We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Town Noisy Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talkeetna Camper Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Well we wished we stayed elsewhere, the only positive was the Managers welcoming of us on arrival.Sites not very private as we were led to believe, We had a full hook up and all worked well. Wifi you had to go outside of the office area to get fair coverage, obviously everyone knows where the hot spot is as 4 cars and 2 walk ups happily joined in and of course slowed it down for everyone who paid for a site,Having young uncontrollable kids running and high pitch screaming at 10.30pm at night with no one parents or managers doing anything about it, my wife found the parents and asked them kindly to control there kids which eventually they did. Road noise,Train noise and kid noise just too noisy and don't recommend for anyone who is looking for somewhere quiet.We stayed in a motorhome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Noreen and Trevor made this trip very special. They we here very accommodating in our requests and went way beyond to help us out. We requested a full hook up and one was saved and we arrived around 4:30pm. But we asked for something a little away from the road and Trevor walked us out to look to see what we liked. Second day a better one opened up with full hook ups and they graciously moved us would not take the cost difference back. After our life changing flight at TAT we asked to leave early and again they took care of us with a refund. They Suggested a camp ground north of here we would like. They are great people and one of the highlights of the 2 week trip. The camper park is right in front of the train station nested behind and adjacent to the airport . The noise from this and road seemed like it could an issue but was not at all. Close to town and one of the don't miss places of the state. Great wifi and could watch Netflix if your close enough to the main building. No open fires of the ground and fire pits and BBQ are ok though. The convenience of being in town is the selling point here. The showers are very clean and great. Again the convince of being right here justifies the cost. The place for a full service rv park in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank fact51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed one night on our way up to Denali. This was our first outing as a family camping and in a RV. The campsites are private (which is hard to come by in Alaska), we had a 32 ft RV and had plenty of room for the slide out, chairs, and table. The bathrooms, including showers are private and super clean. There is a charge for the shower use, but well worth having the larger stall than the RV. The laundry facilities are also clean and reasonably priced. The Alaska railroad does run along the back of the campground but there were no issues with noise. They also offer free wifi. The owners are on-site and very helpful with recommendations on what to do. The campground is apps 2 1/2 hours from Anchorage and the same timeframe to get up to Denali. A great place to stop and get settled after picking up your RV.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelB296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We got the last spot on a busy afternoon in Talkeetna...not really scenic, but it had everything we needed and a great family bath with hot shower. They had super suggestions for restaurants and we rode our bikes everywhere. The staff was friendly, helpful and the next day offered a free spot to park until we were ready to leave. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a small, tight campground which we expected in such a high traffic tourist area. However, even though we drive a 45' motorhome, we were able to negotiate the campground without any issues. It is adjacent to the Alaska Railroad depot which was interesting and caused little problem with noise (although, we were certainly aware of the trains coming and going). It is a park that requires reservations in the summer due to the high traffic. The campground hosts Trevor and Noreen, were simply terrific with excellent and helpful local knowledge of the Talkeetna area and various venues that we might sample. Their cheerful and able assistance made our visit to Talkeetna simply a marvelous and memorable visit.

We would stay there again and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

When we arrived I told the women that we were having trouble with our motorhome. We had made reservations for three nights and I might have to change them too 2 nights. She told me her husband might be able to help me and offered if I needed only one night that she would do that. Her husband came over and we talked. He said to go ahead and set up your motorhome and then come and see us to make final arrangements. With the information that he had given me and talking with my wife we determined we would be able to stay for three nights and then be able to solve the problem with our motorhome. We would come back here in a heartbeat.

livetoride

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a week. It's the only camper park near Talkeetna that offers amenities, so it's booked solid all summer. There are some sites with full hookups, some with water and electric. Showers cost extra, but they are clean and well maintained. Laundry facilities available. Even though it's right near the train tracks, we were not disturbed by the noise. Walking distance to town. Hosts are extremely knowledgeable and willing to help.

Room Tip: Make your reservation online. Don't expect to just pull-in as spaces are assigned by reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.3 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
9.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
0.7 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Camper Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Camper Park

Address: 22763 S Talkeetna Spur, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned and operated RV camper park with 34 sites available, private showers, laundry facilities, RV dump station and a gift store. We do not have dry camping, tent sites, long term RV sites or cabins available. We are conveniently located 1/2 mile from downtown Talkeetna and all area activities. We are open May - September and we do recommend reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Camper Park Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing