We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice when visiting Talkeetna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Susitna River Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What more could you want - reasonably private cabins, friendly staff, river setting, views of the Alaskan Range and a minute's drive from downtown Talkeetna. If they refreshed the mattresses and it would be five stars.

Room Tip: We were in cabin #3. This one seemed to have the best mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Tolerate pets, not welcoming at all. There are gates in place so your pet can't go upstairs. Rather tacky notes to clients left in rooms with heavy penalties for unwashed dishes. Just didn't feel comfortable there. We left early, sacrificing money already paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve_72412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We absolutely loved staying here!!! We had the cabin farthest from the lodge which was so cute and very clean. Beds were very comfortable, kids loved staying in the loft. The view was beautiful and the river was right in front of the cabins down a small path. There was a fox out and about while we were there. The kitchenette is well stocked with kitchen utensils, plates, cups, toaster etc. In the morning there was muffins, bagels, coffee and juice in the main room of the lodge. We sat on the couches inside and there are chairs on the huge front porch of the lodge as well to take in the lovely scenery. Would recommend this place to everyone!!!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are really nice and just a short walk to the main lodge on a pebble path with beautiful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My son and I stayed here in late spring during our trip thru Alaska. We were the only occupants of the main lodge and were given free range of the place. The lady we rented our room from was extremely pleasant and welcoming making sure we had everything we needed to make our stay memorable. Our room was very large and had every comfort one could need. There was a single large tv in the main room of the lodge that we watched in the evening when we weren't trying to see the aurora. The lodge is situated in the woods along the Susitna river so there is always something to watch. Its just a very short drive from downtown area but out far enough to ensure your privacy. I'd recommend anyone visiting the Talkeetna area to give this place a try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a view of the river and was one of the furthest from the great room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stopped in on a whim and wound up in a fantastic cabin right on the river. The kitchen was a pleasant surprise, being overly stocked with a toaster, crockpot, etc. Everything was clean and neat, and we borrowed several games from the main lodge to entertain us until the northern lights came out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at Susitna River Lodging early January 2014. Clean, Clean, Clean! As former Bed and Breakfast owners, we were so PLEASED! Darlene and Howard put their 'heart and souls' into this place and it shows!
Stayed in a suite in the main lodge. Had EVERYTHING imaginable you would need. Coffee was GREAT! Kitchenette stocked with even plastic wrap! Things you don't have with you when you are traveling on the train!!
The Bed in Suite #1 is like Heaven. We arrived after several days of travel and being exhausted. I could not get out of that bed. Just wanted to STAY there.
Darlene made sure we had transportation to wherever we needed to go! The Flying Squirrel Restaurant was AWESOME!
Beautiful view out our windows. Hope to return in the summer and see the river.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhughes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The highlight of an outstanding Alaska vacation. We stayed in the main lodge. It was clean, comfortable and had beautiful views of the river. The lodge is in a stunning location with spectacular views of Mount Hunter and Forraker and the Susitna river. The lady who took care of getting our room set up was very welcoming. I highly recommend this property if you are planning a visit to Talkeetna.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.6 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,094 reviews
9.6 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susitna River Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna River Lodging

Address: Talkeetna Spur Road, 13.5 Mile, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Susitna River Lodging....where the rivers and mountains meet. 13.5 mile Talkeetna Spur Road. Private cabins, deluxe suites, river and mountain views. 5 minute walk to historic Talkeetna. Open year round. 2 hours from Anchorage and 2 1/2 hours from Denali National Park. New unbelievable playground across the street. Two pet friendly cabins. All accommodations include full baths and kitchenettes. BBQ grills and supplies provided. We accept all major credit cards. Military discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Susitna River Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susitna River Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Susitna River Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing