We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
White Mountains of New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great new place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I don't give 5 star ratings so I would give this 4.5. Cabins are new and spotless beds comfortable, and they are large. Yes, you hear the plane staking off and landing and the trains rolling through but that didn't bother us. You do get a little light through the shades so bring eyeshades if you need it totally dark. Location is right on the am road, so you can walk to town but if you want a scenic view, go to the Alaskan lodge up the street. For comfort and function, this served us great. We just stopped for a night to break up the drive from Denali to Anchorage and to flight see. Great choice for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
173
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Denali Fireside Cabins are beautiful and well built, however, we found their rules to be a bit stifling. This lead to our stay not being as relaxing as it could have been.

When we checked in we were greeted with a list of house rules...No shoes or coolers allowed in the cabins. Want to enjoy a snack or drink in bed? Make sure to pull back the quilt so you don't soil it. Want to use the provided dishes in the kitchen area? Leave them as you found them otherwise you will be charged a $15 courtesy fee. I did leave a comment card for the owners expressing my displeasure with having to wash my own coffee cups the next morning and suggested if they didn't want folks to have coffee or make a snack not to provide a coffee maker or a microwave in the cabins. To their credit, they did contact me via phone and email. The owner (Mavis) explained that they didn't expect their guests to wash the dishes on the counter (two coffee cups in our cabin) but they simply didn't have the time to wash the dishes provided in the kitchen drawer (dishes, glasses cups - a handful of each). She thanked us for our feedback and said that they would put the sign regarding washing your dishes (see attached photo) in the dish drawer so future guests wouldn't be confused.

At check-in we asked about bringing our cooler into the cabin - we had taken the Hurricane Turn Train and the railroad encourages you to bring a cooler with snacks - and were told that the owners were concerned about coolers being dragged across their laminate wood floors. There is a small refrigerator in the cabin and we wanted to store our snacks there overnight. We ended up carrying things back and forth from the cooler to the fridge in order to comply with their rules. I can appreciate that they may have had a bad experience in the past however most people are responsible enough to clean up after themselves.

On a positive note, the cabins are a just a quick walk into town and we didn't find the train noise mentioned by other reviewers to be a problem. The cabins are bordered on one side by the main road and the other by the train tracks. They are clustered together but each unit has a bit of privacy. Also, we had a couple of quick requests later at night (10 pm) and the woman working at the front desk was happy to help and very friendly.

Overall beautiful cabins but the atmosphere is lacking. If you're not spending much time in your cabin these may be a good option for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveljunkie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhostsAlaska, Owner at Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We are sorry to hear that this guest did not feel she could relax as well as she would have liked.
Most of our guests are wonderful people who respect our property as if it were their own. Unfortunately it is the few that spoil it for the majority, and thus the need for a few common-sense requests.

In the past we have experienced damage by heavy coolers being pushed and pulled across our wood laminate floors, sinks full of dirty dishes left for our staff to clean, windows left wide open while the gas fireplace was left on, and stained quilts that needed to be discarded (these quilts are between $300 - $400 depending on size), etc.

The above simple requests go a long way in helping to keep our rates reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This a GREAT place to stay in Talkeetna. Walking distance to just about everything. We got there a little before 3 but were able to check in with Alicia. Loved the set up of the room with the living area off to one side/alcove. Made it easier when one of us got up early and wanted to read. Exceptionally clean and well maintained. We were also warned about the train but it only bothered us the one night. Were able to get extra coffee the next day so that we didn't have to keep going back and Alicia was just a angel about it. She was just so darn cheerful! Loved meeting her. The toilet acted up a bit but nothing where it couldn't be used. When we left, the manager (?) said he'd be sure to go in right then and take a look. Do not hesitate to book this place.

Green Features: Like most places nowadays, leave your towels hanging up if you don't need them replaced.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good wooden cabins, the fireplace was particularly good. The location was convenient although Talkeetna is a very small town. We were warned about the midnight train noise but it did not wake us up. The cabin looked well maintained and the service was good. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milestogoaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Staying at this place is like staying with family. They went out of their way to make everything perfect. The cabin suites are like new. Very clean and everything you need. This was much better than one on those big commercial lodges. Just a short walk into town. We will stay there again. Plenty of room for two couples traveling together.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LtColMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

M husband, my in-laws and I all stayed in the cabins mid May. Even though we had a late arrival(after 7p), they were accommodating. The manager greeted us with a smile and a warm welcome. She each of us to our cabins and gave us a quick tour of how everything works. The cabins were well built, beautiful and comfortable. When we couldn't figure out "Dish TV" at 10pm, Don, the owner came right over to show us how to work it. It definitely was a welcoming place. I only wish we had longer than 1 day to spend there. Debbie and Steve LaVallee

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

To any and all that need a moment of peace and wellness look no further than what Don & Mavis have to offer. I had driven to Talkeetna with a young lady that was in a accident and needed someone to return a rental car for her. We checked out the village and to my surprise and happiness Jessica checked me into a cabin here. Cleanliness, convenience and great detail make you feel instantly at home. When your driving by Denali Fireside dont just dream what it would be like .... live it! You will find very friendly staff also that go out of their way naturally to treat you the very best! Just what you deserve! God Bless the whole crew and thanks for all that you do! Wayne Wannamaker Whitehorse, Yukon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
10.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites

Property: Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Address: 22647 S Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denali Fireside is a new facility in Talkeetna offering suites or cabins that comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. Features include pillow top king and queen beds, kitchenettes (mini-fridge, microwave, coffee brewer, bar sink) gas fireplaces, satellite HDTVs, wireless internet and private covered deckswith log gliders. The structures are log/frame and the interiors are decorated in Alaskana decor, including cozy hand sewn quilts. New for 2010 - Our "Little Cabin in the Woods" located on 5 acres beside a small spring-fed pond, 3 miles from our lodge in Talkeetna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Fireside Cabins And Suites
Denali Fireside Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing