We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than your usual 3 Star accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than your usual 3 Star accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Taking Air Tahiti 'Big boat' from Bora Bora airport, we easily found the lovely lady operating the 'celest' mini bus service - which was our free transfer to the hotel. We were warmly welcome,by reception with lai's and as our room was not quite ready, we were offered a free cooked breakfast (which was very welcome, after our overnight flight from the US). By the time we had eaten, our luggage had already been taken to our room. The room was clean, comfortable (TV, kettle, fridge, hairdryer - free snorkel, kayak and beach towel use). The grounds and beach are immaculately kept. The hotel supports the 'bio dome' initiative, which encourages the regeneration of coral reefs. We stayed for 6 days, to chill out after a long trip, returning to NZ. It was refreshing not to be expected to tip for everything. We spent hours snorkelling, especially over the hotel's coral regeneration. The area was teeming with friendly tropical fish of all sizes and the new coral is healthy and vividly coloured. Most evenings we took advantage of the hotels' 'happy hour' 6-7pm, which offers 2 for 1 cocktails. We have stayed at quite a few resorts in island locations - Hotel Maitai is a very good 3 Star Hotel - better than several 4 Star we have stayed at. The staff are very friendly and helpful - a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are good value, many of which have sea beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 441Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    409
    198
    83
    41
See reviews for
121
707
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Iaorana. The lady,who built this hotel, used to own a hostel at the site with her Arab husband. I took my aging dad there twice and then he went there once on his own. Some hitchhiking available, though cab or LeTruk is maitai. This place has all ameneties and decorations, good,cheap food and probably the cheapest, yet most expensive of the dubious shelters. The French are a trip . I wish, I was there right now.

Room Tip: Get close to the restaurant and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUPITIMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
313 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

hotel is situated on the Bora bora lagoon/beach.over the water private bungalows, beach private bungalows and som buildinggs across the main road. room aren't big but clean. there is a kettle for tea /coffee. wi-fi for 6$ 30 minutes where login and logout account in those minutes.decent breakfast.no vegetables but local and imported fruit.peaceful surrounding.beautiful sunrise.

Room Tip: bungalows over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were on the last leg of our Round The World trip, and in the planning stage thought on the trip back from the New Zealand part of the trip, lets chill out in Tahiti and we did some research and found we could do Bora Bora too !

So after a while on Tahiti we flew of to this totally beautiful South Pacific hide away, yest there are lots of top end spa's and hotel, but we wanted the real thing, this is it !

Quite, simple, but not lacking amenities, all the staff spoke good English, although the spoken tongue is French of course.

Just across the Road further up ~100m (100yds) a very nice bar, restaurant (English/French/American cuisine)looking over the inlet, the beach is typical of French Polynesia Perfect, no litter, and what you find on every other beach on this planet Cigarette buts from filthy littering smokers, Nothing !!!

The only litter on the beaches are bits of sea weed or maybe a piece of drift wood, how's that for pristine.

Vaitape the Capital is small, but you can hire scooters, motorbikes and cars easily, but we found that as on Tahiti the locals DON'T accept any thing else except their currency XCF.
There is lots to explore on the Island, and on the outer reef, all around the Island is surrounded by it, but a boat would be needed, there are shuttle boats darting across the inner waterway all the time.

After a wonder around, and a bit of a sunbathe, we used to sit on the beach with a bottle of 'something' and at approx. 3:30pm every afternoon, it would get dark over to the South, and you could watch the rain squall come in, as soon as it got near you, yes your right, you leisurely walk to the bar and find a seat and watch the down pour for 10-20mins, then gone !!! back to blue skies and Sun shine.

Typical temperatures when we were there is around 30c (86f) humidity 50%+ winds light and mainly Southerly on this part of the Island, so idyllic really.
Say hello to Zavier the friendly little lizard and his family too, they're cute !!

Hope this has been of use.

Heaven on Earth !!!

David and Karen
g8gxp

Room Tip: The whole Hotel is surrounded by lush tropical plants and trees, you can't go wrong, but ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G8gxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We flew into Bora Bora a day early and got a last minute deal at this place. We LOVED it! The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was super delicious and the rooms were so nice. Your right down the road from a little market which has everything you need. There is also a pizzeria within walking distance which is surprisingly affordable and very delicious!!

I would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved our stay here. We had a room high on the hill overlooking the beautiful lagoon that changed colour every hour. We spent many hours just sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. The room itself was spacious and clean with a huge comfortable bed. We had breakfast included which was a full cooked breakfast, fruit and bakery, a very substantial start to the day. The supermarket was 500m away and had wonderful french cheese and bread. There are many other eateries within walking distance. Most beaches are private but the public beach just up the road was idillic. The resort facilities were good but we recommend that you bring your own mask and snorkel. Happy hour at the bar is great value and we throughly enjoyed the Tahitian night on Saturday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a water Bungalow, It was not that big but big enough for a double bed and a couch. The bathroom was OK but not too much room to put the odds and ends you need. Waking up at daybreak and seeing the sun coming up from over the lagoon was just amazing.
The hotel itself was very nice. The only problem I found was that some of the people working there did not seem very interested in serving. I think this is to do with the mentality of the people who live there. There is a small beach, normally quite empty, with free beds. Most People spend their time swimming in the crystal clear water watching the numerous tropical fish.
I can just say it like being in paradise. The bird that landed on our balcony every morning was not a tall scared of us and when we went snorkelling the fish just come and look at you!!

Room Tip: Take the water Bungalow - you won't regret it (you only live once)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.4 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#15 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Property: Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing