We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location to stay in bora bora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Vashon, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location to stay in bora bora”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed our bungalow on the beach instead of the over the water ones. It felt more private with lush plants surrounding it and provided a nice breeze, yet close to pool, bar and Matira beach across from resort.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We love that the complimentary snorkel gear and kayak that we used daily to go across to the best snorkeling spot on the island, what they called "the aquarium".
The only reason we couldn't give this resort a 5 star was the dinners. Too pricey for terrible food. We tried two nights and both dinners "sucked". Sorry

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLeMoana, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sandra M,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your time to make us aware of your experience.

We perfectly understand that some rates may appear higher in Bora Bora compared to USA,but French Polynesia is much appreciated as a secluded & protected chain of paradisiacal islands. This exceptional geographical situation has consequences: taxes are very high, transportation and all imported products are particularly expensive and the Resorts need to impact its operating costs.

We feel sorry that you did not appreciate the quality of our menus which are highly appreciated by our European clientele and majority of our international guests . Your comments will be debrief shortly with the head of department concerned and is receiving my personnal care.

Very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, all your comments are considered for a continue improvement.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    339
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
144
1,309
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had an over-water bungalow. First class in every way. Large, well-appointed and gorgeous. But the facility is not up to the same standard. Northern hemisphere winter (when most of us visit -- we were there in early March 2014) is rainy season. Their high season begins in June. So the facility was short-staffed. NO turn-down service. Bar service varied between brusque and surly, but uniformly slow. Breakfast is OK. Lunch overlooking beach lovely, but not grand luxe at all, and under-staffed. New concierge Nicolas was great and was able to get excellent nearby restaurant reservations nearby for dinner. (very important!) Easy boat service to much newer, bigger (and more expensive) Intercontinental on the reef. Great place. But only one of three restaurants operating at this time of year. Le Moana is aging; still nice; really hard to go wrong in this idyllic destination. A major facelift is in order, but no sign of it, instead a cost-conscious environment. Lovely spot, but expectations for full resort service and pampering need to be seriously tempered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLeMoana, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mr Bill60763,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you’re having a safe and comfortable trip back home.

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience, and I sincerely apologise that, in your experience, we have fallen short your expectations on some points.

The matters you have raised will be discussed with the Department Heads concerned and are receiving my personal attention. Please accept again our sincere apologies about the misadventures that you encountered during your stay.

Whereas those matters you experienced are not common in our property, we’ll seriously consider it for improvement of our services. Comments such as yours are vital to our continued success and I thank you once again for your comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team with a special thanks to Nicolas.

Yours sincerely,

Laurence Lévy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Absolutely beautiful resort. Our overwater bungalow was at the end of the board walk and completely overwater. we actually snorkled under the room. Sitting on the back deck was very private and only other people we saw were on boats.
Water is such a lovely color and the sea life is phenomenal. I saw eels, octopus, clams and a wide variety of fish just looking over the side of the boardwalk.
Bora Bora is very expensive, but well worth the cost. Prettiest place on earth and this hotel just added to the experience.

Room Tip: If you want the over water experience ask for the farthest bungalows. They are the most private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Michele O Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to fill out our guest comments form. , I forwarded your kind mention to my team.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the property. It is nice to read that you made some friends eels, octopus, clams and a wide variety of fish.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went as a family with one child. The place is truly iddilic: the views are incredible, the staff is very attentive, the rooms are modern and spacious. We were a bit concerned about traveling to Bora Bora with a child because it's known as a honeymoon location, not a paradise for families. While there our child (16 months old) ran around the hotel and we didn't get any dirty looks! Quite the contrary, hotel staff and tourists alike were very much amused. If you do go there with young kids be sure to bring some beach toys along as they don't have any on site. Other than that everything was truly perfect. We loved having our beach cabin about 10 ft away from the ocean and found it to work well with our child (definitely safer than staying in an over-the-water cabin). There's also a small pseudo-beach and pool next to the larger swimming pool that's perfect for small children to walk around in. I'd definitely go back to the hotel with or without kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Jeremy RTW Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to fill out our guest comments form. Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the property. It seems that you did catch up the real spirit of Le Moana and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. Children are welcome and your little one was well educated and very cute. No doubt that everyone was smiling when watching her.

You may be assured that your valuable suggestions have been taken into account and they will receive my personal care.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights with our three children, ages 9, 12, and 14 at the end of December 2013. It was very beautiful and the service was good. However, we could not enjoy sitting outside on our deck because it was very windy. That was disappointing.
We did make use of the canoes, kayaks, and paddle boards. We kayaked to an island about 20 minutes away and went snorkeling, which was fantastic. We also were able to walk to several restaurants nearby. We took the shuttle boat over to the Thalasso and spent the day there swimming and enjoying their resort.
Overall it was very nice, but for a family we thought that 3 nights would have been plenty. We enjoyed the island of Moorea much more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Macia M,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to fill out our guest comments form. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed Moorea very much but still did enjoyed our lovely Resort.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurence Lévy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental La Moana for 7 days in June 2013 for part of my wife and I’s honeymoon. Bora Bora is truly the most beautiful location on the planet and our stay was luxurious and dreamy. We were welcomed with open arms and introduced to our host for the week, Timmy (spelling might be off) He was at our beckon call throughout the duration of our stay and strived to do anything that would make our experience more enjoyable. My wife preferred a different overwater hut due to a small, partially obstructed view and Timmy quickly made the accommodations and we switched.

The location is very convenient. It’s actually on the main island in Bora Bora while most of the other high end resorts are not. This was helpful as we were very close to many different restaurants, all which were delicious. Transportation around the island is efficient as shuttles are always running.

The beach, lagoon and overall view speaks for its self. I spent hours every day swimming and relaxing on the deck of our overwater hut. I’m sure you’ve seen pictures.

The food and service at the resort was easily A level. I had no complaints and enjoyed everything. I brought back a large tuna after deep-sea fishing one afternoon and the cook prepared it for my wife and I in various dishes! I felt that was a real cool gesture.

Pricing anywhere in Bora Bora is high end. When you compare pricing of La Moana to other top 5 resorts on the island it’s significantly less. As previously mentioned, venturing around the main island is much more attainable and I personally feel this saves money as you can price out different food options.

Closing notes, bring water shoes for swimming, ask for Timmy to be your host, load up on duty free booze before you arrive in the French Polynesian islands as everything is very costly, try a few excursions (we did deep sea fishing, snorkeling and scuba) and soak up every moment because this is the epitome of a perfect paradise. We hope to return for our 10-year anniversary in 2023.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Aaron B Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.


We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review.

“Bora Bora is truly the most beautiful location on the planet and our stay was luxurious and dreamy. We were welcomed with open arms and introduced to our host for the week”

Thoses are your words and I don’t think I can add anything else except thank you. A special thanks to Timi who was definitively your reference we shall of course share your review with the whole team.


We would be very happy to welcome you back in your home away from home..

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spend 4 days in Bora Bora at Intercon Le Moana for our 25th wedding anniversary mid February 2014. We thought the place was amazing, good location, great service and the picturesque views all combined to make this a memorable trip.
When we reached Le Moana we were shown an over the water bungalow that we were not happy with. We asked if there were any other bungalows available and the staff were very accomadating and found us another bungalow which we absolutely loved the location and views from.Special thanks to Fifi at the restaurant and Lelani in front office as they went over and beyond in providing the personal touch. Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay and highly recommend Intercon Le Moana to those headed to Bora Bora.

Sereen and Tahir

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sereen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Sereen and Tahirr M Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

Congratulations for your 25th anniversary !

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments. We shall of course informed the whole team with a special thanks to fifi and Leilani.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved every minute of your stay with us.

We would be very happy to welcome you back for your 30th Anniversary? Why not.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
5.2 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing