We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Everywhere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 17 February 2007

This place was lovely. The room was basic but furnished cutely. The bathroom had a wonderful large tub with bubble bath to use. There was a common room which had books, couches and a fireplace which made it feel very homely. They also have a bakery attached which served yummy soup. All the staff there where very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdChisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    99
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
106
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkeley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Our family spent two days at Talkeetna Roadhouse in July and could not have been more delighted with the experience. The rooms were adorable...with wonderful period antiques. The place is renowned and exudes all of the charm of its long history as a climbers gathering spot and stop over for fantastic baked goods and home cooked breakfasts. It is definitely funky, so if funky, or a bit Bohemian is not to one's liking...it might not be the right fit. But for us the Roadhouse was sublime.

We wished the hotel staff could have been a tiny bit more personal and involved with guests staying there. We felt a bit unnoticed with everything else going on.

Talkeetna Roadhouse is, nonetheless, an Alaskan gem--not to be missed at least for a meal!!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank salita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2006

We stopped in for breakfast on our way to Denali and was advised by a lady in one of the nice souvenir shops to order a half-order for breakfast. Boy, was she right. The food was excellent and so plentiful for the money. I can't imagine anyone can actually finish a whole order of anything here. Breakfasts include juice and coffee. We ordered a cinnamon roll too since we heard they were so good. It's true! They have daily specials and on Sunday it was a raspberry and walnut hotcake. It filled the entire plate with lots of nuts and big, juicy berries cooked right in. The reindeer sausage and eggs were good too. Quaint setting with climbing memorabilia, maps and flags. Sitting family-style at tables for 8, allowed us to converse with some nice folks who were visiting from Anchorage. Warm and cozy, old place, fast, friendly service. We would definitely return to this town and this restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2005

We spent a month traveling throughout Alaska and the Talkeetna roadhouse was the best value that we found at $60 per night for three. The inn was clean, comfortable and conveniently located in center of town (such as it is). Our room did not have an individual bath, but there seemed to be an adequate number of shared bathrooms that there was never a wait, nor was there a sense of overuse. We enjoyed talking to other guests in the lobby room, which also has a television with movies for children. It is unfortunate that Talkeetna is just beyond driving distance for day trips into Denali national park, because the Roadhouse is a far better deal than anything we were able to find there. The roadhouse has a bakery with great pastries. The breakfast (not included in the price) was good, but the portions were far too large (the "short stack" of pancakes was so large as to be unappetizing). Good coffee as well. Don't miss Talkeetna (and the flightseeing, which is a worthwhile splurge) and try to stay at the Roadhouse.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank servoz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
278 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2005

Stayed here two nights in June 2005. Rooms were small and cozy. Extra blankets and pillows available. Rooms upstairs were cute with a cabin look, rooms downstairs not so cute. Smell of bakery always in the air. Right in town, so easy access to all areas. Pizza parlor across the street very yummy. Breakfast at roadhouse was okay, nothing to write home about. Cinnamon rolls were good, a bit messy. Internet computer available downstairs to all guests. Bathroom access not always accomodating to my hubby, but he survived. Three rooms share one bath upstairs. Rooms and bath were clean. No maid service, fresh towels delivered each day.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobkatevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, Ca.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2004

This Roadhouse id close to 100 years old though it has some updated ammenities.
The rooms are very small but also reasonable at $63.00 a night. We stayed in Room 2 and all rooms have a shared bath, something to keep in mind.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was SENSATIONAL! We tried a couple of homemade pies, blue and blackberry extremely thick in fruit and awesome! Their homemade cinnamon rolls are outstanding and huge! The sourdough pancakes are so large they overflow off your plate, I can go on forever here... This is not the Hilton, it is a step back in time, very rustic and relaxed. We sat out in back on the porch in the evening with drinks and watched the locals go by.
Very small town, nice people, nice place to visit, watch out for the MOOSEquito's!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1Travelingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2004

I stayed at the Talkeetna Roadhouse in July 2004. If you are looking for a fancy hotel with people greeting you at the front door to carry your bags, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great, rustic, homey place to stay, then Talkeetna Roadhouse is the place to be.

Nights can be spent with other travellers in the downstairs "living room area" playing cards and games, listening to music, or just relaxing with your favorite beverage.

My only beef was that the window shades were a wee-bit thin and let a lot of the midnight sun through. But it's nothing that can be fixed by hanging up a few towels over the window.

Bottom line......the price was right, the food was great, and the staff was wonderful. Next time I'm in Talkeetna I'm definitely staying at the Roadhouse!

  • Stayed July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BosoxBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
248 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Property: Talkeetna Roadhouse
Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing