We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gourmet meal in an unexpected place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant La Suite - CLOSED

Restaurant La Suite
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: French, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Smart and modern restaurant offering fine and tasty cuisine. Open from 18:00 to 22:00 from Thursday to Tuesday.Free pick-up on reservation. Air conditioned.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A gourmet meal in an unexpected place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This restaurant was recommended by the staff at Arc en Ciel (the pearl store) and they were not wrong. This was the best meal my wife and I had in Bora Bora. Don't let the fact that this is in a former japanese restaurant in the Sofitel put you off. If you like black truffles and/or fois gras, you will be very happy. We both had excellent appetizers, but the pumpkin soup served with black truffle ice cream was outstanding. For the main course I had seared tuna with fois gras and both were prepared perfectly. My wife had chicken with black truffle and it was also wonderful. We finished with the chocolate and caramel dessert and it proved to be the perfect finish to a great meal.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcole5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I don't get it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The restaurant was billed as ultra fancy French cuisine, but it did not live up to expectations. The food was okay, but definitely not worth the price. The atmosphere also left a lot to be desired.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JimNYC603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good food very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very good menu, very clean restaurant in Stoful resort about 20 minute bus ride (free) plus bost

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank monthlytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“From start to finish, a terrible meal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The Four Seasons must have an arrangement with this restaurant. They continued to recommend it highly after we spoke to several guests that said they wouldn't return. It's in an older hotel and I think it used to be a hibachi restaurant. They still have the large exhaust vents and holes in the tile where the grills used to be.
The service is awful. They have 2 clueless women strolling around clearing tables, lighting candles, taking orders and serving food. If you are going to charge fine dining prices, offer a decent experience. The food came before the wine. They never did bring us water and the food really was terrible. I had the lobster ravioli appetizer. It was cold and salty. The meat on the main course was 60 percent fat. I tried to cut around it so I left hungry. My wife had the sea food fried rice and she said is was barely acceptable. I honestly wouldn't return To this place if the meal was free.
From the 4S, it's a boat ride and a cab to get there. We had to wait 30 minutes for a couple to arrive so we could depart all together. They were at the bar. Our cab dropped another couple at a different place so we drove twenty minutes out of our way. The overall commute was over 2 hours.
The food overall has been average, this place was the absolute worst.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank traveler32678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Loved the food, the quality and presentation was very good. Nice for a romantic specail dinner. Recommend it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley1Ocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Suite also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing