We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner”
Review of Foraker Restaurant

Foraker Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Price range: US$15 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Foraker has all the flare of big city dining without the dress code. Instead you'll find amazing Alaska cuisine, linen tablecloths, top notch service, and an award winning wine list. Enjoy dining in a quiet and intimate atmosphere while taking in unobstructed views of the Three Rivers, Denali and the Alaska Range. Our culinary creations have been featured on the Food Network, and we've been honored to receive Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" every year for the past decade.
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Staff were consistently good and engaging, even though it was the end of the season. Excellent fish sandwich for lunch, good halibut special for dinner, and good choices for breakfast. View was impressive,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Hello,

We're excited to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! We value your opinion and appreciate the time you took to provide such wonderful feedback.

Thank you,
Taylor McBride
Food and Beverage Manager
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We had dinner and breakfast here. The paella was really good, the service good at dinner. Service was slow at breakfast and they really know how to screw up eggs. I guess you have to have them over hard.

Thank kleektours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Hello,

We appreciate the time you took to comment on your dining experience with us here at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed your dinner. We take all feedback seriously and hope your next trip is wonderful!

Thank you,
Taylor McBride
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

In the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, the big deal dining room is the Foraker. I'm told it has a great view of Mt Denali yet it was covered in clouds for our two meals. The lodge is on a bluff and has a bit of a view of some landscape.

One guy that was a stitch was one of the hosts, he was old as the hill but talked with charm and was interested in where you were from with honest feeling that was most engaging.

Our first meal was dinner; I can't recall what it was that I wanted but they were out of my first choice so I ended up ordering a pork chop. This thing came out with a heck of a big bone sticking out that made for an interesting presentation. It came on top of a lot of vegetables and starch with sauce. It was not bad but was not great.

Service was not outstanding and this is understandable as the lodge is only open maybe 4 months of the year so the help only gets hired/trained and they are gone.
Next day we had a breakfast buffet and it was OK but about what you might find at a Holiday Inn Express maybe.

Funny, the Base Camp Bistro, a lower cost dining room next door was a lot more crowded for dinner. We were told it had the same menu at a lower cost. I'm sure why we went to the Foraker beyond the point that we wanted a better experience; I'm not sure we got it. Our dinner was $93 pre-tip; b'fast buffet was $42 pre-tip. Alaska has higher cost for most anything.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smokeater55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and took the time to comment on your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Taylor McBride
Food and Beverage Manager
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

This restaurant would had had wonderful view of Denali if it hadn't been so cloudy. The food was fine but high priced for what you get. Our waiter was friendly and attentive.

Thank silverkryten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent visit to the lodge. I am happy to hear that you had friendly attentive service. Please come back and try to catch Mt. Denali once more!

Thank you,
Taylor McBride
Food and Beverage Manager
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

we ate breakfast 2 mornings here..the oatmeal is great! The kids liked the pancakes..the buffet looked good..but it is pricey

Thank alsace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Hello,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us for breakfast and the kids were happy also! We are very thankful you took your time to comment on your experience here at the Lodge.

Thank you,
Taylor McBride
Food and Beverage Manager
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foraker Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Foraker Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing