We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had BEST holidays of our lives here!”

Sunshine Lake Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Lake Bed and Breakfast
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“We had BEST holidays of our lives here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I travelled from Australia to Alaska during... winter! We didnt know where to stay and we found Sunshine Lake B & B online. The price was good( it turned unbelievably low ) and we booked it for 2 nights as we wanted to go onto Fairbanks from there.
Nancy, the owner of the cabin we stayed in is a GEM!!! We loved Nancy, the cabin and Talkeetna town so much that we ended up ditching Fairbanks and staying at Nancy for 2 weeks instead of 2 days. She was warm, friendly, so hospitable and felt like family away from home. The door to her home was always open for a chat, some travelling tips or just sharing some of her incredible stories with us.

The day we arrived we were flabbergasted to arrive to a kitchen FULL of food. We worked out that after all the food she had put in there for us she would have been out of pocket with the low nightly rate.

It has been a few years since we were there and we still correspond with Nancy.

If there were 6 stars I would give them to Nancy and Sunshine Lake B & B.

We are 5 star travellers and stay worlwide at the best hotels. I can tell you we have not enjoyed a holiday as much as the one we spent in Talkeetna.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have stayed with Nancy at Sunshine for many years now and find that it is a wonderful spot to experience everything Alaska and the town of Talkeetna has to offer. Nancy has been a wonderful hostess with many lifelong experiences in this picturesque part of Alaska. She is always willing to share her experiences and makes you feel like part of her family. The cabin itself provides everything one might expect or even desire. It can sleep 6 comfortably and is equipped with a nice fridge, microwave, hot plate, and all the cookware and utensils needed.
The tv is great and even the movies she provides as well. Nancy always provides staples for breakfast with such items as pancake mix, eggs, oatmeal, juice, cereal, and more. Just a very nice place to spend a few days or even more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Nancy Wilson is a true Alaskan with the "can do" attitude, gruff on the outside with a gentle soul. We stayed in a lovely cabin that Nancy built herself, which can accommodate 8 people although there were just two of us. The cabin was very comfortable with TV, kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and hot plate. Breakfast foods were provided for us to prepare ourselves. The price was an exceptional value. Nancy provided us with information about things to do and visited with us at length.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nancy was cranky and rude to us from the second we arrived, treating us like children, even though we were a group of 6 adults over 40 and 2 kids. Prohibited my brother's family from taking the basement rooms because of her 'Valuable antiques,' even though that set up was best suited to the larger family, as it had 2 bedrooms and a private bathroom. However, that area had no tv; but it did have junk stuffed into stairwells, closets, and every corner, so there was no place to put down our luggage but on the beds, because god forbid we should touch her antiques!

No breakfast included; just light provisions to make yourself--milk that had passed its sell-by date, a few cereals, muffins and juice. She also provided eggs, but no cookware/stove. She had directions, though, for microwaving them! For her to cook breakfast was $5 extra per person; we would have taken her up on it, but she acted so put out, we worried she'd spit in our omelets! We also had to do our own dishes.

Cheap value for Alaska ($35/person/day) but overall a fairly sour experience.

Oh, and bring the mosquito repellent--they're everywhere at her place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centava99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

On our honeymoon, we decided last minute we wanted to break up our drive from Denali to Anchorage. We called around, and Sunshine Lake had great prices. (it was not on a lake though). We ended up in a private cabin that had a kitchen. The fridge had breakfast foods in it, and we made our own eggs and toast the next morning.

The innkeeper is very friendly. This place would be best for large groups, but it was a great deal for the price!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureOfLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
10.0 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
8.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
10.0 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.7 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness
Talkeetna Wilderness
#4 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Lake Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Lake Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunshine Lake Bed and Breakfast
Address: Sheldon Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sunshine Lake Bed And Breakfast Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing