We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical hotel - but that's it's charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not your typical hotel - but that's it's charm!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We loved our 1-night stay. We chose the Roadhouse because we wanted a place that wasn't built for the masses. Yes, a bit worn-down, but for the price it simply cannot be beat. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable and you felt right at home in the common seating areas. The staff was very friendly as were locals and fellow travelers - making this one of our favorite places we stayed on our 2 week visit in Alaska. Breakfast was excellent and we liked hearing and speaking to others about their Alaskan adventures at the family seating style tables. Glad we made the choice to stay overnight and have breakfast here - even in the middle of the heat wave of June 2013!

Oh - one improvement I would love to see is replacement of the incandescent light bulbs with eco-friendly versions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    102
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
72
115
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed in 'The Little Cabin in the Back.' That is the actual name and it is what the name implies, a little cabin in the back lot of the Talkeetna Roadhouse. I loved the way it looked inside. A little bed when you walk in and a small fridge, then through another doorway and a twin bed with a queen sized bed. Large loft area where two or more children can stay. Little windows. It's everything you think a cabin would have been like, sans make-up (just the beds). The showers and bathrooms were inside the lodge and you get an extra key to get into the lodge after the restaurant portion closes down. Coin operated laundry facilities are also available inside of the lodging portion.

I mean this place is like you imagined it long ago, a restaurant with rooms for rent and shared bathroom facilities. Dining is a shared experience also. You sit where there is space. This place was super cool and you got the feel for the town of Talkeetna here. It seemed to be where the 'climbers' were meeting up.

The people/staff were super friendly and very appreciative. Since it IS Alaska and they rarely see temps above the mid seventies in the summer, it is not necessary to have air conditioning. We just happened to be on the back end of a super heat wave. Our little cabin was HOT, especially the loft area. They did have fans for us to use, which helped a lot and frankly why should they invest in air conditioning. We were able to experience what it was like before all the added comforts. Our kids didn't even seem to notice (10 & 13) the 90 degree cabin.

Rustic and so cool. There is no fitness. The fitness center is the outside and the surrounding wilderness. No swimming pool. I had to add these comments because Trip Advisor asks us to rate these. We were there June of 2013 and would stay there again in a heart beat. I highly recommend that if you get the chance to do the same. We made all our reservations via internet and phone calls.

Room Tip: 'The Little Cabin in the Back' is where we stayed. Talkeetna Roadhouse has room within the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederlenz, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

from the reviews we read before our trip, we knew that the Roadhouse will not be a "normal" hotel. And that was exactly what we (couple with 16 year old son) were looking for. I'd say if you go to Alaska and stay in one of the hotels which belong to one of the main hotel chains, it's ok. BUT: you will miss a lot of the alaskan spirit. (or what remains of it). So our decision was to visit if possible either B&B (highly recommendable!) or smaller independent hotels.
Very friendly people - very oldfashioned rooms - ok, the walls are thin - very good breakfast
(and we had no problems at all doing our reservations through internet and we also received recommendations about what else to do and what was going on in Talkeetna)
If you're lucky enough and pick a nice day: down at the river the view towards Mt. Denali is awesome. And a flight around Denali also (also an experience with not so nice wheater)

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaDu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We liked the rustic style of the roadhouse and affordable pricing. The room (see photo) was very small and it had a TINY sink. You really cannot do much other than wash hands and perhaps brush your teeth without water spraying everywhere.

The bathrooms were just few feet away, and if I remember correctly, there were three. There aren't very many rooms, so it has enough bathroom space. They could have updated the rooms and bathrooms a bit more (shower was cramped and I am a small person), but the hot water pressure was good.

The rooms/bathrooms are not separated from the lobby/restaurant, so potentially, customers to the restaurant can see you walking to the restroom in the morning. The bed was squeaky, and our room shared a wall with the restaurant. It wasn't a problem for us, but if you are a light sleeper, it could be a problem.

Overall, I would stay here again since it was a nice place to crash for the night and to have a great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were staying in Talkeetna, so made a point of having breakfast here. Very traditional, family style seating so you meet interesting people. We met a couple who had just come down from the mountain - they'd done it in 12 days up, 2 down, which we have since heard is phenomenal!

Good food, good portion size. Sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

All the positive reviews are true. It is like being in someone's home. Trish is wonderful-- a great hostess. Food is plentiful and good. Comfort food. The restaurant is loved by locals and visitors. The room is cozy. Share a nice bathroom with amenities. Even the conductor and the engineer on the train said it is the real Alaska. Trish, the owner knows everyone in town and knows the hours of all the activities. Free train pickup and drop off. She even helped the couple behind me order food from a nearby restaurant when train check-in was slow and they wouldn't be able to eat. She called a competing nearby restaurant and their meal was ready for pickup. They weren't even her guests. Yes, there is some noise from downstairs, but the restaurant closes at nine--in the summer no one is asleep before that. Cozy, friendly and complimentary coffee and tea. I am going back in August. Right in the center of town. One of best values in Alaska

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girdwood, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I made a room reservation with the assumption that my boyfriend and I would have a relaxing and a quiet place to rest over our Valentine's Day weekend. When I made the reservation, it was not mentioned to me that our room shared an extremely thin wall with the main lobby and was located next to the public showers and laundry machines. Hence I was not able to take a nap or sleep through the night even. Every time someone entered the establishment, I could hear the door slam from inside my room. "Quiet hours" in the lobby are from 10pm to 8 pm, which were not enforced, and I spent my night listening to an unruly toddler screaming and running up and down the hall past my room and the lobby. Furthermore, when my boyfriend and I each separately commented on the noise issue, the receptionist was unapologetic and made no attempt to remedy the situation besides offering us ear plugs. Last but not least, the bed was terribly saggy and creaky; offering no support but rather a morning backache. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealityCheckChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,008 reviews
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
5.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Property: Talkeetna Roadhouse
Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing