We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I absolutely LOVED it here. We were in a top floor room and the view was actually breathtaking, overlooking the different shades of blue in the lagoon and the overwater bungalows. The service here was fabulous- from the moment we walked in, we were given a juice mocktail and a lei of flowers on arrival, such a nice touch. The staff were lovely- had trouble with wifi on my phone and was given a free hour for the trouble which was really nice. They arranged activities for us, wake up calls in the morning and help with our luggage, great service. The room was lovely, very spacious, large bed and very clean. Bit of a hike uphill to get to the rooms on the top where we stayed but believe me, the view is so worth it. Loved that they had an activities desk which displayed in very helpful books all the things you could do (highly recommend the Safari drive). There was a wee private beach here at this hotel too!! Everything was made so easy here- if you ate at one of their restaurants, as well as the activities, it just got put on the bill to pay at the end which made it so simple. Were given shell necklaces on departure which left us with the highest regards for this hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel- hope to be back here soon!

Room Tip: Wish we could have afforded the overwater bungalows but the views from the top balconys are INCREDIB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    414
    200
    83
    41
See reviews for
124
717
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here in and over the water bungalow for our honeymoon. Loved it. It's a small resort, but we like them small & sweet and quiet.They let us use bikes. Nice staff. We did the shark feeding excursion and it was amazing. The water in Bora Bora cannot be beat. It's like a swimming pool. The snorkeling right at the hotel wasn't great. WEAR SUNSCREEN!!! I want to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We weren't really sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in an overwater bungalow and it was wonderful, room was very clean and everything was in great working condition. The view from the bungalow is breathtaking and it was so nice to wake up to a nice cool breeze. The hotel is smaller and nice and quiet compared to the much larger, busier resorts. The food is good and priced reasonably and the staff are attentive to your needs. The excursion choices were good, we definitely recommend the Rohavi tour. We visited Sofitel and Intercontinental while we were there and couldn't believe how much higher the prices of food and activities were there. Maitai was a great value for the cost and is definitely nicer than Sofitel. We enjoyed the quieter atmosphere and ability to kayak and snorkel for free with their equipment. The only thing Maitai is missing is a pool, but We really didn't see the need with the beautiful shoreline waters. We would definitely vacation at Maitai again. Also if you are traveling to Bora Bora bring any over the counter medications you might need because they are hard to find!

Room Tip: Overwater bungalows are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

One of my best trip so far around the word. The water is really beautiful. We went there in March 2013. Went there for 5 days and it has only rain for 5 minutes. Food is very good and people are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarveyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

First off, I just want to say how surprised I am at some of the terrible reviews here........were these people staying in a completely different hotel or did they just have some bad luck?! Some of the comments are not fair at all to this very nice hotel in Bora Bora. The user 'Marasko' is talking rubbish saying you cannot get fresh water in the rooms, yes you can. And there is mineral water available in both bars and restaurants so I have no idea what they are talking about. Also complaints about the food and fruit? What the hell....this place has fresh fruit every morning in the buffet breakfast - watermelon, pineapple, white grapefruit, papaya and melon.......did you conveniently miss that part? And complaining about having no swimming pool? You're in BORA BORA, you don't need a pool, there's a couple of private beaches at Maitai and if you're in an overwater like we were, you're surrounded by a giant swimming pool. The whole point is that you go into the sea not spend time in a boring old heated pool that you can get back home. The hotel never claims to have a swimming pool so if you wanted one, you should have booked elsewhere! I have quite high standards when I travel so was worried after seeing some of the reviews but it's literally like they're talking about somewhere else. (And they say that us British are uptight?!)

We stayed in an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora for 10 nights. We were transferred from the airport on the motu straight to the dock of Maitai without waiting around and we were greeted by the manageress with fresh flower leias. They let us check into our room early (10am instead of the usual 2pm) and they made us cocktails while we waited and the staff were polite always.

We requested the bungalow furthest from land and got what we asked for, we got bungalow 106 which has the best view of the sunset and a great snorkelling sport around some coral reef nearby. The room was clean and was cleaned everyday to a high standard. It was exactly what we wanted, perfect and romantic with the glass bottom under the coffee table to see the tropical fish. The room was very spacious and the shower was nice and large. The holder that holds the shower head had a crack in it and I told them about it at reception - by the time we'd come back from the town Vaitape, they'd fixed it!

The Haere Mai restaurant by reception does more gourmet style food (fillet steak etc) and the beach restaurant does more casual food with some local fish dishes etc and it's all lovely, cooked fresh in the open plan kitchen for you to see. We did half board but had a few lunches there. Meals are anything in between 1000-2500 pacific francs, depending on what you order. Even their starter sizes were enough as a main meal for me! Soft drinks are no more expensive than back home but alcohol and cocktails are quite pricy. A mocktail is about 1000 pacific francs, alcoholic ones from 1300 francs upwards. The food is good and the breakfast is nice, continental and plenty of choice. Drinks are included with the buffet breakfast.

Wifi is expensive (1000 francs for an hour) but your first hour is free. Access can be awkward at times but they refunded me when it went down and gave me another hour free.

Snorkelling gear available at reception for free, ok condition although we had our own. Overall I was really pleased with this place as it's quite economical for overwater bungalow prices in Bora Bora. Maitai also offer free transport for any activities that you book (either through them or your travel agent, just bring proof of you buying excursions from your travel agent with you) and transport to the main settlement Vaitape is 1000 francs each for a round trip.

We had a lovely time on our honeymoon. We even noticed they take great pride in keeping the place clean, one guy on the beach cleaned it several times a day. The only thing I'd mention is that the linen pattern is outdated (the design isn't very nice but that's not the end of the world) and it would be nice to do a nice fruit basket or something in the room complimentary for honeymooners (they did give us a Maitai pareo).

4 stars and well deserved, the staff here work very hard and were always very pleasant to us, despite all our questions!

Room Tip: Bungalow 106 overwater. It's the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LittleTrouble14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in an overwater bungalow and I would strongly recommend that if you're going to stay here, you do the same, or stay in a beach bungalow.
I was very nervous about staying here after reading some of the negative reviews, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Our accommodation was very clean and we had the most amazing views out over the lagoon. We were in one of the bungalows further out, so we were able to dive in from the balcony, and the snorkelling was amazing; so many tropical fish, and we even saw a ray and a reef shark.
I wouldn't go as far as to say that the service was bad or the people rude but they very much leave you to your own devices, which actually suited us.
There is a small supermarket a short walk from the hotel and a couple of snack bars and restaurants in the area.
Overall, we had a great time and that was largely due to the fact that we spent a lot of time in and around the bungalow, hence why I would recommend that rather than a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The MaiTai is clean and has good spacious rooms with fridge and tea point.
However the views aren't great and the staff are positively unhelpful.
We stayed in a few different places and compared to similar price competition we felt that the MaiTai didn't real feel value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angharad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
6.4 mi away
Blue Heaven Island lodge
Blue Heaven Island lodge
#15 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Property: Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing