We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here from march 4th-7th. We stayed in an over water bungalow which was amazing and beautiful inside. The people there go out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible. The view was beautiful from our deck and we had immediate access to the lagoon from our deck also to swim and snorkel. We went for our anniversary and it was perfect. We visited their sister island by boat which they provided at no charge and it was also amazing. We joined one of the locals there in feeding the rays raw tuna. It was an awesome experience! The beach there was beautiful and we spent 1/2 a day there. Drinks were expensive but we were already prepared for that. I would recommend a bike ride of the island to experience the full beauty of this island. Bora Bora is our favorite of our island vacations for the relaxation and beauty. The garden at this hotel is amazingly tropical. :)

Room Tip: Some of the bungalows are way out from the island so a longer walk back to the island. Ours was in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Executive Secretary at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Barbara M,
Ia orana from Bora Bora!
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay on our beautiful island and that you did appreciate our service and facilities. Your experience is a good demonstration that our personnel is always happy and proud for sharing their culture.
Thank you for choosing our Establishement for your anniversary and for your kind review.
Best regards
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Bungalow 72 - overlooking lagoon of resort. Has private deck with built-in benches and table. Deck also has private ladder to climb down and swim or snorkel. Staff is helpful and courteous. Infinity pool overlooking natural lagoons with Breath-taking views throughout hotel. Best time to visit is during the slower season for me and family.Will return again! Mauruuru! (Thank You)

Room Tip: Quiet with more privacy. Can see a glimpse of the sunrise in the morning from outside deck or bayvie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Malia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Executive Secretary at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Malia K from Hawaii,
Ia orana !
We are very pleased to learn that you did appreciate our facilities and services that much.
The 'Le Moana' is looking forward welcoming you and your family again.
Yours sincerely,
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First things first, booking.
I called about 6 travel agents to price out various trips along with identilcal trips to compare who was going to offer the best pricing. Surprisingly enough Costco travel had the best rates over anyone. I had to become a member, but that fee is only $50 so it was defintely worth it. Along that same line, if you open a American Express card with Costco you will get either 1% 2% or 3% cash back, i can't remember which. All together with flights, hotel, food and activities we spent prob close to 10k. Costco arranged flights from LA to Tahiti, then we had a overnight in tahiti, they also arranged transfers to and from airports, then flew out the next morning to Bora Bora. When we got bora bora, we had a boat shuttle to our hotel (so beautiful and best shuttle you will EVER take)

We orig looked at going to Tahiti or Moorea or Bora Bora or combination of both. After talking with friends who went, we jsut wanted all of our time on Bora Bora. i'm not sure how long you guys will be going but I thought it was nice to just get to bora bora and relax, and glad we did. t was nice to just hunker down and be where we were going to be. We were there for 9 days. I have friends that have gone for longer (i wish we could have) and they did a little bit of island hopping).

There are ways to cut a bit of the costs if you need to. We stayed on a permium overwater suite I believe it was called. It was AMAZING. Glass floor to feed fish right through the floor and you can go swimming right off your own personal doc. If you are looking to cut cost you could stay at a beach suite for a few nights then a overwater suite for a few nights. i tell ya though, it was amazing and every penny worth it. If you are spending the money to go to bora bora, get the overwater bungalow

We stayed at the Intercontinental Le Moana. We choose this resort because it has great reviews and it was on the main island. There are a couple benefits to this. If you want ot go to the grocery story (i'll talk about this later) or go take a walk to get some food at a different resaurants you could go do that. Some restaurants you could take a taxi to if you wish, but some were within walking distance. Another benfit to the Le Moana is that it is the only resort that you can see the sunrise and sunset from the restort. I loved it. The other comparable resorts are on the motu. We went to check out a few of the other ones. The resort had kayaks and fins and masks for oyu to use free of charge too.

We went to the Intercontinental Thallaso for a day once and neither my husband or i cared for it. It reminded us both of a fancy vegas hotel. way too fancy. You are in the french polynesian and the culture there is so relaxed and laid back. At the thallaso it is not so much the polynesian culture but more fancy. Nice, but not our style.

The other hotel that we went to I really liked. it was the Le Meridian. I really liked this hotel bc they had the turtle sancutary where you go swim in the lagoon to go see and swim with the sea turtles. They do a feeding every day. From these overwater suites you look at the mountain on the main island. it was pretty, but personally, I liked our hotel better. If you don't stay here, you can take a water taxi over to the Le Meridian to swim with the sea turtles. me and my husband both really loved this.

Room Tip: Over the water bungalow!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunnygal1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Executive Secretary at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Sunnygal1105,
Ia orana!

We are very pleased to learn that our Resort was your best experience, among your various experiences during those 9 days staying in Bora Bora, and that we could really meet your expectations. You'll be very welcome again; maybe for your wedding anniversary...?
Thank you and best regards,
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for six days in March and the overwater bungalow was SPECTACULAR. It was huge, with a nice living room, giant comfortable bed, huge bathroom, nice deck that was only partially covered so we were able to choose whether to be in the sun. Being able to step into the ocean right from your deck was really cool. One downside was that it was super shallow - water only up to my waist so it wasn't really like swimming so much. Water was so gorgeous though we loved it. I should mention we were in bungalow #1 so maybe the water was deeper on the outer bungalows.

The staff is primarily women and just about every one of them seemed to have a forced smile as though they barely tolerated our presence. It felt very weird to me. The men were pretty friendly, but the women are definitely in charge of this hotel.

Breakfast was a buffet that had awesome fruit but seriously icky eggs, and some passable crêpes and french toast. The coffee was actually undrinkable. We went up the street to the market and got fruit and yoghurt, bread and cheese and had a nice little breakfast in our room instead.

MaiTais were all sugar, little alcohol, and they actually watered down our martinis. Only drank beer (expensively) a few times there after that. Bought beer at the market instead.

I should say that the concierges (a man and a woman) were both lovely and enthusiastic and very helpful. They stood out above the wait staff and front desk.

Here's another weirdness. The air conditioning was on full blast in our bungalow and the wall switch they said would turn it on/off didn't do anything. We talked to the front desk for two days while we shivered even with the doors wide open to let in the hot air before they gave us a remote that would actually control the a/c. After that we were super comfortable, but I think they don't have enough remotes to go around. Might want to ask for one up front.

There was a huge storm while we were there that actually damaged some of the thatched roofs, but they were very quick to come out and repair them. We felt cared for and protected by the staff.

Again awesome bungalows, excellent location, but don't eat there! Fare Manuia is right at the end of the driveway and is awesome. Great wood fired pizzas, but also very elegant French-style meals. We had several tuna dishes that were all awesome and the steak was superb.

Room Tip: Might want to be farther out on the dock than the very first room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, Executive Secretary at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Allison S,
We read carefully your review. Whereas those comments are not usual, we regret that we couldn't meet your expectations on some points and the Department Heads concerned will debate on the subject for the next meeting.
We thank you for enlightening your point of views, non forgetting to underline the very good points. Would you have the opportunity to come back and visit us, we'll be pleased to demonstrate the traditional friendliness and know how our guests mostly appreciate.
Yours sincerely,
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in this resort and I can't be happier about our choice

Location and facilities of the resort.
- Overwater bungalows are very pretty with glass coffee tables for you to observe / feed the fish in the ocean.
- Nice pool with warm water and the view out to the crystal clear water.
- The best beach in Bora Bora (Matira beach) is across the street from the resort, which has calm water and is a great spot to watch the sunset.
- 15 minute walk to a mini-market or easy shuttle ride to Vaitape where you can withdraw cash from ATMs or stock up food / drinks from a larger super market.
- Local restaurants will always arrange free pick-up and drop-off due to its main island location.
- The view of the mountain and the multi-coloured water is amazing. I know people say Intercon Thalasso has a much better view. I think they both have amazing views and just look at the mountain from different angles.
Food
- I had dinner at La Moana the night before we left and was surprised by the quality of food. The main was really tasty and the dessert was the best I had in French Polynesia. The price of food and wine is very reasonable as well. I wish I had discovered this earlier.
- Breakfast has a good variety of food and is more than adequate.
- We received our free champagne as part of the honeymoon package as soon as we settled into our bungalow. Great start to a fantastic holiday.
- There is a small snack place about 2 or 3 minute walk from the resort called "Roulotte Matira", with very cheap and tasty tuna club sandwich for lunch, cash only though.
Service
- Staff and management are truly friendly here. They do their utmost best to make your stay memorable. We first got a bungalow close to the dock. When I mentioned I'd like to move a bit further away from the beach, they immediately checked and advised that I could move the next day when another guests moved out. And what a beautiful bungalow that I moved to! Moreover they also offered a free night at Thalasso for us on our last night so that we could experience two different resorts during our stay. We actually got a diamond room which was the last one into the ocean, directly facing the mountain. It was a really nice gesture of the hotel that we greatly appreciated.
- All staff at the resorts are keen to help. The beach boys taught me how to do pedal board and showed us where to go for the best snorkelling.
- The concierge was always happy to recommend activities and restaurants to us.
- With us moving from one bungalow to another, then to another resort, we never needed to worry about our luggages, they were always looked after by the porters and it was completely care-free.
- The management and staff are always happy to have a chat and make you feel truly welcome.
- They left a letter the nights before our moves with all details regarding the moving which I thought was very helpful and professional.

While Thalasso is more luxurious, I prefer La Moana due to its fantastic staff and management and would recommend this resort to anyone who visits the beautiful Bora Bora.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountain have a more striking view with multi-coloured water and the mountain i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beans23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Beans23 Iaorana,


We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

Iaorana,

Thank you so much for your kind review, your fair and detailed comments are greatly appreciated. The chef and his team will be more than happy to read your warm comments on the food quality. We are delighted to discover your feedback and are glad that you put our resort as your first choice in Bora Bora should you wish to come back.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Bora Bora is definitely one of the most beautiful places on earth, and Le moana is the perfect spot to be in. its on the main island, lying peacefully in a breathtaking small bay on the southern point of the island. what a marvelous beach!! it means that you can enjoy the full privacy and peacefulness of your resort, and still can catch the island life: supermarkets, restaurants. activities. without the trouble of taking a long boat trip from the resort to the main island and back each time, as it is with the other disconnected resorts. we stayed on the Horizon overwater, deep inside the ocean facing north-west, with fantastic ocean and island views from our window and our 2 levels decks. everything was just perfect, we enjoyed every minute of our honeymoon there. such an amazing sunrise and sunset. and it wasn't windy at all. Thanks to Timmy who moved us from the room that we were given at the first night of our arrival, to the specific room we asked for. Thanks to lovely Vahine, who welcomed us every morning with a big smile to the luxurious and delicious breakfast. it is the perfect place for honeymoon!!

Room Tip: Definitely the Horizon overwater, facing north-west, deep in the ocean. not in the separate raw to t...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GlobusWinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Spygirly Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

Congratulations for your honeymoon!
Thank you for recommending us as a great honeymoon destination. We are delighted to read you had a great time in our resort.

It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments with a special thanks to Timi and Vahine who are indeed adorable people.

We hope you will come back in our small paradise, maybe on an another special occasion!


Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in an over water bungalow for our honeymoon and could not have asked for more. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and obviously enjoy their jobs. We had dinner included in our package as advised by friends but after spending a week here we need not have bothered. We could not possibly eat all the courses included and the prices are comparable to a reasonable restaurant in any major city in the world.

We visited the intercontinental thalasso spa for a massage and found it to obviously be bigger and more imposing but not necessarily better. Le Moana feels more intimate. We preferred the view from le moana compared to thalasso as le moana looks out to the coral reef and sea. It is easy to walk to nearby cafes and shops and there is a bus into Vaitape throughout the day.

Internet access was free throughout the resort and there are hotspots in every room. The room was very well appointed and clean and the bathroom was large and well appointed.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICLeMoana, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Andrew D Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the property. It seems that you did catch up the real spirit of Le Moana and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. Our resort is indeed very traditional and is different from our sister property. But you did understand the two different atmospheres and were able to enjoy both knowing what to expect.

As I always say there is no better thanks for us than having happy people in house and we did reached your expectations which is the most important to us.

We would be very happy to welcome you back again too……

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
279 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: £470 - £853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing