We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bread you'll ever buy from an airstream.”
Review of Spinach Bread

Spinach Bread
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best bread you'll ever buy from an airstream.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Quirky downtown Talkeetna holds many gems, and the spinach bread place is one of the best. Recommended by top chefs, this bread must be experienced to be believed. Get a slice to nosh on as you wander down main street, but think twice about sharing -- it's that good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharonInAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I not only enjoyed the spinach bread. Loved the Brazilian limeade and berry crumble. It was just he right snack between activities. Really liked the air stream.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Food in Talkeetna”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stopped at Spinach Bread as soon as we got to town. We were hungry. We shared a spinach bread, the special of the day, a dal served over rice. It was fresh and tasty, and I really appreciatd the vegetarian (and potentially vegan) items. It was the best food we had in Talkeetna.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank swellecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and kids loved it”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Like most vacations with kids, your menu can get limited quickly. How many burgers and chicken tenders can you eat? outside of the pub food, there is an interesting choice in Spinach Bread, even with a small menu. The Spinach Bread itself was excellent, their homemade Lime drink was nice and we had their special of the day (a mixture of black beans, rice and toppings) which was really good as well.

Also tried the desert and it was equally tasty.

There are a couple of tables in the nearby patio of one of the stores that you can sit at comfortably and enjoy the food.

It was a great change of pace from the restaurants of Denali and in the small town itself. I don't think they were open for dinner, but was a great lunch spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good fresh fast food.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a quick and filling snack in downtown Talkeetna. The bread was good (not amazing) but definitely fresh and tasty. I enjoyed sitting on a bench while eating so I could watch the locals and tourists walking through town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Spinach Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing