We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Alaskan heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireweed Station Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We left feeling like we have new friends. Not many innkeepers convey this warmth while also attending to every detail of a comfortable stay. Very special people, a gift for all who meet them. The Inn and property really are a haven in Alaskan heaven: historic, secluded, lush with flowers, lawns, vegetables and berries.
First class in every way.

Room Tip: We saw them all--not a bad room in the house.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mirta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Fireweed Station Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed two nights last week at the Fireweed Station Inn. The Inn is in a beautiful location - out of Talkeetna about 10 miles. Hobbs met us as we were getting out of the car and made us feel like she was welcoming old friends! The rooms are so comfortable - with robes & slippers provided if you want them. You will be fortunate indeed if pecan waffles are on the menu for breakfast - they were unbelievable. Fresh fruit and granola were also on the breakfast table each day.

Hobbs & her husband Tom were excellent hosts - there when you needed them, but plenty of privacy. This place was amazing! Would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We planned a last-minute trip to Alaska and luckily we were able to book 2 nights at this historic and terrific BnB. Our hosts, Hobbs & Tom, provided a warm welcome and a very clean, comfortable sanctuary. Homemade breakfasts were awesome with so many selections you will be delighted. Dinner, by reservation, proved to be awesome with fresh greens from their garden, grilled beef filet mignon or salmon, and a homemade rhubarb & berry dessert. A train goes by the back of the property which adds a touch of romance to their home - loved the whistle! Tom & Hobbs are very engaging and entertaining hosts who will provide you with many memories over a short period of time. Our stay was the highlight of our trip to Talkeetna. We hope to return soon and recommend Fireweed Station Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2LALadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hobbs & Tom were hosts extraordinaire. Fireweed station's hospitality was perfect. They were both very helpful with any questions before we arrived. We enjoyed Hobbs' dinner and breakfast that included fresh vegetables and herbs from her garden that day. Slept well in a comfortable bed after soaking in the tub the night before. A great place to stay before or after Denali national Park.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinjimalvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed one night on July 10th at Fireweed Station and really had nice relaxing time. Tom and Hobbs were very gracious hosts. The home has been beautifully restored over the years by Tom and his friends from the time he had found it as an abandoned fish camp from the '60s. It was really interesting to flip thru the photo album detailing the restoration and work that was done over the years.
Tom and Hobbs provided a made to order breakfast for us that included some pecan waffles and bacon and fruit and more. Very delicious indeed.
The home is located about 10 miles south of Talkeetna and is situated at the end of a gravel road but is an easy drive into town. It does sit close to railroad tracks but had no problems with any train noise.
We would certainly stay at this wonderful place again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our time at the Fireweed Station Bed and Breakfast. Tom and Hobbs made us very welcomed and spent a lot of time just talking with us and the other guests. We ate their Salmon Dinner which was our best meal in Alaska. Tom smoked the fish using Alder leaves and Hobbs made a delicious salad using everything from their garden. We had a delicious Rhubarb dessert. We brought our own wine for dinner. Breakfast was just as good with Tom's pecan waffles. We made this a one night stop on our way to Denali National Park but will stay longer next time. This is a definite must stop. Don't let the dirt road scare you like we first where getting to the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EngineerViewPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here over July 4 weekend. Tom and Hobbs are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The Inn is just off the highway but a bit removed from the town of Talkeetna itself, but it's still just a 10-15 minute drive into town, which is a nice place itself. If you stay here, absolutely stay for dinner, as they grow their own veggies in the garden and are amazing and healthy cooks. They went above and beyond to make my girlfriend's birthday special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
9.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,082 reviews
11.0 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
7.5 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
11.1 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
11.2 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireweed Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Station Inn

Address: 15113 E. Sunshine Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £111 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our log home was originally built in 1946 as a remote hunting and fishing lodge accessible only by the Alaska Railroad. Much more than a Bed & Breakfast, we offer a true Alaskan lodge experience, combining authentic history, modern quality and a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireweed Station Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing