We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming decor and great hospitality”
Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #3 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maui
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming decor and great hospitality”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our first visit to Talkeetna and it was winter so we were not sure what to expect. This B&B turned out to be a real blessing. The décor is very well done with terrific views of Denali and more and lots of thoughtful details. The breakfasts were ample and delicious. But most of all the hosts were so gracious and went above and beyond helping us Hawaiians deal with the snow and ice. They hooked us up with a dogsled ride which was great fun. The little town of Talkeetna was full of cute little shops, restaurants and cozy brew pubs. All in all a great two night stay!

Room Tip: rooms in the main house or separate cabins. We stayed in the house and were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Andi and Dave are great hosts. My husband and I cannot wait to return. We stayed in the first cabin, it had more amenities than we expected and was very clean.Andi and Dave gave us directions to some beautiful local trails. It was a perfect getaway from our busy lives.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Akseashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed with Dave and Andi for 2 nights in September 2013. Their home is absolutly beautiful and the breakfasts were great. Andi went the extra mile when our rental car broke down in town. She helped us find a mechanic, picked us up in town, dropped us at a restaurant for dinner, then came back for us when we were done eating. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
477 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is our fourth stay at the Talkeetna Chalet. We keep coming back because it is an excellent location to see Denali, the owners are excellent hosts, and they welcome you into their home. Not that breakfast is the reason that we stay, but breakfast is also excellent. If you want a place to stay in Talkeetna, this should be your first choice.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, each room is unique, and they are all excellent. Our preference is the Dena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights on our last trip to Alaska. This has to be the nicest B&B we've stayed at in Alaska and if I ever find myself in the Talkeetna area, this is where I'll stay. The house is spotless and everything looks brand new and well maintained. On arriving we were warmly greeted by Dave and given a full tour and provided with all the details. The bottom floor has 3 rooms and a small sitting area with desk and computer. The main living area one floor up is huge with windows on three sides and views of the forest and mountains in the distance. Quite spectacular! A telescope is set up too. There is a large table for breakfast and an overflow table off the kitchen. Bird feeders are placed on 2 of the windows so you can watch the birds feeding all day long. Outside is a hot tub. That has to be something, especially if the northern lights are out.

Our room was very comfortable and was on the bottom floor of the house. There was a satellite TV and small refrigerator. We had lots of space, even in the bathroom. So many B&Bs have pedestal sinks with no room for toiletries; this place had a vessel sink with full granite counter so we had space for all our things. We had a shower and tub in the bath; the tub was a jacuzzi and 2 different bath salts were provided. Two bath robes were on the back of the door. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

Breakfast was a buffet. We had fresh strawberries and blueberries, yoghurt and granola, bacon, and a selection of cereals, bagels and muffins every day. And juice, coffee and tea of course. One day we had eggs, one day pancakes. I really enjoyed the food.

The owners are friendly and gracious. I truly felt welcome. Often when we returned from town in the afternoon (a 10 minute drive) we sat in the living room and reviewed our emails and read magazines. It was so peaceful, and with the leaves turning color and the mountains in the distance, the vistas were beautiful.

I am glad we visited Talkeetna so late in September, after the large hotels were closed for the season, otherwise I never would have found this gem. I just wish I had seen the northern lights...I may have to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Dave and Andie are gracious and skilled innkeepers. Just completed a six day stay at the Talkeetna Chaley and could not have been more pleased. A comfortable bed and breakfast that felt just like home. And the daily breakfast offerings were great. Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully furnished. If we choose to visit the Talkeetna area in the future, we will definitely do everything in our power to book a stay at this bed and breakfast. Due to weather conditions, we chose to stay in the main house. However, we would not hesitate to book a stay in one of the cabins in the future. Thank you Dave and Andie for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A ways out of town, so especially calm and serence. Our cabin was clean and cosy and Andi was helpful at pointing out nearby places to hike on a gorgeous fall day. She also told us about a beer festival in town which helped us avoid the noise of it. Great breakfast and this will become a for-sure favorite of ours. We even borrowed movies from their good collection and enjoyed hikes, movies, happiness!

Room Tip: We stayed in Birch Cabin and loved it. A nice kitchenette though we ate out and wouldn't have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecconAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
901 reviews
3.1 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
251 reviews
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Property: Talkeetna Chalet
Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style, in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing