We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Overlook Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The obscene graffiti on the sign at the end of the drive wasn't a great start, but managers Ron and Mabel didn't seem to mind it. They were too busy devising devilishly fiendish forms for guests to fill in as soon as they arrived for their next morning's breakfast.
The bedroom and public areas were clean, cosy and relaxing, the food was good and the location was even better.
Ron and Mabel could do with taking some chill-out pills (and fixing that sign) - otherwise it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tito123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our group stayed here for a night en route to Denali and wished we could have stayed longer! Super location with awesome Denali views (weather permitting), friendly hosting by Ron and Mabel, great breakfast and comfortable rooms and beds. We saw otters playing in the river below, and a grizzly family in the front yard (okay, a video from last fall)!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We found the Denali Overlook in on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint. Nestled in the forest just 5 miles from Talkeetna, the house has a beautiful view of Denali with well kept grounds and comfortable accommodations. Mabel and Ron were wonderful hosts and made sure we were well fed in the mornings with made to order breakfast. The kids loved the game table in the main room and we all enjoyed the great conversations with our hosts and the other guests. The Inn is a perfect launching point for fishing, glacier flights, hiking and dozens of other activities in the summertime.

Room Tip: We were in a 4th floor room. Nice and quiet with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suedvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent 3 days at the Denali Overlook. Mabel and Ron were perfect hosts. Our room was incredible--clean, with an amazing view--we were lucky to book the Denali View Suite, which was worth every penny. We felt so welcomed and at home from the moment we arrived. ALL of the rooms looked great, however.

There is a dumbwaiter for luggage, which is a huge plus for those of us who are over 50 : ).

Breakfast (cooked by Ron) was fantastic--all three mornings. You can fill out a menu, and it is cooked to order. Can pick your time to eat as well.

We saw a moose down the hill, too, which was a plus.

I highly recommend this B&B! Especially for couples.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bcbb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent one night in the Mt. Hunter room and loved the views. The room was bright and cheerful and the entire inn is spotless. Ron and Mabel were great hosts and breakfast was made to order based on your choices made the previous evening. The blueberry pancake was very good and I won't forget to order the fresh fruit next time because it looked delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank babyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Accommodating B&B nestled in the woods a few miles from Talkeetna. Outstanding unobstructed mountain views. The Quilliams are excellent hosts, serve a great breakfast to order precisely at the time requested between 8-10:00 a.m. and graciously allow access to their homes' comfortable spaces. They are impeccable housekeepers; the rooms are immaculate and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a great stay on both sides of our 5 nights camping in Denali. It was our best lodging in Alaska. We really loved the great room to sit quietly or chat with fellow guests. Breakfasts were wonderful and Ron and Mabel are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: I liked the Mt. Hunter room although it is up several flights of stairs. There is a dumb waiter to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
4.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
5.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
5 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £139 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Overlook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Denali Overlook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing