We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bora Bora in February”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were on the last leg of our Round The World trip, and in the planning stage thought on the trip back from the New Zealand part of the trip, lets chill out in Tahiti and we did some research and found we could do Bora Bora too !

So after a while on Tahiti we flew of to this totally beautiful South Pacific hide away, yest there are lots of top end spa's and hotel, but we wanted the real thing, this is it !

Quite, simple, but not lacking amenities, all the staff spoke good English, although the spoken tongue is French of course.

Just across the Road further up ~100m (100yds) a very nice bar, restaurant (English/French/American cuisine)looking over the inlet, the beach is typical of French Polynesia Perfect, no litter, and what you find on every other beach on this planet Cigarette buts from filthy littering smokers, Nothing !!!

The only litter on the beaches are bits of sea weed or maybe a piece of drift wood, how's that for pristine.

Vaitape the Capital is small, but you can hire scooters, motorbikes and cars easily, but we found that as on Tahiti the locals DON'T accept any thing else except their currency XCF.
There is lots to explore on the Island, and on the outer reef, all around the Island is surrounded by it, but a boat would be needed, there are shuttle boats darting across the inner waterway all the time.

After a wonder around, and a bit of a sunbathe, we used to sit on the beach with a bottle of 'something' and at approx. 3:30pm every afternoon, it would get dark over to the South, and you could watch the rain squall come in, as soon as it got near you, yes your right, you leisurely walk to the bar and find a seat and watch the down pour for 10-20mins, then gone !!! back to blue skies and Sun shine.

Typical temperatures when we were there is around 30c (86f) humidity 50%+ winds light and mainly Southerly on this part of the Island, so idyllic really.
Say hello to Zavier the friendly little lizard and his family too, they're cute !!

Hope this has been of use.

Heaven on Earth !!!

David and Karen
g8gxp

Room Tip: The whole Hotel is surrounded by lush tropical plants and trees, you can't go wrong, but ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank G8gxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We flew into Bora Bora a day early and got a last minute deal at this place. We LOVED it! The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was super delicious and the rooms were so nice. Your right down the road from a little market which has everything you need. There is also a pizzeria within walking distance which is surprisingly affordable and very delicious!!

I would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved our stay here. We had a room high on the hill overlooking the beautiful lagoon that changed colour every hour. We spent many hours just sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. The room itself was spacious and clean with a huge comfortable bed. We had breakfast included which was a full cooked breakfast, fruit and bakery, a very substantial start to the day. The supermarket was 500m away and had wonderful french cheese and bread. There are many other eateries within walking distance. Most beaches are private but the public beach just up the road was idillic. The resort facilities were good but we recommend that you bring your own mask and snorkel. Happy hour at the bar is great value and we throughly enjoyed the Tahitian night on Saturday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a water Bungalow, It was not that big but big enough for a double bed and a couch. The bathroom was OK but not too much room to put the odds and ends you need. Waking up at daybreak and seeing the sun coming up from over the lagoon was just amazing.
The hotel itself was very nice. The only problem I found was that some of the people working there did not seem very interested in serving. I think this is to do with the mentality of the people who live there. There is a small beach, normally quite empty, with free beds. Most People spend their time swimming in the crystal clear water watching the numerous tropical fish.
I can just say it like being in paradise. The bird that landed on our balcony every morning was not a tall scared of us and when we went snorkelling the fish just come and look at you!!

Room Tip: Take the water Bungalow - you won't regret it (you only live once)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This place is the right place for this island...as you can imagine not an inexpensive trip so finding the resort that was best price and met all expectations was fabulous!
The only downfall to this beautiful gift from above was food ...other than the fabulous fresh fish this island is refined sugar everything...due to size of island their fresh fruits/juices do not come from here they are shipped over and it's far from fresh - they have canned juices, and white flour items- this is not just at this resort...it's in the stores and it's the way of life there!
The location is perfect with a nearby store where you can pick up a bottle of wine or some fruit and French bread of couss.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cjrichards33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Maitai was everything we'd hoped for in a hotel on Bora Bora. We skipped the over-water bungalow (since we had one booked for later inthe trip on Moorea). Instead, we got a room high up on the hill...with the most amazing view of the lagoon you can imagine. The pure, azure-blue water was dotted with darker spots, which we later found out were patches of coral, in about 10 feet of crystal clear water. We've been diving and snorkeling all over the works, and I have to say, this place rates among the best.

The room itself was beautiful, clean, and well-appointed... it was a bit of a climb each time we went up there, but each time, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: The hiiltop rooms are an effort to get to, but the spectacular view more than makes it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anarion55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

They have a lovely complex across from the water surrounded by tropical grounds and (some) a view of the waters! Over the water bungalows looked spaced well and being on the main island is the way to go for us!!
We actually had our moonlit dinner here and lunch a second day. White sand beach overlooking the water was fantastic, go there. Food was good and had American items included!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
277 reviews
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.9 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: £114 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing