We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful...you might not get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Although Le Meridien may have more "affordable" overwater bungalows in Bora Bora, be careful when you make your reservations... you might not get it. My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and upon arrival, we were stunned to find out that we had been downgraded from an overwater bungalow to a beach bungalow. Needless to say, we were incredibly disappointed as we would never have booked a trip to Bora Bora had we known we would not get an overwater bungalow. The hotel's management of this downgrade was also appalling and they initially made no effort to provide a refund or compensate us for the inconvenience and disappointment. It took the length of our entire stay and after to receive any sort of compensation and refund. On top of that, we were unable to check-in to our downgraded room until 4 hours after the designated check-in time, which I also found to be inappropriate, especially given that we had just been downgraded. The buffet is not very good, which is surprising because we booked a romantic dinner on our last night and the food was delicious, so they definitely have the capability to serve good food. The romantic dinner also seems to cost about the same as the buffet as well so it may be a better deal. The only thing that saved this hotel and made our trip bearable were certain Tahitian staff, who were incredibly kind and understanding and made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Double check after booking your stay to make sure that you will receive what you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CY383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Executive secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing with us your comment following your experience at our resort.
We are fully aware of your disappointment at your arrival as your overwater bungalow was not available on the first night , and we regret this inconvenience. It is very rare and exceptionnal, when guests are accomodating with a different category than the one booked,and in that case guests always get some compensation if the category is lower than the one booked.

We hope that you will visit us again in a near future , and make sure on your next stay with us, you won't experience such inconvenience at your arrival. On that occasion, feel free to send us a message.

Sincerely yours,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 2,663 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien for our 25th wedding anniversary, and I can't imagine a better place to have been. We had a premium over water room which was magnificent. Very spacious with lovely decor and bath with a view. The thing that sets this place apart is their own private lagoon for snorkelling. The fish are so used to people that you can get up really close to them, and you can also see into the turtle enclosure for a close look at the beautiful green turtles. The a la carte in the restaurant Tipane which overlooks the lagoon was very good and very romantic. The staff here are so friendly and happy creating a relaxed atmosphere. The beach boys at the beach shack were very easy on the eyes! The shark feeding excursion is a must and was one of the highlights of our trip. We had a couple of hiccups at the beginning of our stay, but Cecile, the executive secretary rectified things and went out of her way to make our stay more special and more memorable. Thank you Cecile! The only criticism I would have is that they did not have waiter service at the pool or beach. I would definitely recommend Le Meridien and hope to go back for the next special anniversary.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the premium over water, and request near the end of the walkway as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Jill,


Thank you so much, it was a pleasure meeting you and I am glad we sorted out the "little hiccups".
Thank you for recommanding us and feel free to send us a message directly when you will plan to come back.

Sunny regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Over water bungalow, swimming in warm lagoon water, amazing views, interactions with sea life, snorkling, infinity pools, 4X4 jeep safari, Vaitape, boating, and so much more. Le Meridien Bora Bora is a place that I not only wish to visit again, but wish to stay forever. It is a paradise and nothing compares. The service is excellent, the food is excellent, the place is excellent. Thank you so much for making our honeymoon, Le Meridien!

Room Tip: Over water bungalow...book one now!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guests, Ia ora na,

Maururu roa for your great review!

All our team is delighted to read your feedback and hope we will welcome you again in our island!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Much has already been written about this resort, and I will not repeat all the positive things said other than I concur with most of the tributes given by its occupiers.

My wife and I returned to Tahiti for our 25th anniversary and went to Bora Bora. What a magnificent island and arpicheligo !

The landscape and scenery and water is not only a magnificent backdrop but the Meridian Resort is probably the best situated over water bungalow resort right next to Dt Regis and Four Seasons on one side and Intercontinental on the other.

Built now probably 18 years ago and the leader in the area it probably is showing its age but what it lacks in being up to date in infrastructure it makes up in character and position.

The overwater bungalows are beautifully appointed and comfortable. Each self contained and private. For you honeymooners, if you do not wish to move from the bungalow, then everything is available for you, except time for refreshing the room everyday.

the food is average but given where the resort is located pretty good overall, but probably on the pricey side, so should couples choose not to eat elsewhere, the go with a a bundle plan for breakfast and dinner included. Drinks are pricey, so for those that like imbuing the spirits and beer grab your wallets. But what the heck its a holiday!!

Book your activities on line or outside the resort as the activities offered are limited and the resort are not interested in helping you here.

The place is perfect, sun, sand, water activities and just chilling out. Do not go there for energetic partying or after dinner clubbing. It does not happen.

Families do go but it is a resort for couples. This is a good thing. There re many more resorts for families thanks.

We were there 8 days and I completely chilled out. Went to bed early!

yes believe it or not and slept till 8 am

amazing stuff. The pace was as slow as you want to make it.

Oh by the way they have a turtle sanctuary and you can feed and swim with green turtles. Truly epic! not to be missed.

The only issues that Meridian need to resolve is the inconsistency in service and delivery.

The resort must have as its mantra that we are the best in what we deliver. Forget about St Regis and Four Seasons, it does not matter. Just give service and people will come back.

That is Meridians Achilles heel.

No beach service, no bottled water in the rooms, no turning of the rooms although cleaned every day, and no or limited snack and menu options at the bar during the day. These would improve the perception of the resort to people reviewing it and would bring it up a notch or two.

The local staff are lovely and friendly, although a few of the managerial staff ( usually french) need to become a little less effusive and more amiable. What is it with the french!

This resort is a place of dreams and relaxation which it is.

The management team should work with the guests and not against them.

If they ( and they pay the charges) want to go to town and eat elsewhere then accommodate them and do not sneer or make it so expensive that people need to stay in the resort.

I realize food is important, and clearly the resort caters for two major clientele, the Americans and the Europeans, but guys make the food fresh and simple and you will have everyone crowing about it.

A little work is required here. I know it is challenging times. The Meridian is the leader in these resorts, and your staff are the centre of this.

Happy staff means happy guests, and that means happy reviews.

We loved our time here and each day was a postcard snapshot. It is ideal and glorious and you will not be disappointed here. It is vale for money, just prebook everything before you go.

the staff at the beach house were great and the bodies fantastic. They must all work out!

The place is great for honeymooners and those celebrating something special.
Enjoy .

Room Tip: the lagoon side in our view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guests,


We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the site.We are glad you enjoyed your holidays at our resort. Your remarks as regard as Food and Beverage have been shared with our managers and we appreciate you give us your opinion and advice as it will definitely enable us to monitor our guests' satisaction and give us a guideline to keep working on food quality imporvement.

We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you in our small paradise!

Sunniest regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here five nights celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. The resort and the water are beautiful and the breakfasts were fabulous. Most of the staff were very helpful, some not so much. We loved the complimentary paddle boarding, kayaking, and catamarans. We also loved the shark and sting ray picnic and that food was the best. Don't bother going to the Polynesian buffet at the resort as the food was terrible and cost $200. We loved the comfortable over water bungalow complete with sunrise and a full moon shining over the water! Our thanks to Carey of Beach Bum Vacations for making our anniversary a "dream come true".

Room Tip: Due to the lack of fish, I would recommend a beach bungalow here and save the over water bungalow fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Assistante de at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

I aora na!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our resort and we are happy to read you had a great time in our small paradise.
We hope to welcome you again on another occasion!

Sunny regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

One word explains this resort = UNBELIEVABLE! My wife and I stayed at this resort on the second and final stop of our honeymoon. This resort was the perfect property to spend the second half of our trip. From the service, property and grounds, this resort was simply perfect. They offer guest many things to do on-site, or you can simply relax while taking in the breath taking scenery from one of the two infinity pools they have or their soft white sandy beach. Our over water bungalow was perfect and the glass floor is amazing! When planning this trip we looked at a few other resorts and I am very glad we selected this resort - perfect mix of activities, pools, and beach. Food was excellent at this resort as well and had a great variety. Price for drinks and food was not that bad; you do have to remember where you are so things are going to cost more. Also, they have a turtle sanctuary on-site where they have rescued injured sea turtles and are nursing them back to health - this was a cool feature and they do allow you to swim with them as well (advice: you have to book this with the concierge desk and do it as soon as you arrive to guarantee availability). I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to visit Bora Bora!
We booked this trip with Robin Turner at American Express travel and would highly recommend anyone to contact her to book a trip to this part of the world - she is a true professional and expert! https://travelinsiders.americanexpress.com/destinations#specialty/tahiti

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guests,

A huge thank you for the great and detailled review following your honeymoon at our resort. All our team is so delighted to read your kinds words and would surely be happy to welcome you again in our paradise in a future.

Sunniest regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Every day is like a post card moment as it is like that every day! We stayed in an over water bungalow close to the shore and were able to swim underneath and around our bungalow. The fish and stingrays were abundant and great to see both day and night. The resort facilities were good and lazing by the pool is a must while looking out to the torquiose sea.... So relaxing..... We had our kid with us and he was able to spend a day with the marine guys who look after the turtles.... He was just so excited and they gave him a certificate for being a 'god parent' to the turtle for which he will treasure forever....

One downside..... I get tourism is necessary for the resort but the helicopter hovering while I am relaxing the pool is really an invasion of my personal space as it wasn't warranted daily.... And I mean once for a couple of mins is tolerable, but daily for 20mins is just disappointing and a big negative for the resort.

Other than that.... Definitely would like to stay there again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Ssute350Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Ia ora na dear guests,

We are very pleased to read you have enjoyed your family and you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We regret you were disturbed by helicopter flying above the lagoon. Indeed they were filming a major annual event in Bora Bora this week end, and unfortunately we could not avoid it. Be assured this was exceptional , and we have already advised the helicopter company and we are really sorry this had inconvenienced the peace of your stay.
We would welcome the opportunity to see you back in our resort and once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sunny regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.9 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tape | BP 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: £343 - £993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing