We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in new wood cabin”
Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #3 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We were delighted with our stay here. Dave and Andi built these cabins themselves, and everything used is very good quality. It was like staying in a new house - everything was shiny new and clean. The aroma of spruce wood was the best part of our stay. Andi took care to make the bed for my 4-yr old too since we were coming in late (driving straight from Anchorage). Wonderful hospitality and care. The hot breakfast in the main house was very satisfying. If we stay in Talkeetna again, we will definitely stay with Dave and Andi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamataDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Talkeetna Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

This B&B really exceeded my expectations. The quality was top notch, the accommodations were so comfortable and attractive, the breakfast was delicious, and the owner was so welcoming. We were there one night. She had lots of good advice for us and was very flexible. The views from her living room and decks are fantastic and you are close to the town of Talkeetna. She had good recommendations of other things to do in the area. If I had time, I could have easily relaxed here for another day or two.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed with our in-laws in the two new cabins detached from the main chalet. They were very clean and comfortable and we wished we could stay longer. Our hosts in the main house were entirely charming and engaging and we were very happy to be there. Breakfast was superb. We didn't get to see Denali from the spectacular picture window because of clouds, but the area immediately around the chalet is gorgeous and was, itself, a lovely view. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A wonderful B&B a few miles outside of Talkeetna. Very modern, each room excellently equipped, and most pleasant hosts. We didn't have a map of Talkeetna (which admittedly isn't a big place) but luckily the GPS found the place off the main road. It's a short drive into town and they were most helpful suggesting restaurants for dinner, breakfast was full, delicious and satisfying. Definitely would recommend,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This B&B is set in a beautiful location in the woods with the main house and two additional cabins. The rooms are large with private bathrooms. A huge breakfast is served with fruit, eggs, meat, pancakes or French toast, juice, and coffee/tea. The couple that owns this property goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and "at home".

Room Tip: Denali suite is very comfortable with a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaM908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of our week-long Alaskan adventure and it was by far our favorite spot. We booked a night in Talkeetna at the last minute after spending time in Denali National Park. Thankfully a room in the main house was still available (Mountain Whispers). Andi and Dave are excellent hosts. The property is beautiful, located a few miles from Talkeetna's Main Street with incredible views of Mt. McKinley. We preferred the secluded spot and really wished we could have stayed longer. Everything about this place was perfect. We certainly hope to be back!

Room Tip: Mountain Whispers room with private bath and separate outside entrance was perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtpettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, and Andi and Dave are great hosts! This place is a great value since the breakfasts are included when staying in the main house and are very good too.

This place has several rooms and we had the Mountain Whispers one. That fit our family of 4 Ok, since it has a fold out futon for the young kids.

The first floor has a computer, plus there is wifi available on the property. The 2nd floor commons area has a large TV and big picture windows that you can see the Denali peaks from. There is also a hot tub outside that you can use.

We felt comfortable here, and the other guests were all pleasant during our stay. Andi and Dave were very helpful with info on things to do and see, and Dave even helped inflate a flat tire we had in our rental car!

It is located a few miles prior to the main Talkeetna town strip, and the house sits up on a hill so there is good viewing from the deck and the 2nd floor commons area.

We would definitely come back if ever in the Talkeetna area again in the future. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyVacationsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,082 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
277 reviews
3.7 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £73 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style, in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing