We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Alaska”
Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #3 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Best B&B in Alaska”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I don't know where to begin saying how much we enjoyed our stay in Talkeetna. Actually, I do. The great stay there began when we discovered the Talkeetna Chalet. Dave & Andi are awesome hosts and their property is exquisite: clean, well kept and comfy, with computer and wifi services. My sister and her husb, and my brother & his wife & grandson stayed in the new cabins Dave & Andi built down the hill from the B&B. They were equally well-decorated and contained all the comforts of home, just like the B&B. We were there over the solstice, but sleep wasn't a problem with the room-darkening shades. And the best part of all - we saw Denali from their huge dining room windows three of the four days we were there! Breakfast was a treat every morning, and when we needed help deciding what to do in the area, Andi knew exactly how to get us the information we needed. If you stay anywhere near Talkeetna, Alaska, do yourself a favor and stay at this top notch facility. Thanks, Dave & Andi. You're the best!!

Room Tip: I mistakenly rated a swimming pool that doesn't exist. They have a whirlpool, but we were too b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CShuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
140
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Though they have a hot tub, we did not use it. But we saw a moose as we were driving from the property.

Please do visit them. The food is great. The folks have 2 little cabins on property and several lovely rooms in the main house. No mosquitos in the rooms! Yeah.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite, pay a little more. Also view the Denali video they have, it gives you good ideas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband & I stayed one night at the Talkeetna Chalet B&B in July 2012. We enjoyed our accommodations very much, and the innkeepers, Andi & Dave were open, honest, friendly folks. We didn't know anything about the town beforehand, choosing Talkeetna as simply a stopping point between Anchorage & Denali NP, so we were pleasantly surprised to find such a quirky, artsy town. The B&B is a couple of miles before you get to "downtown", but that was just a quick drive. It would've been a delightful bike ride, had there been any good bikes to rent. There's a bike path the entire length of the Talkeetna spur road, and many locals cycle to and from town.

The view from the Chalet is gorgeous, and the bird feeders keep you entertained throughout breakfast, which was delicious, with plenty for everyone. We can highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We recently spent one night with our family. We had 2 rooms. One for my wife and I and one for our teenagers. The beds were very comfy and the bathrooms were newly rehabbed. The upper floor had a great living room overlooking the grounds. Outside the windows were bird feeders. We were able to see some beautiful birds feeding. They also had a jacuzzi in the front yard. When I tried it, the water was nice and hot and the air was nice and cool with a light drizzle. You heard the breeze in the trees and the birds chirping away. Sooooo relaxing. The comfy robes they provided came in very handy on the walk back to the room.We had to leave early in the morning so we were not able to enjoy a hot breakfast, but Andrea was so nice to pack us a breakfast. I would highly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schratner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Great place!!! Fantastic breakfast. Every place the owners suggested that we go for dinner or coffe was top notch. Would love to go back for the northern lights. Only stayed 2 nights but could have stayed a week, even in the smallest room. Andy made wonderful breakfasts both mornings and even started early so we could catch an early flight to the glacier. Cookies or brownies in the afternoon, how can you go wrong?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed in the cabin separate from the B&B and it was very cute and comfortable. It was nice to be out in the woods, but only a short drive to town. The only thing we did not realize was that the full breakfast was an additional charge if you don't stay in the main house(we ended up going to talkeetna roadhouse for breakfast and the cinnamon roll was delicious). The cabins do not have internet, but you can go up to the main house to use it. Andrea was very friendly and we definitely enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariposa1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We enjoyed staying in a cabin at the Talkeetna Chalet on 7/8/12. The accomodations were great, clean and very comfortable. We were able to go to the main house to enjoy the living room, dining room and lovely view and internet was accessable. Our breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed visiting with Andrea and Dave. Thanks for a very nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJL9255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,008 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.1 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Property: Talkeetna Chalet
Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style, in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing