbs, and Airon have put into this lodge. The rooms are clean,cozy,relaxing,spacious,interesting... Just perfect! Spending time in the main and dining room area looking at photo albums and reading old letters from the folks who first built the lodge while eating some of Hobb's homemade cookies is a must. Oh! and breakfast is amazing. As great as the lodge, the grounds it sits on, and its history is, what truly makes this place special is Tom, Hobbs, and Airon. You will travel many miles and years to find people as warm and friendly as they are. When we left to travel back to Anchorage it was quiet in the car, the three of us thinking about the experience that we had in Alaska and at the lodge, when out of the blue my 13 year old daughter said, "Dad I really like Tom and Hobbs". I think that says it all. Andy L.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Fireweed Station the end of June 2012 and found the B&B to be a first class find. The rooms were clean and spacious and the Breakfast in the morning is wonderful. The owners Tom and Hobbs were wonderful easygoing people who had good advice on what to do in the area and knowledgeable on the culture of Alaska. I would highly recommend a visit with them for a couple of days. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganMike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Fireweed is a fabulous place to stay if you're visiting Yalkeetna or the Denali area! My climbing team (Denali expedition) stayed for two days before we began our climb and it was simply wonderful! The owners, Tom and Hobbs are beyond accommodating and informative and the rooms are very comfortable! A night's stay includes a fabulous homemade breakfast and you can order dinners off a menu during the day and Hobbs will cook it up that evening- she is a fabulous cook and you have to try her fresh rhubarb dishes! It will seem a bit out of the way but they will drive you a few miles to the main road where you can catch the two dollar shuttle to Talkeetna.. It's a beautiful B&B right by the train tracks which you can walk down and get great views of the mountains. The Fireweed is a great value and a wonderful and relaxing place and I would certainly stay there again if I'm in the area- you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtrimingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Friendly owners, delicious food, amazing service, and a perfect location to make you feel at home.Truly a beautiful B&B with nice, clean, rooms and a cozy setting. You will feel like you are part of the extended family from the second you arrive and you are treated with a friendly smile throughout your visit. I would highly recommend the Fireweed Inn. The price is right and the breakfast, lunch and dinner, are also out of this world! Definitely, one of the new Seven Wonders of the World.

Warren W

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
9.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
11.6 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
7.5 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireweed Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Station Inn

Address: 15113 E. Sunshine Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £112 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our log home was originally built in 1946 as a remote hunting and fishing lodge accessible only by the Alaska Railroad. Much more than a Bed & Breakfast, we offer a true Alaskan lodge experience, combining authentic history, modern quality and a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireweed Station Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing