We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Trip in Talkeetna headed for Denali National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Overlook Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at this B/B with my wife, three kids, and in-laws that were visiting AK from L48. Both Ron and Mabel were very welcoming to our family. The house was very clean and very well designed. We stayed in the Denali view suite, which was amazing. Exceptional views of Denali as well as surrounding landscape. When we got up, we had breakfast ready almost as soon as we sat down and it was very good. I would highly recommend this B/B to anyone and I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Denali View is the best one to chose from. The main living area also overlooks Denali and there are...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonah7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Denali Overlook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We live in Anchorage and chose to get away for the weekend to Talkeetna. Our family of four stayed in the Denali View Suite. We were fortunate to have amazing weather. Blue bird skies and crisp, clear nights. The view from our room of the mountain and surrounding landscape was amazing. And our kids got to see the Aurora Borealis for the first time at 2am in their PJs.
The B&B is clean and well taken care of. Ron and Mabelle are attentive hosts, but not too intrusive. The order form for breakfast was a bit different from other places we've stayed, but we understand they want to have sufficient items on hand for guests. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S1Salaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is beautiful! The rooms are very nice, clean and cozy. Breakfast is made to order and good sized portions. We highly recommend! Oh, and every window offers a spectacular view of Denali (when the clouds permit).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I live in Anchorage, two of my friends and I went to Talkeetna for a weekend for the Wilderness Woman competition and bachelor auction. We stayed at the Overlook Inn and it was absolutely fantastic. We had such a good time. The owners were very attentive. Breakfast was good. Would highly recommend staying there again. Our only regret is that Denali was not visible, but I have tons of pictures of the mountain already, so that was okay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanqueray24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

For $187 Disappointing – visitors to the area should be aware that McKinley / Denali is only visible rarely (1 day in 3 according to the guides, but felt less reading the visitors book). Most strange was (on arrival) having to fill out a full A4 form to say what you wanted for breakfast – down to which cereal / bread you want (even though it was set out for self service) , and exactly how many eggs…. after a long drive, this was not particularly welcome. Owners need to relax – a preferred breakfast time and any cooked items required should suffice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_n_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at this B&B in July and it was quite good. The bedroom was clean and spacious and the breakfast was quite good. If the mountain was visible, this place is likely the single best place to view it, perched on a hill with completely unobstructed views. Unfortunately for us, it was cloudy the entire time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiscifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Denali Overlook in late August and had a wonderful experience. Ron and Mabel were friendly and accomodating. The views are breathtaking and facility was clean and welcoming. The inn is a short distance (driving) from town, but this was not an issue as we had a rental car. Might not be convenient if you don't have transportation. Definately would send a friend.

Room Tip: We stayed in detached "cabin" which is really a small house and loved it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RR1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,071 reviews
5.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
5.3 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
265 reviews
5.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
5.7 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £137 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Overlook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Denali Overlook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing