We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cabins just outside of town!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hubby and I stayed in the Bird Cove cabin for one night in August. The cabin was very clean, comfy and had everything you'd need for a stay. It actually included more than I expected as the cabin is equipped with a mini-fridge, little toaster oven, coffee maker and even fresh local coffee beans. Our cabin was a bit small but perfect for a couple.

The cabins are located just outside of town (maybe 5-10 minute drive) in a quiet neighborhood. Mosquitos weren't bad at all, but just in case, you're provided with some bug spray and mosquito coils in case you want to spend time on the porch or on the lake. A neat bonus - there are two row boats avaiable for guest use!

Free wi-fi available but we didn't know the password and never used it.

Room Tip: There are three cabins - the first is Hilltop, you'll see it immediately as it's in the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth_Mark2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins during the 1st week of July for 3 days and loved it. I was a little wary at first, since the last review was written a year ago and there were only a handful of them. Wayne recommended the Hilltop cabin as we were travelling with our infant and we couldn't be any happier. Although the location is nicer for the other two cabins as they are closer to the lake, the Hilltop is the newer cabin with all amenities and right next to the parking lot. The cabins are well appointed with everything you ever really need on a vacation. These are some of the amenities you get in Hilltop - 2 "very" comfortable queen size beds, 2 recliners, outside deck with BBQ grill and patio table, fully equipped kitchen with electric range, small refrigerator, microwave etc. Bathroom is spotless and has a regular toilet unlike the other cabins. Every window is covered well with blinds/shades and kept the light away at night for a great sleep. There is free wireless internet (WiFi) as well! There are tons of mosquitoes outside and they seem to be a common theme in Alaska outdoors. A bug spray was provided for the room and it wasn't a problem indoors at all. A small office room is attached to the Hilltop cabin, but there is hardly anyone there so its not a problem. However, Wayne or Holly is just a phone call away if you need anything (yes, there is cell phone coverage + data in this area). Talkeetna town is about 12 miles or 15-20 minute drive where you can find lots of restaurants and tour options. There is also a gas station (open 24 hrs) and a Subway restaurant if you go the other way to the George Parks highway (only a 5 minute drive).

The check-in time is 4-7P and check-out 11A, but they're always flexible and will work with you to suit your schedule. We highly recommend the Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins if you're looking for a stay in this area, probably better than staying in the town and at the time of writing is reasonably priced at $150 a night!

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilltop cabin if you want the newer cabin and all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The cabin was in a nice, quiet area not far from town. There is a nice view of the lake that you are able to take a rowboat out on. It was cozy and comfortable. We stayed in the Bird Cove which had a kitchenette, bathroom, and lofted bed. The cabin was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My family recently stayed for two evenings at Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins. What can I say the owner/operator Wayne was very pleasant, the cabin was immaculate, quiet, and cozy. Furthermore, I have 3 small children and we had everything we needed in our cabin and there was plenty of room. The beds are extremely comfortable and the view fantastic! I will be sure to revisit Wayne's cabins the next time I travel to Talkeetna.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenaliTundraTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The host is extremely friendly and will do his best to accommodate your needs.

The cabins are all very clean and cozy, and tucked away in the woods by a lake, yet not too far of a drive from Talkeetna.

It was nice to be able to leave Talkeetna and the tourists in the evening and head back to the tranquility of the woods and the lake (there is a rowing boat there, too!) ... and in the winter the lake makes for some good fishscale skis!

We'd certainly go back there again!

Room Tip: The cabins by the lake have electric-toilets which make some noise for hours after you flush them. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCB-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011. We had the Hill Top cabin, and Beaver Point. Both cabins were absolutely spotless with great amenities. I am not the outdoor type, so I chose the Hill Top with a regular toilet, and left my friend with the "burning" toilet, which was not a problem at all. Wayne was very accomodating to us, and the secluded location was great. BBQ's at each cabin and campfire facilities were perfect. I would highly recommend this place for peace and quiet, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank grg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My wife, daughter and I spent one night here between Anchorage and Denali. I was looking for a national park type cabin in the woods for one of our nights in Alaska and this was perfect. The cabin was very secluded on a lake a mile or so off the Talkeetna spur road. Close enough to go to Talkeetna for supper and our flight-see trip the next day, but not so close that we couldn't get away from everyone else. Internet was available with a supplied Ethernet cable and our cellphones worked fine. There are no signs, but our GPS led us right to it.

There are three cabins here: Beaver Point which we stayed in, Bird Cove and Hill Top. the first two are both in the woods on the lake. Hill Top is basically in the parking lot away from the lake. Our cabin was very large with a loft with a double bed for our daughter, a fully stocked kitchen, private bath, and queen size bed. The kitchen had everything, down to saran wrap, dish detergent and tooth picks. The only thing you need to bring is food. The toilet took some getting used to, but was not a major problem. They do not supply shampoo or soap for the shower.

The cabin sits on a lake with a small dock. A row boat is available for use. There is a nice porch and plenty of outdoor furniture. I wish we could have spent more time here.

There were a few negatives. If you are a "high maintenance" person, this is not for you. We had to carry our luggage from the parking area to the cabin because there is a gravel path on which our wheeled luggage would not roll. The toilet requires a liner to be inserted before use, then flushed into a container that burns the waste.

I was hesitant to stay here because I could not find any reviews prior to our stay, but we loved it.

Room Tip: Beaver Point and Bird Cove are the best locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richbutnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graybob, Owner at Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Parking at Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins near the Hill Top cabin is at the side of the cabin at the end of the driveway so as not to conflict with other guests. Beaver Point and Bird Cove cabins are unique in their location as they were built in the 1980's and were not under the current zoning regulations, so they are walk in units. The Hill Top cabin is a year around cabin built in 2010 and subject to current zoning , access in the winter is part of the reason for it's location. It offers drive up access and a private deck on the other side of the unit with a view of the lake and grill facilities. I try to make all my guests happy and the acronim for Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins is TLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.2 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness Lodge & Cabin Rentals
10.0 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
10.7 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
11.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins

Address: 35320 S St. John Drive, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range: £83 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual cabins in a quiet wooded lakeside setting. Lakeside dock,walking paths and ski trails near by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing