We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very romantic resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Camberwell, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A very romantic resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Magnificent surrounds and scenery and very pleasant over water suites which suited us. The only area that needs attention is the main dinning room which could do with a 'makeover' of its menu particularly if you stay for a number of days - one tends to get a bit bored of the same 'types' of fare!
We would be quite happy to return to the resort as we were a bit 'shell shocked' after having 'lost' our luggage in Auckland and although located took two days for us to be reunited with it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Aussiebd,

Mauru'uru for taking your time reviewing about our Property !
We are definitely glad you enjoyed your overwater bungalow.

We would also like to extend our gratitude for sharing your feedbacks on our main dinning room. Receiving these types of comments definitely help us on improving the overall experience of our dear guests

Once more, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager of the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,839
    263
    67
    37
    17
See reviews for
207
1,752
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

It was actually in 2012, not in 2013, in August that i went here with my fiancee, and also with my parents. It was the best holiday i ever had so far, from the beautiful and spacious overwater bungalows, to the lagoon where a marine biologist is still trying to help the coral come back after the hurricane from several years ago.
The food is great, the raw red tuna delicious, and feeding the stingrays is a must!!! Also, great dive sites and an amazing staff at the diving centre, you can see hundreds of blacktops, and also large lemon sharks.
What anyone should bare in mind is which bungalow to choose... diamonds might be slightly to far from the beach and the restaurant, they are quite a walk...but quite, so i guess it depends on what everyone prefers.

Room Tip: The rooms that are priced in the middle are the best because the water is not to shallow, but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai_Opriscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear lovely Guest,

I thank you for taking time to share your experience here. It’s fabulous to hear that your time spent with us in 2012 was “AMAZING” and that were the best holidays you ever had so far...
Also, great recommendation about the choice of the Villa, depending on our future guests' wishes.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you, your wife and your parents back to paradise again one day soon.

Best Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager of the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great spa... Very relaxing afternoon spent at the spa then off to the bar to see the sunset... Took the hotel boat from the other intercontinental resort. Was able to re charge from one hotel to another...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Sir,

I thank you very much for posting such a nice review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your afternoon spent at the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This place is pure luxury! Overwater bungalows are truly amazing- the bathrooms are huge and best views from the tub. The spa is incredible- we went 3 times and the best spa around the world!
Food is delicious and the ray feeding was such a unique experience. Hope to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I actually went here for my honeymoon a couple of years ago but did not get round to reviewing it.... Bora Bora Intercontinental Thalasso Spa is absolutely beautiful!! The views are stunning compared to other hotels on the other side of the lagoon and therefore was definitely the right choice.
You will be treated like Royalty for the duration of your stay there. The staff there are so friendly, helpful and happy!
Dont miss the coconut show and 2pm sting ray feeding as they are free of charge and worthwhile doing.
Food was lovely- the restaurants had a great range and we had halfboard- although we did venture out elsewhere on the island and tried a couple of local restaurants also. The chefs at the hotel will alter dishes however you please and make it clear that you only have to request and alterations can be made. A chef called my room to ask how i would like my duck dish altered for that evening!
Although we preferred moorea to Bora Bora (mostly because of the dolphins at intercontinental moorea!!) It is hard to really choose which is best of the two destinations. Bora Bora does offer alot of activities - jet skiing and the 'loveboat' was great- a day trip on a boat, just you, your partner and a professional photographer- we now have professional photos of us with the most stunning scenery and also includes underwater pics of us snorkelling and popping champagne whilst in the sea at sunset, drinking from coconuts which are amazing and priceless!! (see my profile pic) Many other watersports available and helicopter rides.
We stayed in a diamond over water villa which had the view of the 'mountain' from our bath and from our bed.... absolutely stunning to wake up to that sight!
As a honeymoon couple we were given a free 'canoe breakfast' which was so so so lovely. Two members of staff come to your room via the lagoon in a canoe, while the male member of staff blows on his conch, sings songs and takes you out on the canoe for 10 minutes the lady member of staff sets up an exquisite breakfast for you on your deck!! Best breakfast ever!!
If you are definitely wanting to visit Bora Bora but cant decide on the hotel please choose this one, you will not be disappointed- choose thalasso not the other intercontinental because you want to have a view of the beautiful mountain at sunset, not be on the same side of the mountain and simply have the lagoon and other hotels as your view! Thank you intercontinental for a fantastic experience and the lovely presents when we left. My honeymoon will be a memory I cherish forever!

Room Tip: Diamond overwater villa if you can, definitely worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nish81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in an over water bungalow and found the room and amenities impossible to fault. Don't miss feeding the stingrays by hand when they come into feed every day at 2:00pm. If I were to compare Bora Bora with Moorea I would choose Moorea if you can only visit one island. There is limited marine life off the hotel beach and bungalows simply because it is a very sandy bottom and there is no where for the small fish to hide. My only gripe is that the Intercontinental did not issue reward points even though we paid over $1000 per night plus food and drinks. The same applied when we stayed at the Intercontinental in Papeete for 2 nights. Something to do with booking through a travel agent instead of booking direct.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Bora Bora has been number 1 on my bucket list for the last 20 years. After years of research, saving, and ultimately tired of traveling throughout the Caribbean, I decided to take the plunge and forget about my bank account. The real question… Is Bora Bora worth over $1000 a night and why did I choose the InterContinental Thalasso Spa?

There is no question that Bora Bora is extremely expensive. It's not just the $1000 plus a night; but food, drinks, transportation, and pretty much everything on the island is outrageously overpriced. For example, for two people be prepared to spend over $100 for lunch, $200 for dinner, and $50 for two cocktails. To minimize this cost, get breakfast included in your package. If you like to drink, purchase liquor duty free at the airport. Pack snacks and eat a light lunch. You can also take a free shuttle boat during the day to the mainland to purchase snacks and beer. For activities, book all excursions ahead of time through their websites. Tripadvisor can point you in the right direction for what you are looking for. Activities and excursions booked through the hotel will be more expensive. Pack tons of sun screen in your checked luggage because you don't want to have to buy it there with the inflated prices.

So does Bora Bora live up to the hype and money? After so many years of putting Bora Bora up on a pedestal, I was worried that it could not possibly live up to my expectations. I can tell you that pictures do not do this place justice. It is that incredibly spectacular. This is the trip that will ruin all other beach vacations for the rest of your life. Seeing Bora Bora from the air is probably one of the greatest experiences you will ever have. I strongly recommend taking a helicopter ride which you can book at the hotel or ahead of time through Tahiti Helicopters. Book a tour around the island by boat where they will take you swimming with black tip reef sharks and sting rays! Take the free shuttle to IC Thalasso’s sister resort, IC Le Moana, where you can spend the day at an amazing beach called Matira Point. Take advantage of the free kayaks and paddle boards at IC Thalasso. And definitely don’t miss the free sting ray feeding at IC Thalasso at 2pm everyday.

The IC Thalasso offers the ultimate Bora Bora experience and I feel that I would have been slightly disappointed staying most other places. The main reason I chose the IC Thalasso is because it unquestionably has the best view of Mt. Otemanu. Le Meridien has a similar view but the resort is bigger, feels less intimate, and has smaller less luxurious overwater bungalows. Southeast trade winds in May through August can be quite prevalent. IC Thalasso is protected and the water is calm, shallow, and crystal clear. On a boat tour around the island, most other resorts suffered from strong winds that made the surrounding water not as pristine. The St. Regis and Four Seasons are great alternatives and offer a similar experience but they are also more expensive and fail in comparison to the view of Mt. Otemanu at IC Thalasso.

The IC Thalasso is located in the most beautiful place on the island. The best bungalows are the diamond bungalows which have mountain views. All the bungalows are the same except for the view. You basically pay more the farther out you go. For Sapphire or Emerald bungalows, ask for a room outside of the inner fork because then you will have unobstructed views instead of looking at other bungalows. All bungalows are amazing to swim off of and the grounds of the resort offer the best views of Mt. Otemanu, so I wouldn’t fret over not getting a diamond bungalow.

The staff is extremely friendly and service is for the most part good. The pool is currently missing some tiles but it hardly interferes with the overall experience. If I had to be critical of one thing, the food in the South Pacific was not very good. On Tahiti, Moorea, and Bora Bora; I found the food on the resorts and off-resort restaurants to be consistently average. When I asked for fresh local seafood, I always got the same response in that everything on the menu was fresh. After multiple attempts, I finally got an honest response from a manager at IC Thalasso that most of the seafood on the menu was not locally caught. Most seafood in their winter months is commercially consumed for resorts. This was a bit of a surprise since I have always enjoyed fresh seafood on my travels in the Caribbean.

Money is money. I can’t take it with me when I die. But I will always have these memories and IC Thalasso is one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, HRS, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing