We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So glad we chose this over the hotel scene at...”
other traveller has booked this property
Brando's and Marlon's Over Water Bungalows! Heaven on earth!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brando's and Marlon's Over Water Bungalows! Heaven on earth!
Marlon's Over Water Hideaway is the second from the right! Our gorgeous Over Water Bungalows in Bora Bora!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Brando's and Marlon's Over Water Bungalows! Heaven on earth!
Marlon's Over Water Hideaway is the second from the right!
Our gorgeous Over Water Bungalows in Bora Bora!
The perfect blend of old and new Polynesia.
Wood floors, high ceilings and breath taking views!
Marlon's beautiful kitchen!
High ceilings throughout the bungalow.
Fully air-conditoned. Fall asleep to the sounds of the lagoon right outside your window!
Marlon's beautiful bedroom with Queen sized bed, overlooks the lagoon!
Our second bedroom also faces the lagoon!
Newly remodeled with rain shower head!
A swim in the lagoon and an outdoor shower! How nice.
Read, dine, sleep, feed the fish! So many choices.
Our clients love the gas barbecue on the lanai!
And the sun sets right in front of the bungalow!
The Sunset in front of Brando's and Marlon's Bungalows. Never get tired of this!
Don't forget to see the Tahitian Traditional Dances!
Rush Hour at our Bungalow!
The most beautiful island in the world!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bora Bora, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BRM9
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So glad we chose this over the hotel scene at Bora Bora”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We used Bora Bora as a reunion point for meeting up with our daughter who resides in Australia. It was a reunion of sorts since my husband and I and our adult son had not seen her in 14 months. I was looking for an alternative to the luxury hotel scene on Bora Bora and was looking for a larger area where we could all spend time together yet still have our own space if we needed it. We hit the jackpot with this rental. From the start of the rental process, Richard, the owner, was prompt and willing to work with us to get our needs met. I was thankful for all the info he provided to us prior to the visit to help us get our bearings once we arrived. I wasn't sure that we needed a car everyday while we were there, but we did end up taking it for the week and we were glad we had it. Everyday we did a tour of the island or did a grocery run and utilized our rental. We snorkelled all over the island and it's surrounding motu's and discovered right outside our deck was the area that had the most species of fish to observe. What a treat it was to do an early morning snorkel and see all that was right under our deck's ladder! The snorkel gear that was on the deck was truly appreciated since our bag of snorkel gear was stuck at LAX for the week ! If you have a sense of adventure and want an alternative to the luxury hotel route sold as the Bora Bora experience, this overwater bungalow will meet and exceed your expectations. I am a travel agent and after visiting one of the luxury resorts for supper one night my husband thanked me for renting Marlon's Overwater Bungalow. He said he never would have handled staying at a resort very well. We loved the freedom of exploring the island on our own. Kudos to Karl at MykiMyki Jet Ski Rentals too. He was a fantastic tour guide of the island and allowed us to explore his own island too. It was such a great tour and you cannot believe the colours of the lagoon from the jet ski perspective. Extra bonus was the DVD "Mutiny on the Bounty" which we watched to see Marlon in action! Thanks Richard .....we hope to make it back to paradise again someday and will be looking to return to your bungalow for a repeat stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and being on the water
Liked least: Drive to town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHea...
Hilton Head, SC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Absolutely Unbelievable”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
8
people found this review helpful

If you want to have an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora and you do not stay here or at its sister property next door you are missing out on the best bargain in all of French Polynesia. This is a large, recently renovated overwater bungalow originally owned by Marlon Brando that is located on the northwest coast of Bora Bora (about 4 miles north of Vaitape) in an absolutely beautiful location. I do not even know where to begin.

Large living room that transitions into a dining area and then a kitchen---a big kitchen. Full-size refrigerator, washing machine. incredibly modern four (or was it five) glass stove top, double sink, blender, coffee machine, microwave, toaster oven, toaster and all the china, silverware, glasses, pots and pans, etc. that you could want. If I could come up with a complaint it would be that the chef knives need to be a little sharper and there should be a bread knife. That's the best I can do.

Two bedrooms. The master has a queen (or is it king) size bed and is air conditioned (The only room in the house that is air conditioned, but we froze to death before we turned the air conditioning way down.). The second bedroom has two twin beds and a REALLY good fan. The bathroom has double sinks and a huge shower with both a rain head and a hand held shower.

And then there is the porch. Huge. A table and four chairs. Two lounge chairs. A day bed. A dock with a ladder that can be lowered so that you walk into the lagoon (which offers good snorkeling) and an outdoor shower for when you come out of the salt water. Oh, and a propane gas grill!!!!

In the living room is a TV with a dvd for movies (selection quite limited but you certainly could bring your own dvds) and music. On the porch there were fishing rods (we left a nice selection of lures as our gift to the house), snorkels, masks and fins and some great tubes for just hanging out on the water. Missing. There should be some rope to tie off the tubes to the dock although they did have short tethers. No kayaks.

********The manager rents cars for $100 a day. That may seem incredibly expensive until you try to rent from Avis, etc. where lesser cars start at $125.**************

We cannot recommend this property too highly!!!!! It is fabulous. For 1/3 what the resorts want for an overwater bungalow you get twice what they offer. Pick up groceries at Chin Lee's or Super U for breakfast and snacks (and whatever other meals you want to fix) and definitely have a meal or three at the Bora Bora Yacht Club (the closest restaurant) as well as the St. James Restaurant and Mai Kai's. You will not want to go home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic place, fantastic bargain, unbelievable amenities for the price
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
startrekm...
Fredericktown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful.. and a good value for families!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
8
people found this review helpful

Overall a FANTASTIC experience!!! We traveled with our 3 children (2 boys and 1 girl ages 7, 11, & 13) and 2 other couples. We rented 3 of the 5 bungalows. Finding large enough accommodations that don't cost a small fortune when traveling with 3 children is always a challenge and this set up was fabulous. Twin beds in the 2nd bedrooms made for great brother/sister sleeping arrangements and a separate bedroom for mom and dad is always a plus. Only the master bedroom had air-conditioning, but with the windows open and a fan on the tropical breezes flowed through the home, cooling it nicely. SInce Bora Bora is a huge honeymoon destination, finding a spot that graciously accepted children and offered 2-bedrooms was a plus!

The bathroom was nice and the oversized shower with rainfall showerhead was wonderful! Being over the water keeps things quite humid, so towels and bathmats stayed damp unless put on the railing in the sun. A clothes washer in the home was a bonus as was the free WIFI. It is an older group of bungalows, so there are things that have worn over time. The furniture was clean and stylish. Feeding the fish and snorkeling off of the back deck was a daily activity!! I was a tad concerned about the ease of access to the water for my youngest, but there is a gate on the deck that can be closed, so that wasn't an issue at all. Plenty of float toys, bug spray and sunscreen were made available for our use. One thing we found amusing was the tour boat driving by showing tourists the "former home of Marlon Brando" we felt like extra special famous guests!

Tiare (Nir's wife) was a gracious and excellent hostess, helping with booking excursions and tips for eating out and where to shop as well as picking us up and dropping us off at the ferry. She provided rental cars for a reasonable fee and they were a fantastic addition to the experience. The bungalows are about 15-20 minutes from town by car, so you really do need them for restaurants and grocery shopping. We drove the loop around the island several times going out to explore and felt very connected to island life by being out and about on our own and not tied down to a resort. Tiare also provided cell phones for us to use to contact her for any need or concern.

I would definitely stay at this home again. Thank you for a fabulous and memorable visit!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D
Bentonville, AR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great choice....”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
7
people found this review helpful

We spent 6 nights at the bungalow over the new year's holiday and could not have picked a better place to stay! We were were not looking for a resort and its amenities - just a clean and comfortable place to relax and have and that is exactly what we got! The bungalow was conveniently located (but having a car is a very good idea) and it was a quick trip to Matira or Viatape when we wanted to go. Swimming off the large shady deck was fantastic and it was fun to watch the fish with a snorkel. Richard was great to work with and making all arrangements was smooth and easy. Once we got to the island, Nir helped us when ever we asked and helped make our stay more enjoyable. He was always quick to answer questions and provide suggestions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013
11
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pamquaid
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
15
people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed here with another couple and because we each wanted our own space we booked both Marlon's & Brando's bungalows. We stayed for 6 nights and loved it so much that we wished we had been able to stay longer. Richard was so helpful with the bookings and was very quick to answer any emails. The suggestions he gave re excursions and restaurants was very helpful.
Nir met us with the keys, a car and cellphone with which to contact him which we did on a few occasions to help with bookings etc. especially as we do not speak French. He was always helpful and never made us feel we were being a nuisance calling him.
The bungalows were amazing - so spacious, clean & comfortable. There are only five bungalows here and with the way they are situated it is very private. You can't see the people next door on their decks. Everything was available in the kitchen for "eating in" which we did a couple of times. The BBQ was great as we had an Austrian couple to dinner one night and were able to treat them to a good New Zealand BBQ. They appreciated being able to join us as they stayed at the Meridian and said their bungalows were not special, but our bungalows were very special. So that really says it all. They had to pay their water taxi to go where they wanted to go, but being on the mainland we could just go where and when we wanted which made everything so convenient. Being able to buy fresh fruit along the roadside was a treat and so delicious, the grocery store was not far away and we enjoyed their fresh French sticks.
Swam everyday off the deck & snorkled to see the fish or you could just watch them swimming around & under the deck.
Bora Bora is special and we enjoyed our full day lagoon tour (the coral garden has more fish there than I have ever seen in one place before - very special) and the 4x4 was exciting at times! As suggested by Richard we booked with Maohi Nui tours and Rapa was our guide on both days and we enjoyed his company very much. We also took a 30min helicopter flight which was wonderful and made us understand Bora Bora a little better.
A magical place and very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing