We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Three couples, two nights. We had a great time enjoying the activities and food in Talkeetna. The guest house is very conveniently located. We walked almost everywhere. The Northern Guest House was very comfortable. It had games, books, ping-pong, movies, bikes, and plenty of room for us all. Kitchen was nice. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank suevan567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Northern Guest House for a night on our way back from Denali to Anchorage. We'd been in touch with Paula ahead of time, and it was easy to coordinate with her over phone or email. She accommodated our late arrival, and made sure our check-in could be as easy as possible. We had the bedroom on the ground floor, and it was spacious enough to sleep four. The common areas were well maintained, and had a ton of games, books, movies and a ping pon table to keep us occupied. The full kitchen was great for us. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banddsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had a very comfortable stay at Northern Guest House and recommend it highly. My host, Paula, was helpful, available, and friendly. The location is quiet (I heard the train, of course, but for me this is part of Talkeetna's charm) but close enough to town to be convenient. There is a kitchen if you need one, and though I didn't cook while I was there, I was glad to be able to make tea. I was quite happy there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Northern Guest House is a great location for activities in and near Talkeetna. My 2-night stay was pleasant. Paula was a friendly, inviting host. Rooms are a great rate. The views of Denali are spectacular. I recommend the Wildflower Café for dinner. I had 2 wonderful fish (salmon & halibut) specials. Although, at Northern Guest House, you have access to a kitchen. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and myself stay one night here. We arrived very late that night. Paula, the hostess, was very kind setting up the key pick up for us. The room upstairs is very comfortalbe. We really enjoy our stay in Northern gust house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was definitely an excellent place to stay in Talkeetna. The best place where we slept during our 16 days trip in Alaska. Paula Strong is very friendly and helpful, a perfect landlady! The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the price fair. We were 12 people and had the place all for ourselves. Really perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopeless1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a great place to stay, and in walking distance to anything in town. The hostess (Paula) is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The main room of the house has a ping pong table, books, puzzles to work, and a kitchen should you choose to prepare your own meals. The rooms were clean, and bedding comfortable. AND, the price is right!

As a note, this place is pet-friendly - so if you are allergic to dogs and cats (which I am), you may want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CbinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.6 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
360 reviews
3.3 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
267 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Guest House

Address: 13712 Second St, P O Box 24, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £43 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Guest House is 2 blocks from Main St.Close to all services Talkeetna has to offer.The Guest house has many family orientated activities both indoor and outdoor. This is a great place to stay with a group of friends for the weekend. Each having their own space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Guest House Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing