We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place; friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We only stayed one night, but the place was nice, clean and the staff very helpful. Cute little town and a great place to spend a few hours.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank drandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2007

We booked 2 rooms for 2 couples and have nohing but good tomsay about the place. The owners are a charming couple who did anyting they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The beds are not your beds at home, but very comfortable for the price of the rooms. The staff was extremely helpful and could not do enough for us. We would stay here again anytime, and would recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jollygiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

This was the only bad night of our 2 week trip to Alaska. The bed was so creaky that I woke myself up everytime I rolled over. The carpets look like they had never been cleaned. The staff was not helpful. There are so many charming spots in Talkeetna...this is definately not one of them.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We had a group of 7 people needing 5 rooms. About 10 days prior to our cruise in late may, we found it it was cancelled so we had to re-book. The folks at the Swiss-Alaska Lodge were so helpful and re-booked us at the same rates even though late May is less expensive in Alaska than in peak time July!

We were picked up at the train station and taken to the Lodge; and were pleasantly surprised at the cozy european feel to the rooms and facilities! If you're looking for large standard rooms all the same; with TV and all the amenities, then this isn't the place for you. If you want a taste of Alaska with innkeepers who go the extra mile to make you feel at home, then you will love this great place to stay while you discover Talkeetna! People who have problems with what they find at the Swiss-Alaska Inn, simply didn't do their homework! Someone mentioned the long trip into town. I'm not in great shape, but had no problem walking down the path into town. Our last morning we had a very early flightseeing/day trip into Denali with Talkeetna Aero. The folks at the Swiss-Alaska Lodge woke up early so we could have a hot cooked breakfast before leaving on our tour.

Sorry I didn't take a picture of our charming room. It was bright and cheery, and spotless too!

We'll stay there again for sure!

I checking out the

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LovingLifeAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2007

The place is clean. The owner and his family are so friendly and very helpful. U can't find a nice hotel owner like this anywhere. He picked us up at the train station, helped us to manage our two and a half days in Talkeetna, helped us find a transportation to go back to Anchorage, etc. My friend ( from Korea) and I from (Thailand) had a really good time staying there. They just made our vacations in Talkeetna so enjoyable and memorable. Thank you for everything. We hope to be back there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank emma_snca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

GREAT food and GREAT staff!! I felt like I was at home! The people here treated me like family! Everyone was SOOO friendly and helpful!! I can't wait to go back!! I will DEFINATLY recommend this lodge to my friends and family!!
Thank you for such a WONDERFUL stay!! ....Until next time!!!

Mindy Behlke

Stayed: October 2002
4  Thank Mork0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2006

Stayed here for one night in Sept. 2006. I was not sure what to expect but this hotel was nothing special but it was clean. Not near the main downtown area of Talkeetna - would be quite a walk. There was no TV reception but did go across the street to a small video store and rented a VHS tape for when we returned after dinner. There were a lot of B & B's and other places to stay so would probably choose one of those next time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TravelingFool29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#13 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
10.4 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna

Address: P.O. Box 565, 22056 S. F Street, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0565
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna Hotel Talkeetna
Swiss Alaska Hotel Talkeetna
Swiss Alaska Talkeetna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing