We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in five different hotels during our trip around Alaska and this was, by far, my favorite place! From super courteous check in to beautiful views, spacious and comfortable room, this was an amazing place that I'd highly recommend. On the food side, however, the service in the restaurant was pretty slow, and the food average, but the trade-off was definitely worth it!

Room Tip: our room had a view of Mt. McKinley...beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    242
    77
    24
    13
See reviews for
251
369
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Beautiful grounds and when conditions atmospheric are good a fantastic view of Mt. McKinley 65 miles away! Rooms were big, luxurious and extremely comfortable and quiet. Meals were reasonably priced and good.

Room Tip: Leave a mountain view wake up call. Weather can change fast giving spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

4 star hotel and restaurant lives up to billing and is by far the best in the area near Denali Nat'l Park and Mt. McKinley! Spacious well decorated room and a great restaurant / lounge. The fish and chips were very good and the mixed berry crisp with ice cream is to did for. Best view of Mt. McKinley; much better than Denali Park!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in a detached building from the main lodge. It was a clean room with plenty of room for our family (2 adults and 2 children) and our luggage. We stayed here for only one night and loved the views from the lodge and deck viewing area. Although the hotel is about 60 miles from Mount McKinley, we were provided plenty of spectacular views of the Alaskan Range and Mount McKinley. I wish we would have stayed here instead of the Denali Bluffs near Denali National Park as that hotel was horrible and I would not recommend it at all. I also wish we could have more time to see and explore Talkeetna

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the mountain views at the lodge and hope for good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homebrew454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful experience spending a night and a half of the day at this wonderful place. We did not stay in the main building but visited all parts of it and just loved the fire place in the main lobby and the viewing deck. I wish we could have planned another day at this place. It was an amazing stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehankiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff was nice enough to change our room when we realized our original room was up stairs and it would have been extremely difficult for me to use it, even though they were a full hotel. The bell hops not only move our luggage into our room but when we checked out moved it to the secure luggage locker for us. The grounds were well groomed and everything look perfect for the setting. Our room was very hot. The hottest day of the year in the 80's, but we soon realized lots of hotels in Alaska don't have air conditioning. There was a fan though. This is a very well maintained hotel with a couple of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mt Mckinley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was by far the best place we stayed in alaska. They managed to get us in a day early when we had terrible issues with another hotel. Everything g about this hotel is wonderful!! Awesome views! Great views! Wonderful service!! Stay HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a king suit and ask for it to be AWAY from the back patio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
9.2 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Property: Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Address: Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge above the small community of Talkeetna on the south side of Mt. McKinley, our lodge offers unforgettable views of Mt. McKinley and the Alaska Range, yet we are just minutes from adventures of a lifetime. Enjoy the view as you relax next to our 46-foot river rock fireplace or shop for Native art from villages across Alaska. Enjoy casual or fine dining featuring Alaska specialties and the best wine selection in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Alaskan Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing