We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service imaginable in the most beautiful place imaginable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Bora Bora Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worst service imaginable in the most beautiful place imaginable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon last week Tuesday. We spent 2 weeks in New Zealand to start then ended our trip with 4 days on Moorea and 4 days on Bora Bora. We stayed at the Hilton on both Moorea and Bora Bora. I've read through the reviews on the Hilton Bora Bora with utter shock. People are mostly reviewing the beauty of Bora Bora and the location and ambiance of this resort/hotel. This hotel is very beautiful. The island it is located on is remote, quiet, and gorgeous. Several times we just looked at each other and said, "Wow we just feel so relaxed". A perfect feeling for the end of an action packed 2 weeks on New Zealand and 3 week honeymoon. You can snorkel right out your door and swim in amazing water. Our Lagoon View Bungalow was pretty spectacular as well. Rain shower, huge deck, incredible tub for 2...it was private and quiet and secluded. I honestly wonder if there is a bad room @ this resort.

Does this sound familiar? It's the same thing you will read in these other reviews.

Here's the bad. I have never had such awful, terrible, incredibly ridiculous service in all of my life. We ate at both restaurants and were appalled and shocked both nights. We decided to go elsewhere for dinner the other 2 nights. It is worth taking a boat to the main island to eat, trust me. Forgotten menus, long waits, service staff never offering another drink or appetizer or dessert. Orders were placed improperly. I'm not kidding you, we did a lot of waiting and a lot of looking around. During the looking around we noticed other couples were also looking around. Because our food, drinks, bread, salads, EVERYTHING took so damn long it was easy to observe that everyone else around us seemed to be in the same boat.

Breakfast was the same.

Happy hour was the same. We sat at the bar for 20+ minutes (yes my husband checked his watch) and the bartender never even acknowledged we were there. She was waiting on ONE table of 4 people sitting out by the pool and didn't even have the courtesy to tell us that she would be right with us. We finally tracked down the hotel manager and he agreed that the service of the employees is terrible. Okay, terrible right? We told him of our experiences at dinner, the pool, the beachside breakfast restaurant. We explained how much MORE MONEY this resort could have made off of us by simply offering dessert or a second glass of wine with a meal. I honestly cannot believe this resort has allowed this poor service to continue. You better basically be prepared to drop ~$1000/day on this little island/resort. It's expensive. You'll be charged for any and all bottled water. We were fine with the cost. The location is heaven. Please don't expect good service. Rumor is from the sailboat captain (we did a sailing tour one day of the lagoon) that the best service is at the 4 Seasons; also probably one of the most expensive places to stay on Bora Bora. Apparently they hired all of the good people. The employees at the Hilton are poorly trained if they can't even acknowledge a customer waiting to spend money and enjoy a drink or meal.

I'd go back to Bora Bora in a heartbeat. I wouldn't stay at this hotel if someone paid for me to do it. To me, for this price, you should get service. At least average service.

Room Tip: King Lagoon Bungalow...but remember the restaurants suck and the service is terrible anywhere you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank tdawsonann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear tdawsonann,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us.

Needless to say, we were sorry to read that we did not meet all your expectations during your stay.

Please be assured that your comments are being addressed with the team to ensure no future reoccurrence.

Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to prove ourselves better hosts.

Best regards,

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    444
    143
    78
    32
See reviews for
268
1,445
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had an unforgettable experience at the hilton. The hilton is on it's own island so you need to take a water taxi if you want to go into town. The resort was breathtaking and pictures couldn't do it justice. The breakfasts and dinners were phenomenal - be sure to try the poisson cru. The rooms aren't as updated as the Four Seasons or St. Regis but you can't beat staying on your own island and the hilton is slightly cheaper.

Advice:
-Make reservations at Villa Mahana for dinner. It's an old house turned into a restaurant on the main island. There are only a few tables, after an amazing meal you sign their guest book.
-If you decide to eat at Bloody Mary's go for lunch. The food isn't great but it is cool to see all the celebs who have been.
-Buy your alcohol at duty free in LA. We probably saved a couple hundred dollars.
-Loveboat photo tour was a great excursion. Not only do you get to drink champagne from coconuts while getting your picture made but you also learn island history.
-I would recommend taking a jet ski tour on one of your first days so you can start to get a lay of the land.
-Aquasafari was a blast and a great alternative if you aren't scuba certified.

Room Tip: We were in the 300's which I would recommend because our room looked out on the ocean and and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Ia Orana Lauren,

Thank you very much for your comments!

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa!

We were pleased that we played a minor part in the success of your honeymoon trip.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards and Mauruuru Roa!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
550 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

When you have sunshine, any point of the view in this hotel area is really fantastic and I can not believe that on the earth there is such a beautiful place in reality.
I visited already some of very famous resort areas in the world.
Some places are also beautiful as here but the climate there is too hot or not comfortable anyway.
Maybe I visited here in the best season. Here I could have everything.


The staff is also very very helpful and charming.
Maybe the food offered here could be simpler and therefore tastier.

Room Tip: I stayed here Garden Bungalow and Delux Overwater Villa. The both are very comfortable. But you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitsuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Ia Orana Mitsuru,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Staff to be very helpful and charming.

I was also glad to see that you were able to enjoy one of our Over the Hill Villas. I agree with you, one should combine an experience over the hill with an experience over the water to fully benefit from the incredible views offered by both types of accommodation.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Mauruuru Roa!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We went to Bora Bora for our honeymoon and spent 9 nights, staying at the Hilton the whole time. We had a wonderful time and were able to relax and enjoy the island. The resort was very calm and peaceful. We booked an deluxe overwater bungalow. I had done research beforehand and requested a bungalow in the 300s with a sunset view. We were given number 331 and were very pleased with the sunset and calm water around our bungalow. We noticed that many other bungalows were over choppy water but we were protected by the "island" and so no matter the weather, we enjoyed the water. We saw some amazing sunsets from our deck.

TRANSPORT
When we arrived instead of paying $100 for the Hilton shuttle to the hotel we took the free shuttle to town which enabled us to look around Vaitape and buy a few bits and bobs. Then we took the Hilton water shuttle from the town to the Hilton, which cost $15 for two. The shuttle from town leaves almost every hour on the half hour.

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN
We were able to check in early and the process was smooth and had no problems.

ROOM (deluxe overwater bungalow)
The bungalow is nice and spacious, with two rooms, a bathroom, and a deck. The lower deck conveniently has a shower to rinse off after snorkelling. The bathroom is large, with two sinks, a nice shower, a big bathtub, and separate toilet room (with bidet). On either side of the couch, you can lift up a glass panel and feed the fish below. The bungalow was beginning to show its age a bit, but nothing that took away from our comfort. We were disappointed that instead of a canopy bed as advertised, we had two single beds pushed together and a gap would widen between them because they didn't tighten the strap properly.

HOUSEKEEPING
On the day we arrived we were tired from traveling and went to bed early, but were woken up by a knock at the door. It felt to us like the middle of the night and went to the door in a daze, just to find that it was housekeeping offering us more towels. It seems that they come around every evening to do that, as well as the morning and perhaps another time or two. Make sure to put your do not disturb sign out if you go to bed early or don't want interruptions.

FOOD
The breakfast buffet was very extensive, with a wide selection of pastries, breads, fruits, cereals, and salads. There were also a few Japanese breakfast options: miso soup, rice, pickles, seaweed salad. We only ate one dinner so we can't comment too much on the food. The dinner we did eat was good but nothing out of this world.

ACTIVITIES
We chose a few of the activities that looked interesting. We booked to go on the Hobby Cat but on the day we booked for, it was too windy and the sea was too choppy.

The Cooking class only lasted 5 minutes and "class" would be a generous description of the activity. They mixed together ingredients for a traditional raw fish salad without giving any measurements, dished it out, and left.

We enjoyed the pool on several occasions and took out the kayaks a couple times and the paddle boards once.

CONCIERGE
We used the concierge on a couple occasions to book activities and they were very helpful and everything went smoothly.

Room Tip: From 329 to 335 is the best sunset view and calm water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa and to write this detailed review..

Needless to say, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we played a minor part in the success of your Honeymoon.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Mauruuru Roa!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in an overwater bungalow for 5 nights and the view and room were beautiful. The service on the other hand is terrible overall. Management seems more concerned having the staff cater to them than their customers. Restaurant service is SLOW and they act as though you are an inconvenience. The assistant manager (Xavier) sat at the restaurant with his family and watched as many people were not being waited on and orders were incorrect without seeming to care. We complained several times and Xavier nor Jean (the manager) ever acknowledged our issues. Also we had staff coming into our room without knocking and mysteriously the safe code had been changed. The morning we were leaving we were told check out is 11 am. At 10:30 am we could see from the beach a staff member walk into our room, stay for 10 minutes until we arrived. When we asked what he was doing, he did not have an answer. I know this resort has had issues with theft and these actions make me question their staff. Be prepared to pay every time you want to leave the island. Other resorts do not charge to go to the main city but Hilton holds you hostage unless you agree to pay for the shuttle. Bottom line when you are paying this much money one expects a higher level of service. Top notch service is expected from a luxury resort and a brand like HIlton. This is by far the worst Hilton experience I have ever had being a loyal hilton customer. Advice to those traveling to Bora Bora, stay elsewhere because this resort will leave a bad taste in your mouth. On a positive note, the Hilton in Moorea was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank truetimerelease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Truetimerelease,

Thank you very much for your review.

We were truly sorry to read that we did not meet all your expectations.

Please be assured that you comments are well received and that they have been addressed with our team to improve our performance. We are constantly working on ensuring our Guests' satisfaction and we appreciate your feedback.

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to Bora Bora or from our Sister Hilton Hotels.

Best regards,

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Bora Bora was the most relaxing vacation ever …we chose not to watch the television in our overwater bungalow no cell phone but we did us our iPad . So many activities or you can just relax in the sun on your private deck and dock….. spa services and gym amazing… restaurants top notch. all the people are so kind. friendly and helpful . Hands down the best vacation destination

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Ia Orana Helen,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased to read that you found Paradise and that you enjoyed your stay with us...

Thank you very much for mentioning the kindness, friendliness and helpfulness of our team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

After spending over 14K to go to this resort there were several problems. The concierge people have terrible communication with the various activity people on the island. They tell you one thing and then the excursion people say another. The Deluxe Overwater Bungalow was very nice except that the toilet backs up with water, electrical breakers constantly breaking just by trying to plug in a straightening iron, and the infestation of mosquitoes. All the front desk people say is sorry and move on. You would think after spending the type of money we did they would be more willing to accomodate especially since there were many of the same bungalows unoccupied. Beautiful scenary, and the workers were very very nice and respectful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Conrad Bora Bora Nui, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your review.

Needless to say, I was sorry to read that we did not meet all your expectations!
Please be assured that your comments have been addressed with our team to ensure a better communication.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to prove ourselves better hosts.

Best regards,

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.7 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Bora Bora Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Bora Bora Nui

Property: Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Address: BP 502 Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia (Formerly Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa)
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Bora Bora Nui 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bora Bora... It's possibly the most glamorously famous island in the world. Bora Bora's legends, mysteries and romance lend an almost mystical dimension to its very name. The island rises up from the middle of the crystalline, multi-colored waters of its celebrated lagoon which is protected in turn from the ocean by a string of tiny coral islets. Suspended between turquoise waters and limitless skies, Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa nestles in a sacred cove of white sand and majestic lava rock. Here you will find a sensitive blend of authenticity and luxury - the very best of Polynesian tradition combined with sumptuous comfort. A wifi connection is available for free all across the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Conrad Bora Bora Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bora Bora Nui Hotel Bora Bora
Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort And Spa
Hilton Bora Nui Hotel
Hilton Bora Nui Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing