We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-night Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Latitude 62 Lodge / Motel
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Price is right. Accommodations are adequate for the night. Great eating at the restaurant within the building. Situated in a nice, rustic area. Very close to an Alaska Railroad station. Walking distance to the small town or village. Will stay there in the future when I'm around the vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Latitude 62 is a bar/restaurant/motel on the edge of the small town of Talkeetna. Definitely within walking distance of everywhere. Check out all the signed photos of people who've played there -- way cool.

We got the key at the bar as instructed, but stayed in the cabin by the river. It was wonderful; very private and very quiet. The river is right across the small, dirt street and downtown Talkeetna is just a few blocks away.

Up a few stairs to a deep covered porch, you're greeted by a door with a small shed antler as a handle. I like that it takes the key to lock the door from the outside -- no accidentally leaving the key behind.

You open the door into a small kitchen with a 4 burner stovetop, small refrigerator and microwave but no oven. Mismatched cookware, dishes and cutlery should provide everything you need, including a corkscrew and wine glasses. Linoleum makes a great place to take off muddy boots if you haven't already shed them sitting on the comfortable porch chairs.

A small living/dining room with table for two, love seat, TV, heater and full bath complete the downstairs. We didn't try the four-jet Jacuzzi tub, but soap, shampoo and plenty of towels were close at hand. Instead of an exhaust fan, a small, high window with a crank opener vented the steam from my long, hot shower.

The entire upstairs is the bedroom and two closets. One closet held plenty of extra towels and the other had a rollaway bed. Vaulted ceiling, comfortable queen bed, a loveseat and a second TV with complementary VCR tapes still leave plenty of floor space to make this room feel spacious. If you want a breath of fresh air, just step out onto the upstairs deck. 3 nicely etched glass panes in the stairwell add a touch of interest. Just remember, a midnight call of nature requires a trip down the stairs.

We found everything to be scrupulously clean and will definitely be back for a longer stay than one night.

http://web.acsalaska.net/~latitude62/cabin.html

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SharonInAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a nice little place with a great bar and great food to stay in Talkeetna. It is right on the main road and conveniently located from the town center. The rooms are in the back so are quiet though near the railway track so whenever the trains pass they vibrate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satyabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a place to sleep. Clean and to the point. Honest as the day is longhowed up in town after midnight, and wandered around the back, found an open door, and low an behold there was our empty room with the key in the door. Would have been nice to have had that communicated to us, but we figured it out. Stayed here before a Denali expedition. Our room had two beds and a bathroom. Check in at the bar is a classic. The restaurant is great, especially for breakfast. I wouldn't stay here with nmy wife and kids, but wouldn't hesitate to stay here solo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stopped here for an overnight stay, well its old, its an o.k. place to sleep. You don't get a lot of choices here and I did have a great nights sleep. This is a very cool little town and I would definetlly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A buddy and I needed a reasonable place of loding while spending a night in Talkeetna. Discovered the cabin available with Latitude 62 Lodge which was perfect for our needs. The cabin was located along a river, in town. Just a 5-10 min. walk to the town's restaurants, bars, and shops. For us, the price was reasonable, and the cabin was an enjoyable stay while in Talkeetna.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank swdke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you want amenities, do not go to Talkeetna. If you want an Alaskan Local Type experience--This is the spot! You check in at the bar. Small rooms!! No TV but have Internet free. When I entered the hotel which is a hall behind the bar, I shrieked. But the real fun actually began . Locals hang at the bar and watch TV with you while sharing their life. Other guests share their outdoor adventures. We were one happy family. They have the best Sausage and bisquit breakfast ($5.00) I have ever had and I am a southern girl. I would go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.2 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.5 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
0.5 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 62 Lodge / Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 62 Lodge / Motel

Address: 22687 Talkeetna Spur Road, Milepost 14 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range: £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log lodge with 12 clean, comfortable motel rooms, all with private bath & shower and one private log cabin for nightly rental. Full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with daily specials. Full service bar serving cocktails, wine and beer and offering a Denali view. Open year round with summer and winter rates. Adjacent to the Talkeetna State Airport and the Alaska Railroad Depot, in "beautiful downtown" Talkeetna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Latitude 62 Lodge / Motel Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing