We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, Maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way to Denali and it was very beautiful. Rooms are very large with mini fridge and Internet. Husband took fall on the stairs upon arrival. Front desk staff was very considerate and helpful. They provided first aid supplies and offered assistance. Staff member waited with me until manager on duty brought first aid supplies. My only disappointment was that shuttle to town ended at 6:45pm on a Saturday night at the beginning of Memorial Day week.
But the beauty of the facility and kindness of the staff made the visit outstanding.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dee8306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    245
    78
    24
    13
See reviews for
253
373
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were there the first day they opened for the season for 3 days. All three days we were able to see McKinley - that was awesome. The rooms were comfortable.If you can splurge for a mountain view you should totally do that. The staff was super. We loved talking to the staff that had come in for the summer jobs. I loved that there was laundry available, we had already been in AK 5 days and was going to be there for 12 more so I was able to get all our clothes clean, yeah!! Dining rooms were great!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneofakindga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My boyfriend and I planned an incredible 9-day trip to Alaska for end of August/early September on a SUPER budget. Flights from NYC were incredibly cheap ($<400 roundtrip) and we figured camping wouldn't be too much money.

So, we did just that. Spent the first night at a B&B and the rest of the trip camping. He is much more outdoorsy than me and could have flown home with his camping gear still on but I requested the final night be in a nice, comfy hotel bed with a shower and good food.

Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge gave us just that. I wouldn't say it was cheap (paid about $200 for the night) but it was worth it. Big, clean room, amazing fireplace in the lobby, and great little town to explore on foot. Great dinner in the hotel restaurant too. Highly recommend for a final night on your way back to Anchorage from Denali.

Room Tip: Note that it's very rare to get a clear view of Denali (as shown in the pictures of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've stayed in Talkeetna on three different occasions and after considering many factors found this hotel was by far the most comfortable and best managed hotel. Sitting on a bluff with beautiful views of Mt McKinley the log cabin design just impresses upon you that you are on the edge of the the Alaska wilds. You are actually just outside the town of Talkeetna. That said, the hotel offers van service to and from downtown area. The check in personnel were profoundly professional and efficient and the atmosphere of the lobby pleasantly very northern. The complementary breakfast buffet was very good and well stocked. The rooms were much like any hotels but they were very clean and comfortable with ours having no unwelcomed surprises. Ours was a very short walk across the parking lot to the lobby. A great place to enjoy a book or coffee is the deck off the back of the lobby that has sweeping views of the mountain range. Overall, excellent. I would recommend

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room in the main lodge to save you a walk outside across the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the lodge in Aug 2013 and it was wonderful. We didn't get to see Denali from the deck, but the view was magnificent. The walking was nice, although it was a lot more hilly than what I thought. The restaurants food was very good, although a little pricey, but that's Alaska. Service was great too! The town of Talkeetna was quaint and nice. The shuttle bus drivers were very nice and informative. The only thing bad that i have to say is, when we first got into the room, we had booked a room in the Guest Lodge, I noticed a few moths on the inside of the window. I called down to the desk and they immediately sent someone to pick up and take us to a new room in the Main Lodge. They're very accommodating abd they want to make sure you're satisfied. The stone fireplace is AWESOME!!! Absolutely beautiful, don't miss this lodge.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a mountain side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night because we were planning a flight with a glacier landing. It is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities with one exception - No AC. Unfortunately, the weather was bad while we were here. We couldn't see Denali. We canceled our flight because the weather would not allow a glacier landing. The only negative is the rates are extremely high for a hotel without AC. We enjoyed our stay but wish the weather had cooperated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KRB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

From the back of the hotel and our hotel room, we were able to see Denali in all it's glory! They have a nice walking trail out back of the hotel if you have time, we just went a little ways down but it was just very peaceful. The lodge fireplace is unique and all done with local stones from the area. We enjoyed sitting on the patio (again facing Denali) for dinner and breakfast. We were part of cruisetour and because we were a bit late getting into the hotel we didn't explore the area but the hotel was very nice. Beds were comfortable and spacious.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel (facing Denali) and higher floors give nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshine_seeker12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
9.2 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Property: Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Address: Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge above the small community of Talkeetna on the south side of Denali, our lodge offers unforgettable views of Denali and the Alaska Range, yet we are just minutes from adventures of a lifetime. Enjoy the view as you relax next to our 46-foot river rock fireplace or shop for Native art from villages across Alaska. Enjoy casual or fine dining featuring Alaska specialties and the best wine selection in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Alaskan Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing