We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bistro Grill- great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foraker Restaurant

Foraker Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Foraker has all the flare of big city dining without the dress code. Instead you'll find amazing Alaska cuisine, linen tablecloths, top notch service, and an award winning wine list. Enjoy dining in a quiet and intimate atmosphere while taking in unobstructed views of the Three Rivers, Denali and the Alaska Range. Our culinary creations have been featured on the Food Network, and we've been honored to receive Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" every year for the past decade.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bistro Grill- great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were lucky enough to spend a glorious evening on the deck of the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Bistro Grill. The menu had lots of variety on it, slightly spendy, but what place doesn't cost an arm & a leg in Alaska. The view from the deck of Denali & the Alaskan Range was spectacular and the beer was excellent. We just ate dinner there at the Bistro, because it is less expensive than the dinning room and you get that fantastic view. Food was good & plentiful but was not our favorite Talkeetna place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Over priced and lousy food. Hotel with a view. Tourist trap. Much better lodging for less in downtown Talkeetna

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place, a few tips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I'll preface this with I was in for business not pleasure.

In general the lodge itself is beautiful inside and out. The lodge has a beautiful view of the Alaskan Range from the back-deck provided the weather allows for such. The rooms are 'ok' - more rustic than modern. Service is great, food is good.

Pros:
-Radiant floor heating in rooms
-Food served at both facilities were tasty - good selections as well
-Beautiful back-deck views of Alaskan Range weather permitting
-Beautiful views from inside lodge weather permitting
-Big and Beautiful indoor fireplace
-A few trails (1-2 miles) for all ages
-Provides shuttle to and from town
-Friendly service

Cons:
-Catered food for conferences was just 'ok'. The meat and bread were frozen together and the other catered foods lacked flavor - I guess this is typical of catered food.
-Room did not have the typical literature of the lodge or the town for information to read. I think this was due to staying here a week after opening - I suggest giving a grace period for the lodge to work out kinks.
-Beds were slightly hard and uncomfortable.
-Gift Shop was small and had a limited selection of everything from nick-knacks to drinks/snacks
-Staff members were all from across the country (lower 48), so don't expect them to be able to tell you much about the town or Alaska. I would have liked to see more locals employed, I think they would be able to provide more genuine information.

Town: is small... but rustic and different if you are not used to 'rural' lifestyle. Many little gift shops that pretty much have the same type of nick-knacks. One place to try and buy is the chocolate shop... great! Denali Brewery has ok food. The pizza place next door has great big calzones.

I recommend the lodge for all tourists - however, if you're looking for the 'history' of Alaska or the town, the best is through tour guides or the locals in town - NOT LODGE STAFF.

For business meetings (etc) - I recommend, but know the catering is not the best.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AVILL907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent, Seasonal Beer Paired Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

For several years, I have wanted to attend the wine paired dinners offered pre/post tourist season (in May and Sept) at the lodge. Finally, we were able to do so, for their first beer paired dinner, which my husband loved, since he is a home-brewer (I ordered wine).

We were very pleased by the experience Service was highly professional (good job, Lauren), the view gorgeous, the dishes creative and attractive, and the beers interesting and well chosen.

No wonder these events sell out each season. There appeared to be about 120 people in the room, mostly locals or people who drove in from Anchorage and spent the night.

You can find a better description of the menu on the lodge's website, under special events.
But in general, the first course involved prosciutto wrapped duck and an arugula salad, the second course was shrimp on top of plantains, the third was elk shoulder in a mole sauce with wilted swiss chard and a crispy bit of potato, and the dessert was a vanilla and pecan bread pudding. I believe the cost was $95 per person, but we included a room, too.

I can't wait to go in September for the wine paired meal and I hope to make this a regular trip.

Great job

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food with a View!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We ate dinner and also had the breakfast bar in the Foraker Dining Hall. The seafood gumbo was excellent!!! Everything we got was great quality!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank oneofakindga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foraker Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Foraker Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing