We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

West Rib Pub and Grill
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Casual lunch and dinner dining. Large deck overlooking central downtown. Bar and inside seating. Filled with Alaska memorabilia. Alaskan beers on Tap. FRESH Alaska seafood including Halibut, Pacific Salmon, Rock Snapper. Daily Special on Alaska Red King Crab. Great 1/2# Natural Angus Burgers. Housemade desserts and soups. Seafood chowder and Caribou chili made daily. Open late 7 days/week during summer.
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our tour guide mentioned this restaurant so we decided to give it a try. The crab legs were very reasonably priced and tasted great. We also had bacon wrapped reindeer medallions. My friend and I ordered different meals then shared. It was delicious and the service was amazingly quick. This is not a fancy restaurant but don't let that stop you! We did have a wait for the restrooms... but that happens.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    193
    74
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local place with amazing caribou”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience here. We just needed something quick between tours. This was just the right place. We sat at the bar and the bartender, who multitasks like a champ, was very friendly and helpful with the menu. We both decided on caribou, I had a burger and he had tacos. Everything was very good. Plus you have the hometown feel. Since this is attached to the local store, many locals were in. One even sang. Great place! Plus you may see mayor Stubbs!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good fried food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The 5 of us ate outside, good beer & wine selection, but I wish they had a full bar. I had the fried fish chunks and chips, it was good but I wish there had been more fish. The burgers and chicken sandwiches looked awesome! The outdoor seating was nice and, service was good, and the prices were comparable to the majority of places we ate at while in AK.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetooth989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
259 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place for King Crab at a Fare Price!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Grab a table outside if you can. Come dressed as you are, as everyone else is! Great service. Great King Crab legs, caribou burgers, chowder. A real Alaskan specialty menu. Must try!

Helpful?
Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish I had in AK”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a very low-key restaurant behind Nagley's general store. A bit run-down looking inside, and very casual on the patio where we ate. But the fish (salmon and halibut) was the best I had in AK. Perfectly and simply cooked. The waiter was friendly. After dinner, I found "the mayor", the sweet resident cat, and he sat on my lap for a while before we left.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Rib Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to West Rib Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing