We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As warm as the Polynesian sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived after sunset, tired from a long day of travel and sight seeing. A bus transported us from the town of Vaitape to the hotel-$5 US fee. As we embarked we were immediatley greeted by a gracious front desk employee, draping a lei around our necks and a fruit punch to quench our thirst. Check in was efficient and our room was cleanand spacious. It had sufficient storage space for our clothes and luggage. There was a mini fridge, coffee maker and coffee/tea supplies in the room. A/C kept the rooms cool during the hot day time temperatures. In the morning, we were able to enjoy the lovely landscaped gardens of this hotel. The bar and dining room face the main road. They are open spaces, allowing the breezes in but low stone walls and plants afford some privacy. A breakfast buffet was included. It was standard with a selection of breads, fruits, scrambled eggs and bacon. My only complaint was the lack of local fruits. Apples and New Zealand Kiwis in a place where bananas, mangoes and papayas grow locally?? What a disappointment. The beach that the hotel is on was beautiful and was quite empty when we went there to sunbathe. No problem finding a free beach lounger. Snorkelling was quite good as well. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from a good grocery store and close to good restaurants and the town of Vaitape. WiFi was not included and expensive, but then, what isn't on Bora Bora? I did appreciate the fact that they let us stay in our room until we left at 4 pm without charging us for an extra day. It enabled us to enjoy our last day on the island on the beach at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a lower priced accomodation that is above average in what it has to offer on Bora Bora.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Bora Bora was our 1st real stop in Tahiti (quick overnight in Papeete beforehand). We had read that this was the most expensive island so we were trying to be conservative with our accommodation and thus booked at the Mai Tai. We arrived at the Motu Mute Airport and were not greeted by anyone, which was disappointing as I didn't receive a lei. We then hopped on the large boat to Vaitape (the main town dock). From there, a shuttle picked us up and took us to the Mai Tai (book ahead of time and xtra cost -2100 xfp pp RT, but cheaper than the Four Seasons which I believe is ~$100 pp).

Upon arrival at the resort we were greeted with a lei and a drink! Staff were very friendly and answered any questions we had. We had booked an ocean view room but were given a free upgrade to an OWB! (Over water bungalow). The room was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers and we received a complimentary pareo and T-Shirt. The room had A/C, a little fridge and a glass box coffee table (great to feed the fish bread at night). We were told that local calls are free - they are NOT. Wifi was available but cost money. The resort is split by a road but we did not find it to be a big deal. We also learned that there are only 2 resorts on the main island with sand beaches and coral - the Mai Tai & Maiteria.

In August the sun sets early on the east side of the island where Mai Tai is (@4:30pm). If you want a longer day you would need to stay elsewhere (The Sofitel loses light first). There are fantastic reefs under the bungalows and off the hotel. This resort offers free kayaks which you should use! Just on the other side is a FANTASTIC snorkeling area. I believe it is called "The Aquarium" as there are so many types of fish there! (We went there on a snorkel tour (Reef Discovery = Awesome!) so we knew how to get back)

The food was actually really good at the hotel. We paid for the half board plan which seemed like a good deal. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and dinner, which was a 3 course meal with different choices every night. We thought there would be lots of pork & chicken on the menus in Tahiti...surprisingly not - lots of fish, beef & lamb. Our last night there there was a set menu and it was not as good as the previous nights. (We assume it was the Chef's night off). Dinner service was a little on the slow side, but really, it's island time.

We took a shuttle to town -Viatape - which was ~$20 pp. We picked up some baguettes, French cheeses, snacks, Hinano (local) beer and some wine. This was our lunch/snack every day while on our patio.

Some tips for travelling in French Polynesia that helped us:
-Everything is expensive in French Polynesia so expect to pay at least double of what you would pay in the US or Canada.
-Inter-island flights have a 44 lbs limit. They will weigh your bag before you board and charge you lots if your bags are overweight
-Bora Bora OWB are shallow water, whereas Moorea OWB are deep water.
-Bring a soft-sided cooler (great for beers at beach or for rooms that don’t have fridges)
-Bring a wine/beer opener! (helpful for your room)
-Find a store, buy French wines, Brie cheese and baguettes (Bring a small knife for the cheese!)
-Water is okay to drink on all islands (and no liquid check for the interisland flights!)
-Stores are open 9-5 and nothing is open on Sundays, Alcohol also has to be purchased before noon at some stores
- Helpful to know some basic French language
-Check which voltage is required before you go
-The islands are casual dress, but not pareos (beach wraps)
-Research tours ahead of time as each hotel only books certain ones and they will charge extra to take a cut of the profits
-We had heard that the pearls were more expensive in Bora Bora but didn’t really notice that much of a price difference – they all seemed expensive!

*We actually traveled in August 2012 but I am late in my reviewing!

Room Tip: Our OWB was the furthest one over (closest to the restaurant) by the locals beach so it was somewhat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank GillyTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was trying to do the island on a budget as much as possible without staying in a shipping container, and the mai tai fit the bill. I was there for 9 days and stayed in an ocean front room. My room was on the first floor but still provided excellent views of the lagoon over the tropical greenery of their beach. The hotel is a short walk to the grocery and to 5 different "snack stops" that helped to offset my budget. We were also able to walk to high end restaurants as well.
Matira beach is walkable and is stunning and a great place for sunsets, but as others have mentioned the option of having shade(on the MaiTais beach) is a nice break from the sun.

We found the staff to be somewhat aloof, but they did a good job. The breakfast was decent but they never changed the menu so we ate the same breakfast(I paid for half board) all 9 days. As we were there over New Years the NYE dinner was mandatory and prebilled. We found the food and presentation along with the Polynesian show to be very good.

If I returned to bora bora I would definitely stay here again. I should mention that a portion(maybe all) of the hotel lost water 3 times during our stay, one time was from 3pm-3am which was very frustrating. They did let me keep my room till my evening departure on the last day, so I considered that fair compensation for my inconvenience.

Room Tip: Two for one drinks from 6pm-7pm at hotel bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kokonut33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I think it's well established that Bora Bora is a very expensive island - far too expensive for what it offers (NO Mai Tai is worth $19.00 - which is what you pay at the Intercontinental) - but I digress. The Hotel Mai Tai is a great choice for anyone not wanting to sell an arm and a leg to stay on this island. The location is great - I actually prefer the beach in front of the hotel to Matira as the water is deeper and there's more palm trees for shade plus a cool breeze - a must in the searing temperatures. We had a non ocean front room but it was roomy, clean, had a fridge, good AC and comfortable beds. The breakfast was fine - nothing great (the bacon was undercooked and the scrambled eggs look a little tired after 2 hours in the warming pan) - but decent.
The staff is lovely and the hotel doesn't add an outrageous fee when it books excursions for you. It's just that Bora Bora is outrageously expensive and it has really hurt the island of late. Several major hotels have closed and the average Polynesian living there hasn't benefited from the tourist trade. The island is lovely, but to be honest, there are other French Polynesian islands that are equally lovely, have superior beaches (Moorea), far better coral reefs and tropical fishes (Huahine) and better pieced meals and excursions. But of course, that doesn't pertain to the Hotel Mai Tai. If you feel you MUST go to Bora Bora because of the hype, this hotel is a good choice for the more budget conscious traveler who still wants a good hotel over a pensione.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

An overwater bungalow, included breakfast (from a wide buffet choice, with watermelon, swiss cheese, real scrambled eggs, baguette, buns and rolls, pamplemousse, even hot chocolate) and the nicest beach with many coral heads nearby. Most of the overwaters have a coral head beneath, and a light underneath so that you can watch your dinner swim by.
The staff meets any request with calm competence, choices and resources. We've stayed here several times and have always been met with relaxing times. A market within walking distance, several smaller restaurants in the other direction, and two on the property mean that you're not limited to eating at the hotel, but get your $ exchanged for Pacific French Francs, not the Euro (!) before you leave LAX (we got the same rate as we would have if we'd waited for the banks to open in Papeete... which would have been a three hour delay). Most stores and restaurants take credit cards, but check with your card provider about exchange fees!
You land on Motu Mute where the US Construction Brigade built the runway in 1942, a boat or ferry squires you across the lagoon to Vaitape (or your reef-based hotel). Have your camera ready, and if the market dockside is open, browse for those few unique gifts. We rented a scooter (a 22 mile road around the central volcanic island) a full day, allowing us the freedom to hit the public beach (great place to snorkel), eat at a roulotte (basically a food truck that's often permanently parked), listened to a dockside band, even played a song for them!
Fun times that will allow you to base out of the Maitai and head many places, including either of the two major supermarket-style stores in Vaitape. We deeply appreciate the freedom to access even a helmet dive to the ocean floor (inside the lagoon) and feed the fish.
We recommend this location, the food, the attractions. If you want to check email (!), you can even do that. We visited with Ben at Bora Bora Adventure tours. The way to take some sights is by checking with the local tour operators, not onboard the cruise ships, where prices for the same tours are much higher.
There are many gecko lizards around for entertainment, one crawled in a half-empty Pepsi can we'd left out and provided some unexpected amusement.
We'll go again!

Room Tip: No swimming pool (your have the lagoon) but take sunscreen, a poncho (rain squalls can occur any tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank goldmustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Firstly, Bora Bora!!! Whew so the place over powers everything possible flaws one can pick!

Ok, so customer service is not a big thing here so do not look for room service or a smile with your breakfast! You gotta earn da smiles! So on a 10 day trip the staff warmed up to us by the 3rd -4th day. Nonetheless, the hotel has a turn down service and the over water bungalows are great! Well, all over Bora Bora da bungalows r great! The breakfast spread is nice and scrumptious but is the same everyday! Also, would get over by 10 am so don't be late! Should not be a problem as Bora Bora sleeps early! We took the half board with our stay and was a wise decision as hunting dinner in the night was not very economical or even practical as you would spend for the transport as well as the food! The Fare Taamai restaurant on the beach serves a very good dinner and has some insanely delicious desert options too!

Excursions and activities seemed expensive but on further review we realized since the activities are provided by just 2 providers the rates are same on the island!

Tip - Pay in Euros! Rate is fixed on the island at 119.33 and is easier to carry that the XPF.

Room Tip: Over water Bungalow 16 or 105 have the best view! We stayed in 16! Ensure you ask for it! Take brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I loved every minute here. The first two nights we stayed here, we were on the top floor (worth the climb - gorgeous views). On our last night, we wanted to stay in an over water bungalow. The staff were very accommodating and moved our luggage for us. The bungalow was perfect and was the the ideal way to end a dream vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaygannMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
277 reviews
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.9 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Address: Bp 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: £118 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing