We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint & Cosy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint & Cosy”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in a suite as opposed to a cabin... Room 4. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and even walked us to our room to make sure everything was in order. The room itself was quite large, more room than we needed really but it was nice to have the extra space. It was well appointed and quite comfortable. You could hear the people in cabin next door but luckily for us they went to bed jot too late.

Location wise it was good for Talkeetna but there's not a lot in Talkeentna. You could walk round the town itself in 30 minutes to an hour and after that unless you're into the glacier flights, the ATV quad bike tours, hiking or the like there's not not much to do there.

We quite liked accommodation but not sure if we'd go back to the place again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. If we went back we'd opt for a cabin. There detached which make them quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    44
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
168
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights. Very comfortable, the owners are extremely nice and work very hard to meet your needs I was very comfortable. The cabin was charming and DirectTV was a bonus. I will definitely stay here next time I escape from Anchorage for the weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stilly, ok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The cabins were nice, but our well behaved 6 year old was clearly not welcome. Having reserved 3 rooms, we would have filled 3/4 of the fourplex and only bothered our own party but were asked to rent the more expensive cabin. When we arrived the 'baby' was to go to the cabin, but we were to make her sofa bed ourselves, yet the fourplex rooms had 2 beds and was better suited to our needs. I understand the noise problem and have no problem with the no shoes policy and a "noise travels" reminder would be fine, but our reception was frosty and not relaxing..

Having stayed at a 'no kids' cabin area in Bar Harbor, Maine pre-kid, I would rather just adopt that policy. Having paid in advance, well in advance, it's a bummer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyb616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourhostsAlaska, Owner at Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
This guest was informed of our policy regarding children in the suites when she booked eight months previous to her stay.
Despite this, she chose to stay with us . She knew the price difference ($20) as well as the unit arrangement (there are plenty of other accommodations in Talkeetna).

In order to provide a quiet atmosphere for our guests we do not put young children under the age of twelve in the suites, which have shared walls. Many young children are noisy and can disturb guests in adjoining rooms. It can also cause anxiety for the family with the child, as they may feel the need to be on guard regarding noise levels.

Her statement that "we would have filled 3/4 of the fourplex and only bothered our own party" does not ensure that the remaining party would not be disturbed. Also, if one member of the party needed to cancel their reservation, we could be left potentially with a noisy child which could disturb guests in two other units. (This has happened in the past - hence our policy.)

Regarding "having to make the sofa bed themselves", the sofa beds are pre-made with sheets. Extra blankets are in the units. Our manager always assures our guests that she is there for anything they need. If it was inconvenient to fold out the sofa bed, our manager would have been happy to do it for them.

We have many families that enjoy staying with us, including families with young children, and they are most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Cleanest, nicest cabins we had during our two week stay in Alaska!!! Our host was Alyshia, and she was just so welcoming, patient and just plain sweet!!! We would def recommend this to all our friends... Thank You for putting a little sunshine into all our rainy days!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Alisha (manager) and family, and Don and Mavis (owners). The cabins are nicely appointed and cozy, including gas fireplace. Screened windows are definitely appreciated due to the high mosquito population (pack your repellant!). The staff picked us up and brought us back to the train station. The cabins are just a brief walk from 'downtown' Talkeetna, where the restaurants and shops are, and across the railroad tracks from the local airfield where you can book McKinley flightseeing tours. Alisha and her husband had a campfire going that evening and we enjoyed sitting and chatting with them. Literally, the only thing missing were the s'mores. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived by train and were picked up at the station. The rooms are rustic, charming, clean and roomy. You can walk to "town" (3 blocks away). The train passes nearby; the whistle would raise the dead but it's part of the charm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hospitality. The staff of the Fireside Cabins met us at the train (and brought us back) with their truck, despite the fact it's pretty much in walking distance. They also gave us a little tour of the town. Cabins are newly decorated/renovated, large, clean. A great place to stay in Talkeetna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.4 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
5.0 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites

Property: Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Address: 22647 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denali Fireside is a new facility in Talkeetna offering suites or cabins that comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. Features include pillow top king and queen beds, kitchenettes (mini-fridge, microwave, coffee brewer, bar sink) gas fireplaces, satellite HDTVs, wireless internet and private covered deckswith log gliders. The structures are log/frame and the interiors are decorated in Alaskana decor, including cozy hand sewn quilts. New for 2010 - Our "Little Cabin in the Woods" located on 5 acres beside a small spring-fed pond, 3 miles from our lodge in Talkeetna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Fireside Cabins And Suites
Denali Fireside Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing