We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Alaskan B & B with Great Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireweed Station Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Fireweed Station for two nights in May of 2013 after our son highly recommended it to us. He had stayed there prior to his climb of Denali in May of 2012. There are oftentimes climbers staying there either before or after their climbs, and it's a great way to meet and talk with climbers and guides. The B and B is spotless and authentic Alaska. It is a cabin atmosphere with some "quirky" features that are endearing--such as the steps to get into bed; but it is not a "rustic cabin." For example, there is free Wi-Fi, private baths, great hot water and pressure for showers, comfortable beds, and the nice touches do not go unnoticed--soaps, coffee, fresh baked cookies, a nice selection of reading materials, comfy pillows, etc.

Tom and Hobbs prepare the best breakfast anywhere, always with fresh fruits, granola, yogurt and the some fabulous other main course on top of all that (do not under any circumstance skip Tom's pecan waffles or Hobb's homemade granola). They are included in the price of the room (which is already reasonably priced). For $25 pp, you can stay for a gourmet dinner prepared by Tom and Hobbs, using fresh produce right out of their gardens. We cannot say enough about how great the dinner was--with two or three selections for the main course as I recall.

Tom and Hobbs are also sources of endless stories of the area as well. Our conversations ranged over everything from gaming and fishing laws to local attractions to the history of the railroad and local and state politics.

Do not be put off by the distance from Talkeetna. We had a late flightseeing trip over Denali summit with Talkeetna Air Taxi, and Tom picked us up at the airstrip. They willingly drive you into town, but we then found out about a great shuttle service that added immensely to our enjoyment of the area. Tom or Hobbs would drop us off at the end of their road (only about a mile so most people could walk there if they wished), and the shuttle would stop by and get us and take us to several points in and near Talkeetna. The drivers were great and we met so many interesting "locals." We used the shuttle frequently and it was always on time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor with great view and nice private bath. We did not go upstairs...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Fireweed Station Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 3 nites in this luxurious and pampered B&B built by Tom and Hobbs. Quite a story. Gourmet dinners provided each nite along with breakfast that will make you go away stuffed. Convenient to Talkeetna and Denali state park. Hospitality is warm and friendly over fresh baked cookies. Wealth of knowledge about area and life in Alaska Tom can fill you in with the local politics. Thanks for the use of bug hats for our hike in the park. Mosquitos can be vicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Hobbs and Tom run a first class bread and breakfast. We stopped in Talkeetna as a rest stop between Denali and Seward. Man, were we glad we stayed. The Fireweed Station Inn is located in a historic log cabin next to the railroad tracks about 14 miles up the road from Talkeetna. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Even better than the historic and comfortable accommodations was the hospitality and cooking prowess of Tom and Hobbs. They grow their food in their backyard and everything is fresh and delicious. They had cookies waiting when we arrived. We ended up getting rockfish and salmon for dinner, and it was the best meal that we had in Alaska. I'd say that the Fireweed Station was our favorite part of Talkeetna, and our favorite out of the many wonderful B&B's we stayed in during our honeymoon in Alaska. Tom and Hobbs run a first class operation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kankushok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I stayed in Fireweed Station Inn for one night. For us it was a day in between major attractions of the Denali park the day before and the cruise of Kenai Fjords next. We both very much enjoyed meeting Tom and Hobbs - the hosts - and learning about their unique experiences living and building in Alaska.

The rooms and the entire house are very clean, comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast was scrumptious, generous and the hosts would ask if there was anything else we would like to eat. We felt welcome all the time.

June is a mosquito season so if there was one thing we would want less of were those. Tom provided mosquito zapping racquets, which turned this annoyance into a game of revenge plus with screens in every window there were hardly any mosquitoes in the house. Not a fly in sight either - did I mention the place was very clean?

We visited three bed and breakfasts in our trip to Alaska and while all were nice in their own right, Fireweed Station Inn tops them all with genuine care coming form this hardworking couple.

We wish Tom and Hobbs continued success and consider them our friends.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I recently had the pleasure of being hosted by Hobbs and Tom at Fireweed Station Inn before and after a visit to the Kahiltna Glacier. Hobbs is a wonderful hostess and Tom compliments her perfectly. The facilities themselves are very comfortable and have a character that makes them seem perfect for Alaska. I enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning and particularly enjoyed Tom’s special waffles with pecans. They were so delicious I had to have a second helping. Dinner is also provided upon request but you may want to head into Talkeetna at least one night to enjoy its unique character. And if the weather is warm as it was during my visit, you might even be able to arrange to go for a swim in the beaver pond that is across the road. I did so and it was one of the major highlights of my trip.

So in closing, if you are planning to visit Talkeetna do yourself a favor and stay at Fireweed Station Inn. And be sure to reserve early. You don’t want to miss out on this great place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

There is no point in going to Talkeetna unless you stay with Tom & Hobbs. They are very hospitable and natural hosts. They did everything possible to make our stay as relaxing as we wanted. The food is the best in Talkeetna and the home made salads tantalise your taste buds! All of the food that was served was healthy and delicious with some naughty treats if needed. We went on good hikes in the area and even cycled into Talkeetna. It is a must place to visit. We will recommend this to all of our friends and family who decide to travel to Alaska.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Denali and Tom and Hobbs are delightful and our breakfast each morning was outstanding. Everything you could wish for was provided. Freshly baked cookies were placed out each afternoon and you can help yourself to coffee or tea during the day. There are three rooms - two on the first floor and a larger one upstairs. Each has its own bathroom. If you love B&B's you most likely will like it here. The only drawback for us was that it is a bit far from the town of Talkeetna. If you are only staying one night it might be better to be closer to town. The town is cute but a tourist town and quite small so one day and night may be enough if you are trying to decide on a road trip in Alaska.

Room Tip: Top floor room would be worth requesting.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosieJo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
9.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,080 reviews
11.0 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
7.5 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
11.1 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
11.2 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireweed Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Station Inn

Address: 15113 E. Sunshine Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £111 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our log home was originally built in 1946 as a remote hunting and fishing lodge accessible only by the Alaska Railroad. Much more than a Bed & Breakfast, we offer a true Alaskan lodge experience, combining authentic history, modern quality and a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireweed Station Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing