We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place was one of the highlights of our trip to Alaska. We will we had stayed here longer. Dave was a wonderful host! We stayed in one of the cabins. The cabin was new, nicely decorated and was VERY clean and comfortable. It had every amenity we could have asked for (toiletries, hot tub, bug spray, games, DVDs, guide books, weather forecast, and much more!). It was a short walk up to the house for breakfast each morning with juice, coffee, great breakfast selections, and it was all delicious! They always had some fresh cookies and drinks available during the day too. The view of Mt. McKinley from the breakfast area was magnificent! We would like to make it back some day to see the Northern lights and the Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast will for sure be the place that we stay! If you let Dave know if you want to be woken up to see wildlife, he will let you know. A female moose and 2 calves walked around our cabins.

Room Tip: The cabins were a great get away, but the rooms up at the house would work great too. The cabins giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmbbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Our 2 night stay at Talkeetna Chalet was a highlight of our trip. The owners moved to Alaska from Texas & brought their hospitality and friendliness with them. We stayed in one of the cabins down the hill from the Chalet. Although we had a kitchen in the cabin, we always went up for the delicious breakfasts and great views of Denali from the house. We came on the train & Dave was wonderful to help us get around Talkeetna. He was very helpful. We loved our stay & highly recommend Talkeetna Chalet. Only word of warning is don't stay in the cabins unless you can walk approximately 100 yards up the hill to the house or you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

WOW...incredible view of Denali (Mt. McKinley).

Waited for sunset at 11:40pm for amazing view of the full mountain.

Dave has set up breakfast/common area so all can enjoy magnificent views from the picture windows.

First class accommodations, we stayed in the Denali suite. Nice book and video library for guest use.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Best in area. Will stay again when we return to area

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WiGuy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was by far our favorite place to stay during our 8 day trip to Alaska...we started here, then went to Seward, Homer, and Anchorage. Hosts are so friendly and nice to talk to and even accommodated us when we had an early morning and couldn't join them for breakfast (bought us "to go" items for breakfast with homemade muffins as well). Loved the decor and warmth of the house and the views from the deck are amazing...got a peak at Mt. McKinley's summit when the clouds parted too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wir haben hier zwei Nächte auf unserer Hochzeitsreise verbracht. Ein grandioses B&B mit sehr netten Gastgebern, tollen Zimmern und sehr schmackhaftem Frühstück. Würden wir jederzeit wieder buchen - vermutlich besser als jedes Hotel in Talkeetna! Das Chalet war vermutlich eine der schönsten Unterkünfte auf unserer Reise durch Alaska.

We spent two nights in Talkeetna at this cute B&B on our honeymoon. We can just recommend this little jewel. Nice rooms, perfect hosts and yummy breakfast! Not to talk about the garden and the surroundings. It is just perfect to wake up to the smell of fresh waffles and bacon! (Andi, in English as well - as we promised!)

Room Tip: Denali Suite - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathalieB681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins. Short walk up to the house for a great breakfast and view of the mountain. Very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Cabin was spacious (lot's of room) and many amenities. So many great touches that make our visit very memorable! We wish we had more time to spend here. Definitely recommend as a place to stay and if we ever make it back in this area again it will be on the top of our list! Dave and his staff were wonderful! He is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

It reminded us of chalets we visited in Germany. On the inside, it was decorated so nicely. We stayed in the Denali suite and loved every minute. The bathroom was outstanding.
On the second floor, the dining room a lounge area was so beautiful and inviting. The room is surrounded by windows so you feel like you are in a tree house.
The breakfast was so delicious and ample to start the day. We loved visiting with one of the owners, Andi.
Our only complaint was we found it after we had already reserved another B & B and only had one night there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.5 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Property: Talkeetna Chalet
Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing