We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Host and convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Host and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I had a most enjoyable stay for 2 nights at the Northern Guest House at Talkeetna in September 2013 in room 2 at the top of the spiral stairs. We got the recommendation from Trip Advisor and rang Paula direct. She returned phone calls and emails promptly and made our booking experience smooth and painless. We were given directions to let ourselves in and had a great evening with the other guests in the other 2 rooms - just like long lost friends, even going out to dinner together. For our second night Paula made moose stew - it looks like its a tradition! We are vegetarians so ordered a pizza and joined the table for the meal and the delicious cake Paula supplied for desert.

Paula was full of information and couldn't have been more helpful. She stays on the property but not in the house. If we had any questions she was near at hand, but gave us total privacy. We were able to use the pushbikes at the property to have a bike ride around Talkeetna and she recommended different eating places. The house is 2 blocks from the main street, only a 3 minute walk from the shops and restaurants on a quiet back street.

The spiral stairs are narrow and steep which makes it hard to get your bags up, but if you think that may be difficult for you ask for the downstairs room. Our bathroom was across the hallway. The rooms were spacious and room 2 had a queen size and 2 singles in it. The house was quiet at night.

If you are concerned about dogs be aware that Paula is a wonderful host to pets. There was a big labrador staying with the people downstairs. Our room did not smell like dog though. If you are looking for a formal, high quality place, then don't stay here. If you want to mix with people, connect with your host and have fun then this is the place for you.

Thanks Paula for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShineSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    33
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
45
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed upstairs in room 2 from Sept 17-19, 2013. The owner, Paula was a great host. She offered us suggestions for sightseeing and answered our questions about Talkeetna. She made moose stew dinner for the 6 guests the second night we were there. The room was clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room for the 2 of us. The room was up a spiraling stair case, but there is one room available downstairs if you have trouble climbing stairs. Each room has its own bathroom in the hall, not in the room. There is a full kitchen to use for cooking and a ping pong table and TV in the living room. I would recommend this place. It is a good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starla_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for one night only, very affordable. It's not a B&B so no breakfast will be provided. Kitchen is shared among guests. We had the downstairs room. It's not a suite so bathroom is across the living room. You do have to walk in front of other guests in the morning to use bathroom.
Awkward. No WiFi and cable TV. Bathroom is clean. Towels are provided but no toiletry. If you travel on budget, this place is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I was in town after traveling from Denali and decided to drive around to find a place to stay. After calling several places that cost over $100 to stay for one night and discouraged, I passed by the Northern guesthouse. I dialed the number and talked to Paula, the owner. The room was very affordable and I was told I would have my own bathroom but share the rest of the house. It's very cozy and very clean. Paula is very accommodating and even has bicycles you can use at your leisure. She made the best stew ever(moose stew) for us for dinner and zucchini bread for dessert. I had such a nice stay that I decided to stay another night! I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for an affordable,clean, and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Northern Guest House Sept 17-19. We are a middle-aged couple traveling with two teenage boys. We had rooms 1 and 3 and found them to be charming and very comfortable.

The entire great room encompassing the kitchen, living room, dining room and ping pong area is larger than the pics. The entire house was very clean and was cleaned daily while we were there. We enjoyed the fire pit in the backyard on the chilly nights and the guest house is about two blocks from the main street. The boys had fun exploring the town on the free bikes that were provided.

The owner, Paula, was very easy to deal with and most welcoming. She lives in a separate part
of the house. She was available to us, but we also had great privacy.

We felt we had a taste of the real Talkeetna in a comfortable home.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for those who might have trouble with the spiral steps to rooms 2 and 3. Each room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolis, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Three couples, two nights. We had a great time enjoying the activities and food in Talkeetna. The guest house is very conveniently located. We walked almost everywhere. The Northern Guest House was very comfortable. It had games, books, ping-pong, movies, bikes, and plenty of room for us all. Kitchen was nice. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suevan567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Northern Guest House for a night on our way back from Denali to Anchorage. We'd been in touch with Paula ahead of time, and it was easy to coordinate with her over phone or email. She accommodated our late arrival, and made sure our check-in could be as easy as possible. We had the bedroom on the ground floor, and it was spacious enough to sleep four. The common areas were well maintained, and had a ton of games, books, movies and a ping pon table to keep us occupied. The full kitchen was great for us. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banddsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.2 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#10 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Guest House

Property: Northern Guest House
Address: 13712 Second St, P O Box 24, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Guest House is 2 blocks from Main St.Close to all services Talkeetna has to offer.The Guest house has many family orientated activities both indoor and outdoor. This is a great place to stay with a group of friends for the weekend. Each having their own space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Guest House Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing