We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable “backcountry experience” - away from it all - you find it right here at the Caribou Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribou Lodge Alaska
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We traveled three weeks through Alaska - from Fairbanks in the north to Katmai NP in the south. At the end, we both said that the highlight of our trip were our 3 nights at the Caribou Lodge.

It started with the short flight to the lodge by floatplane from Talkeetna (Fisch Lake). Once arrived and greeted by Pam and Mike, with there warm welcome - we felt right home.

The guided hikes with Mike into the surrounding area were each times a little adventure for us searching for wildlife in a stunning wilderness surrounding including Mt. Denali in the backdrop on our daily hikes from 4-6 hours. Just to be toped each day with an excellent cooked breakfast and dinner by Pam (The BBQ was in Mike’s hands) with endless supply of fresh baked bread, cakes and cookies it gave us our “Alaska” experience.

Also thanks again Mike for all the stories you told us and the countless questions you answered about the wildlife, flora and fauna, hunting and over your “life and survival” at the “Caribou Lodge”.

Room Tip: There are three cabins, for max 6 guests available. None has a bathroom or toilet facility within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Happy to have had you here and spend some time in our part of the world. We enjoy learning about how you live... as much as you like learning about ours (we hope). If our trails may cross again... It would be our gain. Thanks for coming, keep in touch...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

This year Alaska had this extraordinary summer, we arrived June 16 and were supposed to arrive by a float plane, instead the lake at the lodge was still frozen as the winter has had turned back in May. So we arrived by helicopter and added another great flight experience to an unforgetable vacation experience.
Having just arrived at the lodge we received the welcome-round-trip throughout the lodge; actually it was a two hours great entertainment tour by mike and we had such an enjoyable fun start. If you have the right sense of humor you can't stop laughing when Mike talks you through the "facilities".
Of course, food is always important, so we received a nice lunch and enjoyed the remoteness of the place. Mike offers a canoe and a rowboat which are available at any time for any activity (the beaver house is just accross the lake).
During the day you don't see much of Pam, don't worry, this is all for ensuring you get a fantastic dinner! Fresh vegtable comes from the green house,fish or meat is anyhow great in the wilderness, but once it is prepared by Pam it turns into an extraordinary dish (you may want to bring your own beer/wine as the lodge has no licence to sell alcoholoics)! Take Pam's pancake - I am sure you haven't had any better! Take Pam's melon Marmelade or her cheese cake with blueberry sauce (needs to get an award)! - but overall Pam's and Mike's hospitally make you wishing to comming back soon.
This lodge is not only about hospitality, good food, and entertainment. It offers great hikes, bear watching (bear point is a must to go!), just contact Mike and he prepares a tour as you like from a few hours up to several days backpacking.
I need to come again - maybe in winter? Pam, Mike: Thank you for this time - we enjoyed it so much!
Andrea & Andreas

Room Tip: Mike and Pam offer three diferent huts, all of them are very much the same and have all you need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hey! Most happy that you had a good time here, we enjoyed it as well for sure. It is a pleasure to share a bit of our lives and what we have here and even more so with folks who appreciate the country and all it offers. We will look forward to having you back! Let us know, happy to have you again anytime. Our thanks for coming, see you next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were not sure what to expect when venturing into the Alaskan wilderness. What we found at Caribou Lodge was a unique opportunity to enjoy the natural beauty of Alaska at our pace. Rustic but very comfortable. The setting is spectacular and the quiet something to embrace. The late snows this year made for some interesting hiking but we enjoyed every minute of it. We got to experience our first helicopter ride to and from the lodge with some great views. Mike and Pam are gracious hosts who make you feel part of their home. Great homemade meals, lots of information, singing, story telling and solitude. One of the great takeaways was an appreciation for what people have to do to first of all survive, and ultimately make themselves comfortable in the climate of Alaska when services are not close by.

Dana and Linda Keene NH

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Our pleasure to have you! It was a different experience even for us given the late snows and conditions, you rose to the challenges and did well! You have "Alaska in your veins now"!Thank you for coming, hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Mike is a wonderfully informative, patient and entertaining guide. Pam is a superb and welcoming hostess. 3 days; 100% nature 0 people. A great place to experience the powerful beauty of the Alaska wilderness while still having your basic needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

The pleasure was ours to have you here. Having great guests makes it easy. Hope our trails cross again!! Thank you....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went to Alaska to be in the wilderness of that wonderful country. We saw a lot that we loved. But when we arrived in Caribou Lodge we felt arrived in what we were looking for. That place is wild and wonderful. And far away of civilization, but by plane we flew to there in about 20 minutes. The cabins are nice and comfortable, the whole lodge is just a place to feel good. Mike and Pam are wonderful hosts and very interesting people! As everybody writes: Pam cooks marvellous, every day it's a new surprise how she conjures up that awsome meal under these conditions (everything has to be brought into the lodge by plane). And Mike is such a great storyteller, we had a lot of fun together. And he is a very good guide in the wilderness!! Both are very warm-hearted and interested in humans - after our three days there we wanted to stay for much longer than we had booked for! For us these days were the "heart" of our trip where we made very impressive experiences in nature and with those two interesting people and where we relaxed deeply at the same time.
Karin W.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddyoo7, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

It was our pleasure, to have you here and we thank you for coming! We enjoyed having you as much as you did being here. Hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I too found the lodge on-line and decided to include it in a summer trip to USA and Canada although it required a float-plane journey to get there!.That was just the start of the experience which proved to be wonderful. We landed on the lake in front of the lodge and were welcomed like friends right from the start. Mike showed us to our cabin which was very comfortable where we slept very deeply. The lodge was lovely and Mike and Pam treat their guests like extended family so you really can relax and unwind in the quiet and beautiful wilderness. Mike took us for hikes during the day which were interesting as he explained how he and his family have lived from the land, hunting and gathering, we had no idea,for instance, how many delicious berries grew there .Pam also stocks her larder from town now and produces copious amounts of delicious food all through the day!! Her home-made jams are fantastic and we had never tasted better cranberry mufffins or blueberry pancakes!
Staying with Mike and Pam you really understand what life is like in the wilderness whilst being very comfortable and well looked-after. We found it an ideal place to unwind and de-stress a world away from our normal environment. We would highly recommend Caribou Lodge to anyone wanting an authentic, comfortable and very relaxed place to stay in the Alaskan wilderness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddyoo7, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

We are happy you had a good time and enjoyed your stay! It is a unique experience for us as well, everyone is different, we thank you for coming, our pleasure to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We found the Lodge online and fit it into our itinerary from Talkeetna. It was a fantastic experience with great hosts, Mike and Pam. They are warm and welcoming; they gave us a great 3 day visit. Pam is an excellent cook and opens her home/lodge to you. Mike is an extraordinary guide and story-teller, from funny to adventurous tales. The cabins we stayed in were clean, warm, homey, and perfect for the end of the day. Just learning how this couple lives in the wilderness was fun in and of itself. We saw geese, ducks, moose, grizzly, brown bear, beaver and more (up close and afar). Stayed in late May, highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike N, Owner at Caribou Lodge Alaska, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Glad to have had you here and share a bit of our lives in the Alaskan Bush! Thanks for the kind words, we appreciate it and we hope to see you here again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
13 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
12.1 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
13.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#2 of 18 in Talkeetna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
267 reviews
13.5 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
11.8 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness Lodge & Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Lodge Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Lodge Alaska

Address: P.O. Box 706, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range: £536 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribou Lodge Alaska is a wilderness lodge that is only accessible by small aircraft. Located on a remote lake in an amazing setting above treeline just southeast Of Denali National Park. We are closer to Denali than the Park entrance or headquarters. Caribou Lodge is completely surrounded by Alaska's wild country. The Lodge offers a unique opportunity for guests to not only experience the awesome wilderness of Alaska, but to learn about living in it as well. Life in the Alaska wilderness is quite the adventure and is an experience we enjoy sharing with the world. Small and personal, a "Denali Park without the crowds", Caribou Lodge offers daily guided hiking, extended backpacking trips, kayaking and more, a relaxed learning experience in the Alaskan bush. Come enjoy true Alaska wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Caribou Lodge Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Lodge Alaska Hotel Talkeetna
Caribou Hotel Talkeetna
Caribou Lodge Alaska Talkeetna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing