We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, perhaps not the most modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Secluded, perhaps not the most modern”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

If one is faced with the terrible choice of which InterContinental to choose when visiting Bora Bora, ask yourself a few simple questions: Do you want seclusion? Is a small bar and one restaurant sufficient? Do you want the ability to visit other restaurants and a small shop not belonging to the resort? Do you want vast views over neighbouring islands from your bungalow? If you answer “Yes” to all of those, the Le Moana is for you.
Main differences to its bigger and newer sister, the Thalasso, are its main island location giving access to non-resort amenities, smaller 80th style bungalows and sweeping views over the lagoon and beyond.

The more pricey Thalasso bungalows are spacier but feature views across the lagoon to the main island only. It feels like a grand 5* resort in 2009 should feel. Remember, the Thalasso is on a separate island.

The Le Moana is perfect for anyone not too fussed about up-to-date chic resorts, but want comfort clean rooms, friendly service and everything else that one expects at InterContinental hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    338
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
143
1,307
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My husband and I spend 8 wonderful nights in at overwater bungalow here for our honeymoon and it was beyond perfect. We picked the IC Le Moana because it is on the mainland and also we had friends that had stayed here and loved it. It was everything we hoped for and more.

We had originally planned to stay part of the time in a beach bungalow to save some money but immediately changed to an overwater bungalow when we arrived and saw how gorgeous it was. The overwater bungalows are well worth the extra money. Everyday we would go swimming and snorkeling right outside of our bungalow. We fed the fish through the glass top coffee table. At night we would have a glass of wine out on the deck and look at the stars. The inside of the bungalow was great - it had a high thatched roof ceiling and lots of windows overlooking the lagoon. It was very Polynesian with some modern touches. The bathroom had an awesome spa tub that we would use after being out in the sun all day. The bed was comfortable and we both slept very well - it's amazing how tired you get from doing nothing all day!

Getting around was pretty easy. Since we were on the mainland we didn't need to worry about taking water taxis unless we wanted to check out another resort (which we never ended up doing since we loved Le Moana so much). In the morning we would make reservations with the concierge - almost all the restaurants we went to had a complimentary taxi service. The other places we wanted to try without taxi services were within walking distance. There also was a little convenience store about a ten minute walk away where we stocked up on snacks, cocktails, and bottled water. There was a small refrigerator in the room where we were able to store some things.

The service at Le Moana was great - the people working at the resort were so nice and clearly liked working there. Everyone greeted you with a smile. The first night that we got there a bottle of champagne was dropped off before we went out to dinner. Every day when they cleaned the room they would leave fresh flowers out on the bed and in the bathroom. One day that it rained someone dropped off fresh fruit to our room to snack on. At night when we would come home for dinner there would be little desserts and fresh towels waiting for us. Just little touches like that made the stay even better.

This was by far the best vacation that we have taken and we loved the IC Le Moana. I would definitely go back (right now if I could!) and recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbratsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

It is now over 10 months since we returned from our vacation in French Polynesia; a vacation which included six nights on West Coast California from San Francisco to Los Angeles followed by a flight to Papeete and 10 night cruise around the islands of French Polynesia on "Tahitian Princess".
Many of our "shipmates" had booked pre or post cruise stays on Tahiti but I had decided to book us just one night at the Intercontinental Le Moana for the night that the ship spent in Bora Bora, not leaving until 5.00pm the following day.
It was a "semi-surprise" for my wife as she was not aware of it until about a week before we left the UK.
I, of course, had been looking forward to it for months since the booking was made.
It is often the case that, after much anticipation, the reality does not come up to expectations - it can also be the case that on immediate return from a vacation one can over-enthuse about an experience still fresh in the mind.
Neither of the above relate to our experience at Le Moana.
Even now, when we think back to our holiday last year, the only thing we think about, out of a three week vacation, is our 22 hour stay at Le Moana.
I had done a lot of research before making the reservation, looking at previous reviews on T.A., comparing prices and locations.
I chose Le Moana based on price deal and location (it is on the main island and not on a motu).
Check-in was officially at 2.00pm - we arrived just after 1.00pm and our accommodation was ready. We were immediately invited to take a seat on a sofa in the beautiful, open reception area and an ice cold fruit drink was brought over to us. This was soon followed by an offer of cold towels to help us cool down and freshen up, after which all the check-in documentation was brought over to us to be filled out and signed.
We had booked an "Horizon" bungalow, (an over water bungalow right at the end of one of the "arms" of bungalows built out over the lagoon), which we were personally shown to and shown around by the receptionist.
The bungalow consists of a reception room, bedroom and bath/shower room and toilet, all standing about 10 feet above sea level and with a private balcony leading out of the reception room. The balcony has two loungers and a wooden table and chairs for meals / snacks / drinks.
The interior decor was simple but very effective and to our eyes everything was immaculate.
Leading down from the balcony are steps to a lower deck about 3 feet above sea level and a ladder down from this into the lagoon, which is about 3 - 4 feet deep.
We spent the entire afternoon lounging - swimming - drinking cocktails and generally drinking in all of this wonderful experience.
We booked a table at Fare Manuia, a restaurant about 3-4 minutes walk away, for dinner and enjoyed an absolutely superb meal in the surroundings of coconut trunk walls. Jan Prince suggests that local residents regard this as the best restaurant on the island - no argument from me!
I had recorded a CD before leaving home of our favourite accoustic tracks from various artists which we played on the CD player in the room when we returned from dinner whilst falling asleep under the stars. . . . Aaaahh !
The following morning we were up with the sun (about 5.45am) and swimming in the lagoon again by 6.15.
A hearty breakfast followed including omelettes made to order. This was our only experience of the hotel's restaurant and I definitely could not fault it.
We were determined to get every ounze of value out of this hotel so completed the stay with more swimming until checking out at 10.59am (Check out is 11.00am !)
There is so much I have not included above like watching the sunset on Matira beach, the sliding glass topped coffee table in the lounge to watch and feed the fish below, the tiare flowers covering the bed and we didn't even get a chance to play with any of the complimentary water toys.
To an average earning guy like me - this hotel is not cheap - including dinner, cocktails and the breakfast package that I booked I think the one night cost about £800.
It was worth every penny.
A wonderful day we will both remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily's_Grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Very nice overwater bungslows
very romantic
Restaurant is a bit too American and too much Burger - not a lot specialities.
We always went out at night and "escaped" to the Restaurants nearby (5 minutes walk). There you get really good tradtional food in an authentic Polynesian atmosphere.
Pool was out of service during our stay

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabineAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The IC Le Moana was amazing. We arrived and had a boat waiting to pick us up, had a beautiful trip over to the hotel through the lagoon. We were quickly greeted and taken to our bungalow. We paid a little extra for a horizon OWB at the advice of my travel agent. It was very much worth it, a small amount of money to guarantee you don't have a bungalow facing the beach. Especially important for us, as we spent 90+% of our time laying out on our bungalow porch. We had bungalow 19, it faced the Sofitel island and Raitea and Huahine, two islands off in the distance. One day we took a kayak across to the coral gardens, a great snorkeling experience. We did Bloody Marys, a definite must do! The activity that we loved the most was the Aquasafari or the underwater helment dive. You walk around 10' underwater and feed stingrays and such on the bottom of the lagoon. Walk over to Matira beach, good places for lunch, including Matira Beach Restaurant. Also, we really enjoyed this hotel's location because we weren't on a Motu, we enjoyed walking to the local supermarket to pick up snacks and fruit juice. We bought rum in duty free at LAX and used that for our drinks...much better than having to walk from the bungalow to the beach bar and much cheaper than $15-20/drink. We could also walk somwhere for lunch if we wanted to, I would hate to have to take a boat to the main island, then get a couple bags of stuff...then have to lug it all the way back. Anyways, just a flat out amazing trip...cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KGlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

After a very long process of finding the best honeymoon destination and holiday resort, we decided on Intercontinental Le Moan, Bora Bora. Through out the whole wedding process this honeymoon was what we looked forward to.

IT WAS WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!!

We stayed in Bugalow #28 the (furthest one) - it's worth spending the extra dollars for the seclusion. We were immediately presented with gifts from the hotel. The service is impeccable. We would come back from our buffet breakfast and find our rooms made. Do try out local restaurant around the area, don't feel obliged to stay and eat in the resort. You must try the Polynesian buffet at least once - no need to go more than once.

That's the advantage of this resort, it's attached to the mainland so you are given choices to go up to town or go around for either food or pearl purchases. The resort organises shuttle buses for you. Do try Bloody Mary’s for a different culinary experience ☺

My husband and are still have dreams about this place. We spent a lot of our time looking at the start at night or watching the sunset/sunrise on the over water veranda. We also made alot of nice people.

I just can't rave enough about this place. Starting from service to overall culture of the place - i preferred it more than it's sister resort the Thalasso. Le Moana has a Polynesian feel to it.

Hopefully we will return one day *sigh*

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nparvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This hotel is a charmer. It is not nearly as big or "see and be seen" as it's newer brother the Thalasso, but we liked this hotel far better. The location is key as it is not on the private Motu. If you want to do any excursions, you have to take a boat ride from the Thalasso to the Le Moana, then take one back afterwards. If you pay for the Le Moana, you can use all the facilities at Thalasso any time you want. The service was fabulous and the location is best in Bora Bora. You could walk to places, easy to get to places for dinner, and it's location on the lagoon had by far the best snorkeling options. This place was heaven on earth. As with all the Intercontinental hotels in French Polynesia, the kayaks and snorkeling equipment was free. Yes, the hotel does have a coffee table that slides open so you can see the fish underneath. The cool thing is that they put coral directly underneath your bungalow so there are always fish around. FYI, there is nothing to do after hours in Bora Bora, so you might as well enjoy where you are staying. This place is honeymoon central.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jase700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
5.2 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing