We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A true gem in Vaitape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Hill Lodge
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A true gem in Vaitape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the studios and loved it!!!

Gerard is a wonderful host, plenty of good advice, insider tips and friendly conversations.

If you're looking for something different than the large luxury hotels and want to feel safe and comfortable at about 90% discount from the rates of the big resorts in Bora Bora, this is for you!

Again, we loved it!!! Merci Gerard! R&K (les suisses!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Swissheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    48
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
127
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Stilts Bungalow - large bed, AC, kitchen and a beautiful veranda overlooking the lagoon. Gerard was great, very welcoming and helpful with recommendations on places to eat, things to do, etc. We used the free bikes to ride to Matira Beach and didn't quite enjoy the ride especially through Vaitape, which is a very crowded and dusty village. Overall, we had a good time at the pension, only wished we didn't have to go through Vaitape to reach the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bogdanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I realy like this place the nature all rond , very clean place, the personnel are very friendly the Wifi connection excellent and free, Mr, Gerald is lovely and friendly person, I did not have more money to pay an excursion, he payed for me until I comme back home , I am going to take all my family there in future, this is the good place to stay with family. not expensive,

Room Tip: the Studio is fantastic , you have avery thing include very nice kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fatna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 3 nights in Studio 1. Great space, the AC was a nice bonus. I found the mosquitos or no-seeums near the black sofa on the deck bothersome but my husband was not bothered at all. But I am usually a target for mosquitos. Some mosquito coils would do the trick.

Gerard is lovely. Never seemed bothered by our requests or questions. He had wonderful advice and recommendations. Our time on Bora Bora was short but he quickly arranged 2 tours for us. Gerard is an interesting man. I would enjoy getting to know him better. His dog Rapunzel is adorable.

The day we arrived, Gerard dropped off a huge papaya. It was delicious.

The property is close enough to walk to town and bicycles are available.

I almost got on the ferry to the airport with the room key still in my pocket. Felt bad about that. Sorry Gerard!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We so enjoyed our 8 days @ Sunset Hill Lodge! Gerard was a wealth of knowledge, a perfect host...great sense of humour and so wonderfully accommodating ( as was Rapunzel). Our studio was fantastic...great views with a constant breeze...excellent wifi connection. Gerard's recommendations always turned out well ... too many to list. If you are interested in buying quality pearls ask Gerard to direct you to Pierre...excellent value and price! We rented a scooter for several days to trek us back and forth to Materia Beach...well worth the $$ . We hiked up Mt Pahia ... great hike and fantastic views. On Gerards recommendation we kayaked to some motu's . St. James restaurant was our favorite restaurant...we loved the setting and the food. The chinese take out down the street from Sunset is also very good. Thank you Gerard your warm hospitality made our Bora Bora stay comfortable and memorable! We look forward to seeing some pictures of the finished BBQ deck! Sonya n Derek ( Edmonton Canada)

Room Tip: Stilts suite is more private and has fantastic view - constant breezes also
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyspy55Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in a garden bungalow and it was terrible. At first glance in the day light we thought it was wonderful and quirky but when we got back at night- there were bugs EVERYWHERE- there were slugs and worms coming from inside the walls ?!!? There were cockroaches and baby cockroaches. Truly truly disgusting. They would be on the walls and suddenly drop (would hate to be sleeping with your mouth open). The place is built terribly- all mismatched etc- no wonder bugs were coming through the walls. Would not recommend to ANYONE. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetHillLodge, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
None of my friends insects is recognized ... the pictures are really bad quality ... !!!
Kind regards
Gérard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place is great!!, Especially for the value. Gerard is a wonderful host, Loved just about everything. Be aware of two things though, 1, no TV or radio (not that big a deal, but Bora Bora quiets pretty early.) and 2, the local roosters crow all night long. Other than that, 5 stars. Stayed in late April, 2013. Won't forget it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bratwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
2.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Lodge

Property: Sunset Hill Lodge
Address: BP 58 Vaitape | Lewards Islands, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished accommodations close to Vaitape's village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing