We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view , beautiful location, and sometimes so so service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights on my honeymoon in an overwater horizon bungalow. Loved the bungalow and the view. Room was clean, amenities were nice, found it to be very comfortable, and not at all worn down.
Upon arrival by the hotels private boat from the airport we were met with someone from reception who offered us fresh juice while we checked in. I must say that she was quite eager to get going so we did feel like we had to hurry up with the drinks (not very relaxing)! She also told us that for a fee of 15,000 xpf (€150) we would be able to keep our bungalow until our departure time on check out day. She forgot to mention that this was based on availability and so we were devastated to find out 3 days prior to leaving that this was not an option since our bungalow was reserved. We were offered a beach bungalow (lowest category) which was available. Seeing as this meant that we had to pack up and get out of our over water bungalow to move to another for a few hours we asked for a discount on the rate since keeping your own bungalow and moving to a lower category bungalow was not exactly the same. We kept getting the excuses from reception who would go in the back and ask the manager who did not even bother to come out and speak to us until we absolutely insisted. This manager came out with a horrible attitude and instead of showing some flexibility and compassion she just told us flat out this is the way it was. I at this point added my two cents of what I thought of the place which is that you have to pay for absoluetely everything despite the fact that we had to pay an arm and a leg for the room itself, and that service left al ot to be desired. In the end considering our long flight back from Bora Bora to New York, we had no choice but to take the bungalow.
Now to the positives. Hotel is beautiful and is in a great location. There are a few restaurants near by so there is no need to have dinner at the hotel (not recommended). The concierge was very helpful and there were many activities and excursions available. We tried the scuba diving for the first time and loved it. If you do this, keep all valuables at the hotel and only take towels and something to change into. We also hired a boat and navigated ourselves around some beautiful spots like the coral gardens (must see).
Internet was a bit pathetic considering the cost yet there was only one station available for guests, so there was sometimes a long line.
Breakfast was buffet, and they offer quite alot. Only negative was that the fresh cut fruit was full of insects since it was not covered.
Room service is limited. We chose to order from the room service menu at the bar and take it to the bungalow ourselves which cuts down on some costs. Only thing is that the tray stayed outside our room for 2 days before someone came and picked it up.
A shuttle is available to take guests to town at a cost per person, and this operates twice daily (morning and afternoon). The town is good for souveniers etc, there is not much else to do there. There is a supermarket within walking distance of the hotel (10 mins) and that was convenient.
Overall good choice hotel in Bora Bora.
We did go to the famous Villa Mahana (see review).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokimonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

LOVED, loved, loved this hotel!!! We traveled to Tahiti for my husband's 50th B-day and stayed in OTW Horizon Bungalow #18 and loved every minute of it. The boat ride from the airport was absolutely breathtaking!! The water is sooooo amazing (and I've been to the Caribbean, Mexico, Hawaii, etc.). Words just cannot describe how blue the water is. It just doesn't look real!! The staff that greeted us and took us to our bungalow were very nice and friendly. We didn't eat many meals on property except for breakfast one day (which was a buffet and very good). We went to Bloody Mary's one night and were afraid it wouldn't live up to the hype, but the food was excellent and they handled crowds very efficiently. The beach behind the hotel is really nice and if you want to see the sunset, you have to be on that side of the island. The Le Moana has amazing sunrise views if you can get up that early! I would definitely stay at this hotel again and since I've already experienced the OTW bungalows, I wouldn't mind staying at the beach bungalows for half the price but looked just as nice. Unfortunately I ran out of time to take the boat ride over to their sister property and see what the hotel on the motu looked like. Would have liked to have visited the spa. The snorkeling around the hotel was excellent and they have built coral reef areas underneath the coffee tables and around the bungalows to attract the fish. One day we saw so many stingrays around the property. We also rented a car one day from the hotel activities desk and were glad we got to see the whole island. Otherwise, there is a shuttle that will take you to "downtown" Bora Bora but you have to be on their schedule. All in all it was a trip of a lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryonemoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

If one is faced with the terrible choice of which InterContinental to choose when visiting Bora Bora, ask yourself a few simple questions: Do you want seclusion? Is a small bar and one restaurant sufficient? Do you want the ability to visit other restaurants and a small shop not belonging to the resort? Do you want vast views over neighbouring islands from your bungalow? If you answer “Yes” to all of those, the Le Moana is for you.
Main differences to its bigger and newer sister, the Thalasso, are its main island location giving access to non-resort amenities, smaller 80th style bungalows and sweeping views over the lagoon and beyond.

The more pricey Thalasso bungalows are spacier but feature views across the lagoon to the main island only. It feels like a grand 5* resort in 2009 should feel. Remember, the Thalasso is on a separate island.

The Le Moana is perfect for anyone not too fussed about up-to-date chic resorts, but want comfort clean rooms, friendly service and everything else that one expects at InterContinental hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My husband and I spend 8 wonderful nights in at overwater bungalow here for our honeymoon and it was beyond perfect. We picked the IC Le Moana because it is on the mainland and also we had friends that had stayed here and loved it. It was everything we hoped for and more.

We had originally planned to stay part of the time in a beach bungalow to save some money but immediately changed to an overwater bungalow when we arrived and saw how gorgeous it was. The overwater bungalows are well worth the extra money. Everyday we would go swimming and snorkeling right outside of our bungalow. We fed the fish through the glass top coffee table. At night we would have a glass of wine out on the deck and look at the stars. The inside of the bungalow was great - it had a high thatched roof ceiling and lots of windows overlooking the lagoon. It was very Polynesian with some modern touches. The bathroom had an awesome spa tub that we would use after being out in the sun all day. The bed was comfortable and we both slept very well - it's amazing how tired you get from doing nothing all day!

Getting around was pretty easy. Since we were on the mainland we didn't need to worry about taking water taxis unless we wanted to check out another resort (which we never ended up doing since we loved Le Moana so much). In the morning we would make reservations with the concierge - almost all the restaurants we went to had a complimentary taxi service. The other places we wanted to try without taxi services were within walking distance. There also was a little convenience store about a ten minute walk away where we stocked up on snacks, cocktails, and bottled water. There was a small refrigerator in the room where we were able to store some things.

The service at Le Moana was great - the people working at the resort were so nice and clearly liked working there. Everyone greeted you with a smile. The first night that we got there a bottle of champagne was dropped off before we went out to dinner. Every day when they cleaned the room they would leave fresh flowers out on the bed and in the bathroom. One day that it rained someone dropped off fresh fruit to our room to snack on. At night when we would come home for dinner there would be little desserts and fresh towels waiting for us. Just little touches like that made the stay even better.

This was by far the best vacation that we have taken and we loved the IC Le Moana. I would definitely go back (right now if I could!) and recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hbratsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

It is now over 10 months since we returned from our vacation in French Polynesia; a vacation which included six nights on West Coast California from San Francisco to Los Angeles followed by a flight to Papeete and 10 night cruise around the islands of French Polynesia on "Tahitian Princess".
Many of our "shipmates" had booked pre or post cruise stays on Tahiti but I had decided to book us just one night at the Intercontinental Le Moana for the night that the ship spent in Bora Bora, not leaving until 5.00pm the following day.
It was a "semi-surprise" for my wife as she was not aware of it until about a week before we left the UK.
I, of course, had been looking forward to it for months since the booking was made.
It is often the case that, after much anticipation, the reality does not come up to expectations - it can also be the case that on immediate return from a vacation one can over-enthuse about an experience still fresh in the mind.
Neither of the above relate to our experience at Le Moana.
Even now, when we think back to our holiday last year, the only thing we think about, out of a three week vacation, is our 22 hour stay at Le Moana.
I had done a lot of research before making the reservation, looking at previous reviews on T.A., comparing prices and locations.
I chose Le Moana based on price deal and location (it is on the main island and not on a motu).
Check-in was officially at 2.00pm - we arrived just after 1.00pm and our accommodation was ready. We were immediately invited to take a seat on a sofa in the beautiful, open reception area and an ice cold fruit drink was brought over to us. This was soon followed by an offer of cold towels to help us cool down and freshen up, after which all the check-in documentation was brought over to us to be filled out and signed.
We had booked an "Horizon" bungalow, (an over water bungalow right at the end of one of the "arms" of bungalows built out over the lagoon), which we were personally shown to and shown around by the receptionist.
The bungalow consists of a reception room, bedroom and bath/shower room and toilet, all standing about 10 feet above sea level and with a private balcony leading out of the reception room. The balcony has two loungers and a wooden table and chairs for meals / snacks / drinks.
The interior decor was simple but very effective and to our eyes everything was immaculate.
Leading down from the balcony are steps to a lower deck about 3 feet above sea level and a ladder down from this into the lagoon, which is about 3 - 4 feet deep.
We spent the entire afternoon lounging - swimming - drinking cocktails and generally drinking in all of this wonderful experience.
We booked a table at Fare Manuia, a restaurant about 3-4 minutes walk away, for dinner and enjoyed an absolutely superb meal in the surroundings of coconut trunk walls. Jan Prince suggests that local residents regard this as the best restaurant on the island - no argument from me!
I had recorded a CD before leaving home of our favourite accoustic tracks from various artists which we played on the CD player in the room when we returned from dinner whilst falling asleep under the stars. . . . Aaaahh !
The following morning we were up with the sun (about 5.45am) and swimming in the lagoon again by 6.15.
A hearty breakfast followed including omelettes made to order. This was our only experience of the hotel's restaurant and I definitely could not fault it.
We were determined to get every ounze of value out of this hotel so completed the stay with more swimming until checking out at 10.59am (Check out is 11.00am !)
There is so much I have not included above like watching the sunset on Matira beach, the sliding glass topped coffee table in the lounge to watch and feed the fish below, the tiare flowers covering the bed and we didn't even get a chance to play with any of the complimentary water toys.
To an average earning guy like me - this hotel is not cheap - including dinner, cocktails and the breakfast package that I booked I think the one night cost about £800.
It was worth every penny.
A wonderful day we will both remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily's_Grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Very nice overwater bungslows
very romantic
Restaurant is a bit too American and too much Burger - not a lot specialities.
We always went out at night and "escaped" to the Restaurants nearby (5 minutes walk). There you get really good tradtional food in an authentic Polynesian atmosphere.
Pool was out of service during our stay

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabineAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The IC Le Moana was amazing. We arrived and had a boat waiting to pick us up, had a beautiful trip over to the hotel through the lagoon. We were quickly greeted and taken to our bungalow. We paid a little extra for a horizon OWB at the advice of my travel agent. It was very much worth it, a small amount of money to guarantee you don't have a bungalow facing the beach. Especially important for us, as we spent 90+% of our time laying out on our bungalow porch. We had bungalow 19, it faced the Sofitel island and Raitea and Huahine, two islands off in the distance. One day we took a kayak across to the coral gardens, a great snorkeling experience. We did Bloody Marys, a definite must do! The activity that we loved the most was the Aquasafari or the underwater helment dive. You walk around 10' underwater and feed stingrays and such on the bottom of the lagoon. Walk over to Matira beach, good places for lunch, including Matira Beach Restaurant. Also, we really enjoyed this hotel's location because we weren't on a Motu, we enjoyed walking to the local supermarket to pick up snacks and fruit juice. We bought rum in duty free at LAX and used that for our drinks...much better than having to walk from the bungalow to the beach bar and much cheaper than $15-20/drink. We could also walk somwhere for lunch if we wanted to, I would hate to have to take a boat to the main island, then get a couple bags of stuff...then have to lug it all the way back. Anyways, just a flat out amazing trip...cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KGlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#11 of 17 in Bora Bora
281 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
2.3 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#2 of 17 in Bora Bora
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: £517 - £807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing