We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Le Moana over New Years & had a fantastic time. We got the boat transfer from the airport which, although a bit pricey, is a great way to arrive and goes around about two thirds of the island which is very scenic. The hotel is situated on a gorgeous lagoon & we could kayak over to a coral garden in 20mins which is one of the best snorkelling spots on the island. Each water bungalow has coral underneath it which is great to feed the fish through the glass table in the room. We spent a lot of time in our bungalow swimming & snorkelling off the platform & just sitting on the terrace admiring the view across the lagoon. The hotel has a nice pool area and a bar area situated on the beach (great to watch the fireworks on New Year's Eve!). It's also close to to local restaurants, cafe's & a small supermarket which came in handy. The Le Moana is a friendly, relaxed, unpretentious hotel. It may lack some of the 'bells & whistles' of other mega-upmarket Bora Bora resorts but it more than makes up for it with its happy atmosphere, great staff and beautiful location. If we visit Bora Bora again we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Water bungalows facing Mt Otemanu have the best views across the the Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Peter Joana Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a fantastic time. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort the location and its happy atmosphere. I forwarded your kind mention “great staff” to my team.

We would me more than happy to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,


Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    316
    72
    28
    9
See reviews for
129
1,226
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This smaller Intercontinental on Bora Bora was all we could ask for and more. The overwater bungalows are beautiful - spacious, well appointed, private. Service was exceptional, from arrival to departure. We had an amazing vacation and enjoyed every minute. Traveling to the Intercontinental Thalasso Bora Bora for brunch and spa visits was easy!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Emcote Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found all you could ask for. The overwater bungalows the privacy and the service. It is nice to read that you had an amazing vacation and enjoyed every minute.

We would be very happy to welcome you back

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We just arrived back from our trip and we only have the best things to say about this Resort. We stayed there for 5 days in over the water villa which is worth every penny, and a must when you come in to Bora Bora...Don't hesitate when booking this hotel, it was in the perfect location, the staff is very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The beach/lagoon is stunning and there are lots of activities available, just visit the concierge desk and they will take care of you :)

Room Tip: Over the Water Bungalow is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Salatka Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have the best memories of your stay about the Resort. It is nice to read that you loved your overwater bungalow and that it was in the perfect location for you. We thank you to mention that you found the staff very friendly and made you feel very welcome. I will surely share this nice comment with them.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,


Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Visited 1/7-1/10 2014 and had a great time! Stayed in overwater bungalow #15. I would highly recommend that bungalow or others that have a similar view facing away from the resort/beach or away from the boat dock. The bungalow was incredibly nice -- beautifully furnished, spacious bathroom, great water pressure. Outstanding breakfast buffet! Negatives are the bed and pillows -- more akin to Best Western standards than to Intercontinental. And the property looked a little worn here and there. However, the snorkeling was amazing here -- better coral reefs, more plentiful fish. In fact, we spent the day at the Intercontinental Thelasso as well, and while I liked that physical aspects of that property better and the views there are better, the Thelasso is remote (you have to take a boat everywhere you want to go which adds up in both time and $) and the snorkeling at Thelasso is not as good -- few corals and as a result very few fish.

Overall, if you want a 5-star resort with great views and a great spa and don't really plan on leaving the resort much, then the Thelasso is right for you. If you want a 4-star resort that is more conveniently located to off-site attractions (like the marina, Bloody Mary's bar/restaurant and inland activities), has better snorkeling, and is lower priced, then the Le Moana is better for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Mr Aaron D,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your comments and to make us aware of your experience.

The matter you have raised regarding the bedding are not commun but we’ll seriously consider it for improvement of our services.

Because of the high occupancy in 2013; we were running late in our renovation, but I am proud to say that we already have started and the resort will be ready again for the high season.

Reading your comments regarding our sister property, we are not in a position of competition. The two hotels have their own identity and are two different products. They are not comparable, a five stars hotel like the InterContinental Thalasso Spa is of course different from a 4 stars Resort like Le Moana. The rate are not the same along with the offer and it is a privilege for our guests to use the facilities of a 5 stars hotel with no extra cost.

However we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.

May I personally thank you for your helpful comments.

Thank you again for your patronage, and we look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed there for the 50th of my Wife ( Psst! ;))

Perfect.

The added Advantage of the InterCont is the free boat to the main Island.

For general snorkelling, we recommend the Maldives. The Lagoon around the Bora Bora Resort is empty in comparison, but much better swimming therefore. Crystal clear Water! But the Snorkelling trip round Bora Bora was awesome!

Not cheap, but we didn´t expect that.

Shows for Dinner were fine, Food very good, staff nice, Location is pure PARDISE!

The View form the Bungalow, or from the way to the Restaurant is UNBELIEVABLE. Ditto for the light blue Lagoon colour!

It´s Postcard like, but it´s real!

Visit the Ray Show ... These Animals are SO intelligent, you can touch them, they touch you, but all very gently ... my Wife was sceptical at first, but REALLY enjoyed the second visit. My Wife Held a bait fish for slightly too long, Ray used his teeth, but stopped immediatly, when it found something wrong ... my Wife felt the teeth, but the Ray stopped, and there was not even a scratch, no Blood!

DEEPLY impressed by these large ( the tail itself on the biggest ones was easily 1 1/2 m Long ... ~ 5 feet! ) and beautiful animals!

I´ll never eat a Ray!

IMO the most to recommend Resort at the Maldives. St Regis in contrast is Breakfast only - beware!

Hermann

Room Tip: Over Water Bungalows - any
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaandHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLeMoana, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear MartinaandHermann Iaorana,


We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved both properties Le Moana and the Thalasso Spa. It is nice to read that you find the location nicer than in a postcard which is indeed a perfect location to relax and take advantage of this experience. Thank you for your kind recommendation..

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Well the postcards don't lie, Bora Bora does look exactly as you've been led to believe! Its pretty hard to get to (unless you happen to live in Tahiti), but will definitely impress you on arrival.

Firstly the good thing about the Le Moana Resort, is that it allows you to use the facilities of the Thalasso Spa resort (which personally I preferred, but my wife preferred the Le Moana, so it will come down to personal choice I guess). They have similar activities on site (kayaking, paddleboarding etc.) although obviously the view is different and they have ray feeding every day. The pool is also much nicer than the one at Le Moana (although our one was completely empty which was nice). The other big difference is that the resort feels much larger, with a bigger selection of bars/restaurants on site. That said, its more remote and not on the main island, making travelling anywhere very tricky!!!

So back to Le Moana, the location isn't bad, right by Matera beach its great for spotting rays in the shallows and when the weather is calm snorkelling (we were told, it was to windy the entire week for us to try sadly), there is also a little shop within walking distance (although be careful, I got pickpocketed here on our last day)!

The resort itself is reasonably compact, but there is enough to do (and of course the standard activity desk). They have kayaks and paddleboards on site as well as the traditional Polynesian outriggers, which I really wanted to try, but sadly the weather didn't make it easy, so we only got to give the standard kayak a go! They also have a table tennis room and a pool table in the bar, randomly they also have a Nintendo Wii! There is a small pool and a spa, neither of which we used.

This was our second week in French Polynesia and we had done a lot of activities in the first, so we didn't really plan to book many trips in the second, which as it turns out was a good thing as the mark-up was far greater here than on our previous island (Moorea), if you are planning on booking anything, consider doing so direct, rather than going through the hotel as you can save a significant amount of money!

The resort was set out nicely, with everything very easily walkable and ice machines strategically placed around, to ensure there was one near virtually every bungalow (which is a clever and thoughtful touch). The staff were excellent, always helpful and attentive and the food was amazing, superbly presented, great tasting and varied. There were some buffet nights and some a la carte. We went full board, so had a set menu, but they were very flexible with substitutions and if we wanted something more expensive we only had to pay the difference, rather than the full amount for the new meal.

Drinks were fairly expensive, but then that is to be expected, given the location and there was a fridge in the room, so it wasn't really a big deal as we stocked up at the local shop and drank on our private terrace, only having a couple of glasses of wine with dinner in the main restaurant.

Its worth noting that there are a lot of palm trees (and water bungalows) obstructing the view, so if you can, try and have a look at a map on arrival and ask for a bungalow with an unobstructed view. Ours was pretty poor on the first night (but we had a really nice private terrace, which I quite liked), however we asked if any others were available and when another couple checked out we were able to move into a different bungalow with a better view, but smaller terrace.

The rooms themselves are excellent, perfectly clean, nicely set out with 2 TV's and screen doors separating the living area from the bedroom, all also have their own private terrace (we stayed in a beach bungalow). The bathroom is large, nicely set out and as expected perfectly clean and pleasant, with a separate shower and bath. There is a fridge, which is great, tons of storage and plenty of charge points. Importantly there is also free wifi throughout the resort. When we moved rooms there was no coverage in our new bungalow, however upon calling reception a guy turned up with a wireless router and within 10 minutes we had a fast reliable connection, now that's service!

The beach itself (both in the resort and the public beach) is much nicer than the ones on most of the other islands, hence Bora Bora has its reputation as the picture postcard island. The view too is impressive, with the mountainous terrain partially covered by mist to one side and the pacific ocean crashing into the sand on the other!

I feel like I haven't really done this place justice, but simply put, this resort deserves to be 5 star, it is superb. Sadly the weather was a bit of a let down for us, but it feels unfair to blame that on the hotel! I would definitely recommend staying here and if the menu remains the same I would definitely recommend the 'Asian Platter'!

Room Tip: Make sure you see a map of the bungalows and choose one with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vjmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear VJMehra,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to fill out our guest comments form.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property .It is nice to read that you loved the location, the beach , the cleanness and the food. Thank you very much for rating us 5 stars even if we are not. This is very grateful for the whole team and I will be more than happy to share your review with them.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We felt our breaths slowed as we took it all in.

Bora Bora makes believers out of non-believers.

Dreams are real here on this island.

Looking around at the fortress of lushness that wreathes this picturesque place, we sat in awe of Bora Bora's beauty. No pretense, nothing forced. Organic beauty. It is an organic beauty in her people and in her eco-friendly playground. With our leis draped around our necks we inhaled her fragrance. Peace and calm took over as our boat shuttle came to take us to our Tahitian home for the next 5 days.

Armed with our cameras, we tried to freeze the moments by capturing them in photos, but what we saw with our eyes, and experienced with our hearts cannot truly be displayed in a photo or documented with words.

We cannot say enough about Laurence. Truly she was born to take care of special guests that come her way. Upon departure, just like our arrival, she was there to adorn us with shells and to tell us that she would see us next year. It's like if she knew, Bora Bora will call to us again, and often and frequently. We will never forget Bora Bora just like we are sure we left her with our marks. Bora Bora the land of hellos and goodbyes and arrivals and departures, but one never really leaves a place like Bora Bora. You take it with you always.

Bora Bora, intensely gratifying, intensely gratifying. - Iana Benjamin

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mrs Benjamin,

I hereby send you send you a cordial greeting. Thank you for taking the time to send comments regarding your satisfaction withj our resort. Your positive comments motivate us to continue improving our quality of service and believe us is genuinely appreciated. I would like to say that it was a pleasure to have you with us and I am happy to read that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories of your stay.Reading that you gfelt like in your Polinesian home is wonderful and please have no doubt that your review will be share with our team.

We do look froward to wlecome you back

Warm regards and Happy New Year

Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing