We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Overlook Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had two rooms -and 6 people. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Mabel and Don were very nice and helped us with all of our needs. -Even tracking down fans for our use durning record heat during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Denali Overlook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had three nights here and it was the most relaxing ones of our 10 day trip. We slept well, ate well and enjoyed evey minute of the views. This is our first experience with hosts that are present each day (and I was a little uncomfortable with that) but Ron and Mable are the perfect hosts and immediately made me feel welcome. Rooms were super clean and towls were as plush as the ones at home (not like the hotel ones). They thought of everything ... !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Pam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Denali Overlook Inn is a very convenient place to stay when visiting Talkeetna. Ron and Mabel provide quiet, clean and comfortable accommodations with a spectacular view of Denali. Tasty breakfast is made to order from a selection list that will satisfy everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Denali was as clear as a bell both days, plus the two lesser mountains as well. The inn is beautifully constructed and the garden is lovely. The beds were comfortable and the linens very nice. The towels were plush and generous. Mabel and Ron were helpful with local attractions.

They offer a wide variety of choices for breakfast and are very flexible. The food was satisfactory, if unremarkable.

We stayed here for two nights, some of the hottest, 88 to 94. that Talketna has seen. It would not be expected that an Alaskan inn would have air conditioning, so we were very uncomfortable both nights. We had fans initially, but then the power went out. Though it is light almost all night, going out of doors was a poor option since the mosquitoes were everywhere.

If it had not been for this unfortunate meeting of heat with loss of power, this might have been one of my favorite B&Bs ever. The lodge feel of the house and the spectacular view were amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Unfortunately, we only had one night here, as we were on our way back to Anchorage and home at the end of a 2 week trip. This was one of the nicest places we stayed. The room was very nice, and we didn't even have one of the mountain view rooms! Breakfast was great, and Ron and Mabel are super friendly and attentive. Whatever you want, they will try to accommodate. The place is spotless, perhaps helped by the policy that you have to take off your shoes when you come in. Alaska can be a very dusty and muddy place so this is a good policy, if you ask me, but you might want to have some slippers of flip flops handy. Our room did have mosquitoes in it, but hey, this is Alaska! I would definitely recommend the Denali Overlook. You can see Mt. McKinley in all its glory from the breakfast and sitting room, which was awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Ron and Mable are the perfect hosts. Our room was spacious with a wonderful shower. Breakfast was not only delicious but cooked to order. You may not have the wonderful weather we experienced but you can have coffee with Denali every morning even when you can not see her. We were skeptical staying so far from Talkeetna, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

First off, do yourself a favor and plan more than one night to stay here! We were fortunate enough to stay here for the last 4 nights of our Alasakan vacation! Ron and Mabel are a biig part of making the stay a great time! All the positives stated in earlier reviews have been confirmed as accurate! The day we checked in, no other guests had arrived and we were able to look at all of the rooms that the lodge offers. They are all beautiful, no doubt and you will love whichever one you choose, but at the last minute when finalizing our reservation with Mabel, we elected to take the Northern Exposure Cabin. Great decision! You get all the benefits of Mable and Ron's FANTASTIC breakfasts and the lodge living room, but you get privacy that the other rooms can't offer! The views from both the downstairs rooms, the deck, and the loft bedroom are incredible!! We made great use of the deck for our morning coffee and devtional time as well as just relaxing, enjoying the beauty of God's creation! We felt we had the best accommodations offered in Talkeetna! What a fun time!! Ron and Mabel have good suggestions for things to do. We suggest the K2 flightseeing tour with the glacier landing along with the Sun Dog Kennel tour. Don't hesitate, call Mabel now to schedule your 2 nights plus!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank hoosierguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mabel_Quilliam, Manager at Denali Overlook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

So glad you liked the Northern Exposure Cabin!! It does have great views and gives you a little more privacy. Thank you for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,071 reviews
5.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
5.3 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
265 reviews
5.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
5.7 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £137 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Overlook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Denali Overlook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing