We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Februar 2011 - near Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Februar 2011 - near Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed there for the 50th of my Wife ( Psst! ;))

Perfect.

The added Advantage of the InterCont is the free boat to the main Island.

For general snorkelling, we recommend the Maldives. The Lagoon around the Bora Bora Resort is empty in comparison, but much better swimming therefore. Crystal clear Water! But the Snorkelling trip round Bora Bora was awesome!

Not cheap, but we didn´t expect that.

Shows for Dinner were fine, Food very good, staff nice, Location is pure PARDISE!

The View form the Bungalow, or from the way to the Restaurant is UNBELIEVABLE. Ditto for the light blue Lagoon colour!

It´s Postcard like, but it´s real!

Visit the Ray Show ... These Animals are SO intelligent, you can touch them, they touch you, but all very gently ... my Wife was sceptical at first, but REALLY enjoyed the second visit. My Wife Held a bait fish for slightly too long, Ray used his teeth, but stopped immediatly, when it found something wrong ... my Wife felt the teeth, but the Ray stopped, and there was not even a scratch, no Blood!

DEEPLY impressed by these large ( the tail itself on the biggest ones was easily 1 1/2 m Long ... ~ 5 feet! ) and beautiful animals!

I´ll never eat a Ray!

IMO the most to recommend Resort at the Maldives. St Regis in contrast is Breakfast only - beware!

Hermann

Room Tip: Over Water Bungalows - any
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaandHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLeMoana, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear MartinaandHermann Iaorana,


We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved both properties Le Moana and the Thalasso Spa. It is nice to read that you find the location nicer than in a postcard which is indeed a perfect location to relax and take advantage of this experience. Thank you for your kind recommendation..

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    315
    72
    28
    9
See reviews for
128
1,216
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Well the postcards don't lie, Bora Bora does look exactly as you've been led to believe! Its pretty hard to get to (unless you happen to live in Tahiti), but will definitely impress you on arrival.

Firstly the good thing about the Le Moana Resort, is that it allows you to use the facilities of the Thalasso Spa resort (which personally I preferred, but my wife preferred the Le Moana, so it will come down to personal choice I guess). They have similar activities on site (kayaking, paddleboarding etc.) although obviously the view is different and they have ray feeding every day. The pool is also much nicer than the one at Le Moana (although our one was completely empty which was nice). The other big difference is that the resort feels much larger, with a bigger selection of bars/restaurants on site. That said, its more remote and not on the main island, making travelling anywhere very tricky!!!

So back to Le Moana, the location isn't bad, right by Matera beach its great for spotting rays in the shallows and when the weather is calm snorkelling (we were told, it was to windy the entire week for us to try sadly), there is also a little shop within walking distance (although be careful, I got pickpocketed here on our last day)!

The resort itself is reasonably compact, but there is enough to do (and of course the standard activity desk). They have kayaks and paddleboards on site as well as the traditional Polynesian outriggers, which I really wanted to try, but sadly the weather didn't make it easy, so we only got to give the standard kayak a go! They also have a table tennis room and a pool table in the bar, randomly they also have a Nintendo Wii! There is a small pool and a spa, neither of which we used.

This was our second week in French Polynesia and we had done a lot of activities in the first, so we didn't really plan to book many trips in the second, which as it turns out was a good thing as the mark-up was far greater here than on our previous island (Moorea), if you are planning on booking anything, consider doing so direct, rather than going through the hotel as you can save a significant amount of money!

The resort was set out nicely, with everything very easily walkable and ice machines strategically placed around, to ensure there was one near virtually every bungalow (which is a clever and thoughtful touch). The staff were excellent, always helpful and attentive and the food was amazing, superbly presented, great tasting and varied. There were some buffet nights and some a la carte. We went full board, so had a set menu, but they were very flexible with substitutions and if we wanted something more expensive we only had to pay the difference, rather than the full amount for the new meal.

Drinks were fairly expensive, but then that is to be expected, given the location and there was a fridge in the room, so it wasn't really a big deal as we stocked up at the local shop and drank on our private terrace, only having a couple of glasses of wine with dinner in the main restaurant.

Its worth noting that there are a lot of palm trees (and water bungalows) obstructing the view, so if you can, try and have a look at a map on arrival and ask for a bungalow with an unobstructed view. Ours was pretty poor on the first night (but we had a really nice private terrace, which I quite liked), however we asked if any others were available and when another couple checked out we were able to move into a different bungalow with a better view, but smaller terrace.

The rooms themselves are excellent, perfectly clean, nicely set out with 2 TV's and screen doors separating the living area from the bedroom, all also have their own private terrace (we stayed in a beach bungalow). The bathroom is large, nicely set out and as expected perfectly clean and pleasant, with a separate shower and bath. There is a fridge, which is great, tons of storage and plenty of charge points. Importantly there is also free wifi throughout the resort. When we moved rooms there was no coverage in our new bungalow, however upon calling reception a guy turned up with a wireless router and within 10 minutes we had a fast reliable connection, now that's service!

The beach itself (both in the resort and the public beach) is much nicer than the ones on most of the other islands, hence Bora Bora has its reputation as the picture postcard island. The view too is impressive, with the mountainous terrain partially covered by mist to one side and the pacific ocean crashing into the sand on the other!

I feel like I haven't really done this place justice, but simply put, this resort deserves to be 5 star, it is superb. Sadly the weather was a bit of a let down for us, but it feels unfair to blame that on the hotel! I would definitely recommend staying here and if the menu remains the same I would definitely recommend the 'Asian Platter'!

Room Tip: Make sure you see a map of the bungalows and choose one with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vjmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear VJMehra,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to fill out our guest comments form.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property .It is nice to read that you loved the location, the beach , the cleanness and the food. Thank you very much for rating us 5 stars even if we are not. This is very grateful for the whole team and I will be more than happy to share your review with them.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We felt our breaths slowed as we took it all in.

Bora Bora makes believers out of non-believers.

Dreams are real here on this island.

Looking around at the fortress of lushness that wreathes this picturesque place, we sat in awe of Bora Bora's beauty. No pretense, nothing forced. Organic beauty. It is an organic beauty in her people and in her eco-friendly playground. With our leis draped around our necks we inhaled her fragrance. Peace and calm took over as our boat shuttle came to take us to our Tahitian home for the next 5 days.

Armed with our cameras, we tried to freeze the moments by capturing them in photos, but what we saw with our eyes, and experienced with our hearts cannot truly be displayed in a photo or documented with words.

We cannot say enough about Laurence. Truly she was born to take care of special guests that come her way. Upon departure, just like our arrival, she was there to adorn us with shells and to tell us that she would see us next year. It's like if she knew, Bora Bora will call to us again, and often and frequently. We will never forget Bora Bora just like we are sure we left her with our marks. Bora Bora the land of hellos and goodbyes and arrivals and departures, but one never really leaves a place like Bora Bora. You take it with you always.

Bora Bora, intensely gratifying, intensely gratifying. - Iana Benjamin

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mrs Benjamin,

I hereby send you send you a cordial greeting. Thank you for taking the time to send comments regarding your satisfaction withj our resort. Your positive comments motivate us to continue improving our quality of service and believe us is genuinely appreciated. I would like to say that it was a pleasure to have you with us and I am happy to read that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories of your stay.Reading that you gfelt like in your Polinesian home is wonderful and please have no doubt that your review will be share with our team.

We do look froward to wlecome you back

Warm regards and Happy New Year

Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an over water bungalow which was amazing! Loved looking through the glass table to the fish below. Room was just what I was expecting and did not disappoint.

The nice thing about staying at the Le Moana was that they had a shuttle to their sister property, the Thalasso, which had a much better breakfast buffet. The Thalasso also had fun free activities during the day. Both properties had snorkel equipment, paddle boats, SUPs, and kayaks available at no cost.

The spa at the Thalasso was wonderful!! Massage tables are over a glass floor, which allows you to look at the many fish below. Enjoyed the steam room, cold pool and lounge area with your own hot tub. Beautiful facility!

Another benefit of staying at the Le Moana was the public beach which was adjacent to the hotel. Spectacular place to watch the sun set.

Unless you want to eat at the hotel every night, which I do not recommend, be sure to arrange for transportation through the concierge to the different neighboring restaurants. Lots of good restaurants on the mainland that will pick you up and bring you back to your hotel at no cost.

There is also a bus that will take you to town, however, there is a charge for this (I do not recall the exact amount). Not worth it! Not much in the town other than souvenirs, a grocery store (which if you are going to town you might as well pick up some reasonably priced snacks and drinks for your room), and of course many places to buy pearls. Seems to me the businesses should be sending free shuttle busses to encourage us to come spend money at their stores.

If I ever get back to Bora Bora, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank EPeters0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear E Peterson Iaorana,

Thank you so much for sharing you experience in this review .

All our team is delighted to hear your great comments on our service , friendly staff and location and we are so happy we succeed in meeting your expectations.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in the future and would like to thank you for recommanding our lovely Resort.

Best sunny regards and Happy New Year

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Laurence Levy, the general manager of the resort, was extremely helpful during our stay. She was very open to our questions and provided excellent customer service throughout the trip. We were very pleased with her service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaven2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Zaven 2014,

I am very honored regarding your warm comment. I try to be an example for the whole team. We are the stones of a pyramid, we need each other to make you reach your expactations and I am glad we did.

Thank you again, Best wishes for 2014 and hopefully see you soon

Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon Nov 4th- Nov 8th 2013.
As we SAT down in the lounge area to check in, the ladies greeted us with refreshing drinks & a wet cloth to refresh ourselves with. We were quickly checked in and taken to our bungalow. We stayed at bungalow #17. It was the first bungalow next to the beach & the water was up to your ankle. I was not satisfied. I needed more privacy & more fishes to see through my coffee table (lol!!) & so I called front desk and they immediately accommodated us (You guys are amazing!!!). We were asked to have our stuff packed and ready to go the next morning. We had gone out to explore (by foot) & so when we got back asked for our new key & they directed us to Bungalow 38 which faces the reef (ocean meets lagoon). It was better than ever! Our luggage was neatly stacked, our hats laid on the couch and our water/beer (previously bought at the market that is walking distance from hotel) was stored in the mini fridge!! Now that is excellent service! How thoughtful are they?!! One itsy bitsy thing we didn't like was the slow, free wifi & their king size bed .The bed was FIRM....but with that killer view you can sleep pass that :).

I highly recommend this hotel not only because the water (highest point) is up to your shoulders (I am 5'7) but also because the water is crystal clear! We saw manta rays at least twice a day & you can snorkel right underneath your hut! The only public beach in BB is across the street-Matira Beach. Another good observation we made, by staying at this hotel you can go anywhere within the island (rent a scooter) as oppose to the other Intercontinental Thalasso where you would have to pay for a taxi boat ($75 we were told by a couple) to take you literally to the opposite side of the island where the little town of Vaitepe is located.

If you are traveling this far for this much $$$, I highly recommend to stay at a water/lagoon bungalow. Worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: Buy your own fruits,alcohol & liquor at the near by grocery store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotterJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Globe Trotter Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the property from your bungalow to the lagoon, as well as the excursions and the most important the staff.

We have well noted your "itsy bitsy thing" such as internet and firm bedding we’ll seriously consider it for improvement of our services.

The last thank you very much for recommanding our Resort so warmly.

We are taking the opportunity to wish a Happy New Year 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My girlfriend and I are in our early to mid-thirties from NYC and stayed at Le Moana for 2 nights in November '13 on our way to New Zealand. All around it was a good experience and we'd stay again, but there are a few areas the resort should work on.
Pros:
1. Good location on the main island. Highly recommend staying on the island vs. outer island since you'll want easy access to on-island activities such as renting a moped to drive around the island, going downtown, etc. Many couples we met from other resorts said it was very pricey and inconvenient to take a boat to the island each time. If you want real isolation then don't stay on the main island.
2. Hut was in good condition.
3. Staff was friendly. After checking into our first horizon room, we were unhappy because it faced the beach and not the water (make sure you ask for one that faces outward). They accommodated us by moving us to one which had a view of the horizon.
Cons:
1. Food was horrible and no one likes being that disappointed with those price tags.
2. No spa.
3. Telephone was broken when we checked in but they fixed it.
4. Small grounds.
5. Not all horizon huts face the open water. Several face the beat and make for a disappointing view so be careful in choosing.
6. Do NOT sign-up for the sunset cruise. We signed up for this at a $600 price tag and were taken out on the water on an average boat with no character for 90 minutes with half a bottle of champagne. Impression I had was that dinner was included, a larger boat with other couples so maybe the communication could have been better.

Room Tip: If you get a horizon bungalow, make sure you get one that is NOT FACING THE BEACH - there are 3 of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GatorNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear valuable guests

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your time to make us aware of your experience.

We perfectly understand that some rates may appear higher in Bora Bora compared to NYC French Polynesia is much appreciated as a secluded & protected chain of paradisiacal islands. This exceptional geographical situation has consequences: taxes are very high, transportation and all imported products are particularly expensive and the Resorts need to impact its operating costs.

Regarding the location of your bungalow as in all hotel all over the words you have some rooms which might have a better location than the other but we are proud to always offer a room move following our availabilities during a stay and it always depend of the guest personal feeling.

We feel sorry that you did not appreciate the quality of our menus that are highly appreciated by the our European clientele and majority of our international guests

Very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, all your comments are considered for a continue improvement.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing