We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay here!”
Review of Talkeetna Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talkeetna Chalet
Ranked #3 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean and well appointed rooms and cabins, beautiful views, quiet/wooded area yet close to Talkeetna. The hosts' hospitality is superb and their knowledge of the region and assistance in planning local activities was greatly appreciated. We'll recommend it to all who venture into Alaska!

Room Tip: The cabins are beautiful but all the rooms are clean and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here one night in one of the cabins. The owners (from texas) are very nice people and very helful.. The place is very clean and very quiet has everything you need - just a short drive into talkeetna. We highly recommend this b&b. Ken and elaine from california

Room Tip: Cabin was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had two one night stays here, on our way up to Fairbanks and on the way back. Without doubt our favourite stop in the two weeks we spent in Alaska.

Owners are extremely welcoming, ensuring that all needs are met, without being intrusive. Our room was in excellent condition and beautifully decorated. This extended to the property in general.

The upstairs communal sitting and breakfast area provided superb views of Mt McKinley. Quality tea and coffees were available all day to help refresh you when needed. Additionally platefuls of home-made cookies and muffins were left for enjoyment as well. Chilled lemon water was also a nice touch.

This area also housed the breakfast room. Breakfast was perhaps one of the most enjoyable aspects of our stay. The expected muesli, yogurts, berries and bagels etc were accompanied by freshly prepared hot dishes, which varied daily. These were prepared lovingly in the kitchen by a young lady (sorry forgot her name!) using her flair, imagination and anything available from the garden. A real first class quality breakfast. This was augmented by the chance to chat to the other guests while dining. It made for a relaxed and informal atmosphere discussing where others had been and picking up tips along the way.

It was difficult to fault anything about our stay here. If I want to be picky, then its location is about three miles out of town. But then the location and views are part of its attraction. The drive into town only takes a few minutes, but did mean one of us avoiding drinking when dining at night. A small price to pay.

The property is very easy to find, despite being set back off the main road. One tip, when travelling towards Talkeetna, if you pass the Flying Squirrel café on the right, you have just missed the turning on the left.

Our only regret about staying, was not having longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bed and Breakfast always sounds inviting but this one has been one of a kind for us! My husband and I stayed over for a night here and it sure was memorable! Dave was so so kind and picked us up from the Train Depot and dropped us off for dinner as well (since we didn't have a car with us)! Hospitality at its best! Lovely cabin - built by Dave (the story of how they got to Alaska is fab to listen to ;)) - The cabin was SO comfortable with everything you ever need in there! The breakfast next morning was delicious! The people were very warm and kind! Enjoyed our stay here! Talkeetna was beautiful and so was our stay at this place! Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is how a bed and breakfast should be run! Clean, inviting, fresh flowers, home made cookies ... I could go on and on. The mountain view was outstanding from the living room and the wrap around deck. Rooms were very clean in cabin and at main house. Beds were comfortable, hot tub was inviting, and breakfast was delicious! Staff was extremely nice ! We would highly recommend !!!!! The two rooms (one in a cabin and one in main house) we stayed in each had their own baths.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JoyLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 1 night on our way to Denali. Great functional cottage at the bottom of the hill from the chalet. Very clean, very functional. Nice to have the privacy. The cottages were built by the owners and relatively new. We loved the layout. The owners home/chalet was very large and open for use to those who stayed in it as well as those in the cottage. We didn't need it as the cottage had TV and Wi-Fi as well as other amenities.
Breakfast was Fabulous! The BEST French toast I've ever eaten made from local fresh whole grain bread - eggs, sausage yogurt which we learned is only available on the West Coast. I'm sure I'm missing something - but you don't want to miss it. Our hostess was warm and friendly and very accommodating.
Our two stays in Alaskan B'B's left us wanting more experiences like them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lond1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Heading back to Anchorage from Denali, we planned a stay @ Talkeetna Chalet and had a wonderful experience. It was a perfect stopping point on a rainy drive, and Dave and Andi were wonderful. The house is beautifully decorated, comfortable to be in and the room we stayed in looked great. The room we stayed in had a full size futon for our boys to sleep on, with all the best linens, towels, etc. The family room upstairs was comfortable, with huge windows to see wildlife and Mt. Mckinley, they even had a telescope for better viewing. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate (the only thing Andi & Dave couldn't control) but the pictures i've seen from other posts are wonderful. We made a request for Dave's famous pancakes and he didn't disappoint! Breakfast had a very nice selection and was more than enough to fill you up for whatever you had planned for the day. We had never stayed at a B&B with a family-style eating area, and the other guests were just as great and friendly. Overall, it was a great atmosphere to be in.

Andi & Dave were friendly and a joy to talk to, took care of everything we needed and provided great insight to the town. It was a place that truly felt like you were with family from when you walked in the door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
2.4 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
362 reviews
6.8 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#2 of 18 in Talkeetna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Chalet

Address: 26344 S. Wolf Track Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676 (Formerly Talkeetna Chalet Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £162 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy luxury...Alaskan Style, in your own private cabin. Nestled in a beautiful Boreal forest, our luxurious cabins will provide you with the peace and quiet you long for after a day of Alaska fun and Adventure! Cabins are beautifully decorated and have either a full kitchen or a kitchenette, full bathroom with shower, luxurious linens, satellite TV, private porch and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Talkeetna Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Chalet Bed And Breakfast
Talkeetna Chalet Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing