We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. Comfortable stay.”
Review of Talkeetna Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talkeetna Cabins
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice location. Comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Talkeetna cabins provided the perfect accommodations for our brief stay in Talkeetna. Nice kitchen area with basic cookware for preparing your own meals. A living space for relaxing and comfortable beds in the loft. A small front porch with a couple of chairs for enjoying the midnight sun. Great restaurant options are only a short block away. Wish we were able to stay more than 1 night!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank infoninja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I loved this "hotel". We stayed at quite a few hotels in Alaska and by far this was the best. The cabins are spacious and conveniently located. Everything is within 2 blocks. The owner was very helpful too. I asked him where I could buy AA batteries and he gave me 4 new ones..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrnelson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We have stayed at Talkeetna Cabins many times and keep coming back! They are always clean,quaint, very well maintained and well furnished... and right in quaint downtown Talkeetna. Comfy beds upstairs, all you need in the kitchen and living area downstairs and a few steps from an amazing breakfast across the street at the Talkeetna Roadhouse. A great experience for us and our family that we return for again and again. :D

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homerinnandspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We did a last minute trip to talkeetna to get away from anchorage and this was the perfect getaway cabins more than plenty of room for me my husband and our two small kids . They even gave us a military discount when we got there . It was more than I expect . It was amazing ! Free wifi , satalite tv , 2 full beds a twin and a pullout couch and a full kitchen ! We will be coming back in the summer during tourist seasons when a lot more of the shops are open, and we will be staying here again definatly

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Talkeetna Cabins were a great place to stay, as part of the Alaska Railroad reservation services. I booked the Aurora Weekend Trip to Talkeetna from Anchorage, and left all the decision-making to the Alaska Railroad. I could not have been happier with the experience! I stayed in Cabin 1, if you face the cabins, the first on the left. Comparing to other's summer pictures, I can't believe the difference! There was a new blanket of snow from the previous week, so the path to the cabins was shoveled.

The cabins were spacious and rustic. There were plenty of towels and kitchen supplies. Had I stayed longer, I would have taken advantage of the kitchen (microwave, minifridge, cooktop, tableware). The heater was ample, and the upstairs sleeping loft stayed nice and warm at night.

Peg, the owner, picked me up along with two other families at the train depot, got us checked in and oriented, and even checked on where we might find live music that night at the Roadhouse and the Fairview Inn. They do request that shoes be removed, and seeing the amount of snow and slush, this is perfectly understandable!

There is Wi-Fi and satellite TV available. The rooms were absolutely clean, and the showers had plenty of hot water for me. They do have a sign that advises folks to plan on hot water use for more than two showers due to the tank size. I was very happy with the set up and with how close it was to Main Street and shops and restaurants. Cabin 1 adjoins with Cabin 2, and I didn't hear my neighbors at all during my stay.

There was the last of a Discovery Channel film crew staying in Cabin 3, wrapping up production. They had used the Talkeetna Cabins as their headquarter working on a special about the Alaska Railroad all winter.

Upon departure, Peg's daughter gave us a ride to the depot. It was very close, but because of the icy roads, driving was safer. It was nice to chat with Peg's daughter, who said in the summer they have "traffic jams" from one end of Main Street to the end! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would book there again!

Room Tip: Cabin 1 by the street was fine in mid-April. I got to watch the neighbors across the street bring an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrldTrvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Pros:
- spacious cabins with a sitting area, bedroom, bathroom and mini kitchen
- close to restaurants and cafes
- owner was helpful; she picked us up from where we got off our bus and took us to the flightseeing office at the airstrip

Cons
- none in particular

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilanshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our time spent in Talkeetna was perfect only because we stayed at Talkeetna Cabins. The owners, Peg & Kevin, are very friendly and accommodating. The log cabin is everything we thought a log cabin would be; quaint, cozy, quiet. Centrally located right off main street, it is the perfect place to stay and still be in the mix of things. The thing that topped our stay was the fact it snowed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMBusnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
1.3 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
291 reviews
3.5 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
262 reviews
5.3 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Cabins

Property: Talkeetna Cabins
Address: 22137 C Street, Downtown, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful spacious log cabins built by the owners for comfort and pleasure. All of the cabins have complete kitchens, living rooms with Dish TV, wireless, private bathrooms. Normal stairs lead up to the bedroom area which has queen size beds. If you are looking for clean and relaxation come and enjoy Talkeetna Cabins. There is also an on site laundry area and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Cabins Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing